We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
16
19
7
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
19
7
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camping trip camp store huge pool seaside heights full hookups great campground fire ring cedar creek kayaking laundry dudley
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Our first visit. The front office team were friendly and welcoming. We stayed at the lower camping area, which is available for off season campers. The facilities are clean and there is a 24 hour laundry. We walked every morning and were impressed with the variety of shaded sites in the higher area of the campground. There are numerous cabins available for rent. There is a bike/walk path outside the campground that lead to J Dudley park. Take a walk across the road and check out the marina and waterfront properties, a lovely level walk. The campground is only 25 minutes away from Island Beach State Park! They have a large pool and nice playground area for kids. The lower camping area is crowded on weekends. The campground is central to everything so if you love camping this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sparky268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Our family has been going for the last 2 years and plan on returning again next year if your looking for a safe place to bring your family and have some great times and be close to all the jersey shore has to offer then look no further

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Really enjoyed this place last year, so we are back and not disappointed. Pool is nice, fun food for sale in the main building. We stayed in the same place, site 71, as I forgot that I wanted site 72, wider and more level - next time! Friendly staff, easy to get to, fun activities, quiet, big pool with 2 fun slides. Close to so many great places to see.

Room Tip: Site 72 in the woods if you have a longer rig and want an out-of-the-sun, pull-thru with full hook-ups
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HSR112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

As camp sites go...pretty standard. Water and electricity available so that was fine. However they have many great activity options for kids. A pool that was simply AWESOME. The staff were great. We did have an issue with huge hornet with a hive in the ground (bum luck not the site's fault) and they immediately sent help to combat Mr Hornet (ha ha). Brian came down and stayed a while to help. Friendly guy... Thanks Brian. They have a great convenience store on site that has everything you need for camping and comfort. I'll be back

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank djhorn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Coming into the campground was a bit confusing. First, as previously written, (we were heading south on Rt 9) the campground sign is PAST the entrance. Sprinkles, an ice cream store, is on the east side of rt 9- just across from it is the road leading to the campground. You make a right turn into it just BEFORE the white picket fence and the Cedar Creek sign. You will come upon a little gatehouse as you enter. When we arrived 2 trailers were parked there ahead of us. No one was in the gatehouse. Confused, we actually walked up to another building that turned out to be the main building where you check in. You are suppose to drive up to that building (who knew?). We have a 25' travel trailer with one slide. We found the campground to be very congested and roads very small. Very wooded, but so much so it was a bit tight driving through with the trailer. Sort of overgrown. We saw one travel trailer nearly get its A/C unit knocked off by a branch as it passed us. Another trailer was turning into our road and almost lost his awning to a tree.
Our site was so small and trees located in such a way that we were unable to open our awning in order to be able to open the slider. Our site was downward sloping and we had to jack the front end of the trailer up to the highest point to level it. Logs have been placed to help prevent erosion (I think), but they gave off a very musty smell.
Lots and lots of mosquitoes! Then again, its a very wooded area- can't do much about that. We paid for a 30 amp site but were put on a 20amp site. My fault I didn't realize this until after we had set up (when the circuit tripped the first time). The front office insisted that our site was 30 amp. They did send someone out promptly to look at it and they did switch the 20 amp switch(!!) for a 30 amp switch, but it did continue to trip. We had to be very careful what we turned on (which has never been a problem for us with this trailer in the 4 yrs we have had it).
Checked out the bathrooms for this review. I agree with previous posts that they could use some revitalizing! Very old, and well, just didn't look 'clean'. Forgive the terminology, but they looked 'yucky'.
The pool was clean and beautiful. Very small childrens area, the rest of the large pool ranged from 4" to 12". There were 2 slides that emptied into the 7'-9' end. 2 lifeguards on duty both times we were there. We were a bit disturbed to see that one lifeguard was busy with his cell phone both times we were there. With a deep pool like that, I want to know that his eyes are on the children in the pool, not his cell phone! Speaking of children, we didn't have any ourselves, but didn't see any organized activities for them.
Front office has a well stocked store, and a cafe. We did not try the food, but it looked appealing and the area was clean.
We went on a 3 hr kayak trip the campground offers. Had alot of fun. Shared a 2 man kayak for $65. The river was high enough that we did not bottom out and the van was there to meet us when we were done. An enjoyable day! I do have to add though that the kayaks were very well used- the seats were 'jury rigged' for back support and the foot peddles were broken off.
Most of the staff were very friendly, but one staff member was disgruntled with the owner and was making comments to guests about it. We found this unprofessional.
We saw alot of seasonal campsites. Many sites were cluttered and gave it a 'seedy' look.
I believe we paid $77./night. We would not camp here again.
I have enclosed pictures, which don't do the small roads and sites justice.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PW1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews