We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedar Creek Campground
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Toms River(Toms River)(Great Value!)
USD 177
USD 150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 141
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 146
USD 122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TP Hotel(Toms River)
USD 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windjammer Motor Inn(Seaside Park)(Great Value!)
USD 179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Palm Inn(Seaside Park)
USD 246
USD 189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Breeze Motel(Seaside Heights)(Great Value!)
USD 125
USD 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
16
17
7
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
17
7
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamping tripcamp storelarge poolseaside heightsfull hookupsisland beach state parkgreat campgroundevery morningfire ringrent a canoecedar creekcamping areaoverhanging treesbike walk pathnice playground areacanoeingcape
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

As camp sites go...pretty standard. Water and electricity available so that was fine. However they have many great activity options for kids. A pool that was simply AWESOME. The staff were great. We did have an issue with huge hornet with a hive in the ground (bum luck not the site's fault) and they immediately sent help to combat Mr Hornet (ha ha). Brian came down and stayed a while to help. Friendly guy... Thanks Brian. They have a great convenience store on site that has everything you need for camping and comfort. I'll be back

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank djhorn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Coming into the campground was a bit confusing. First, as previously written, (we were heading south on Rt 9) the campground sign is PAST the entrance. Sprinkles, an ice cream store, is on the east side of rt 9- just across from it is the road leading to the campground. You make a right turn into it just BEFORE the white picket fence and the Cedar Creek sign. You will come upon a little gatehouse as you enter. When we arrived 2 trailers were parked there ahead of us. No one was in the gatehouse. Confused, we actually walked up to another building that turned out to be the main building where you check in. You are suppose to drive up to that building (who knew?). We have a 25' travel trailer with one slide. We found the campground to be very congested and roads very small. Very wooded, but so much so it was a bit tight driving through with the trailer. Sort of overgrown. We saw one travel trailer nearly get its A/C unit knocked off by a branch as it passed us. Another trailer was turning into our road and almost lost his awning to a tree.
Our site was so small and trees located in such a way that we were unable to open our awning in order to be able to open the slider. Our site was downward sloping and we had to jack the front end of the trailer up to the highest point to level it. Logs have been placed to help prevent erosion (I think), but they gave off a very musty smell.
Lots and lots of mosquitoes! Then again, its a very wooded area- can't do much about that. We paid for a 30 amp site but were put on a 20amp site. My fault I didn't realize this until after we had set up (when the circuit tripped the first time). The front office insisted that our site was 30 amp. They did send someone out promptly to look at it and they did switch the 20 amp switch(!!) for a 30 amp switch, but it did continue to trip. We had to be very careful what we turned on (which has never been a problem for us with this trailer in the 4 yrs we have had it).
Checked out the bathrooms for this review. I agree with previous posts that they could use some revitalizing! Very old, and well, just didn't look 'clean'. Forgive the terminology, but they looked 'yucky'.
The pool was clean and beautiful. Very small childrens area, the rest of the large pool ranged from 4" to 12". There were 2 slides that emptied into the 7'-9' end. 2 lifeguards on duty both times we were there. We were a bit disturbed to see that one lifeguard was busy with his cell phone both times we were there. With a deep pool like that, I want to know that his eyes are on the children in the pool, not his cell phone! Speaking of children, we didn't have any ourselves, but didn't see any organized activities for them.
Front office has a well stocked store, and a cafe. We did not try the food, but it looked appealing and the area was clean.
We went on a 3 hr kayak trip the campground offers. Had alot of fun. Shared a 2 man kayak for $65. The river was high enough that we did not bottom out and the van was there to meet us when we were done. An enjoyable day! I do have to add though that the kayaks were very well used- the seats were 'jury rigged' for back support and the foot peddles were broken off.
Most of the staff were very friendly, but one staff member was disgruntled with the owner and was making comments to guests about it. We found this unprofessional.
We saw alot of seasonal campsites. Many sites were cluttered and gave it a 'seedy' look.
I believe we paid $77./night. We would not camp here again.
I have enclosed pictures, which don't do the small roads and sites justice.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PW1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Very family oriented. I started camping here with my parents, then with my wife, then our children & now our grandchildren. We started with tents, have stayed in the cabins, had a 35' RV & now a 45' Allegro Bus. Staff is wonderful - very attentive & accommodating. The area offers great biking, walking, crabbing, clamming & of course ice cream. They are also open all year so we can really extend the camping season. New Windsor, NY

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit. Great front office, good help with all our questions. Very clean restrooms, and laundry room (all open 24 hours). April is early season, so only a few hearty campers. Only 40% are seasonal so many open sites. Close to Jersey Shore attractions but the campground has 12 mile bike trail plus wooded trails for walking and easy hiking. Camped in our 35ft travel trailer.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Did a drive through the campground off season while looking for a place to camp at the shore. Even off season the campground appears tacky. A lot of permanent trailers whose owners have put up shabby structures around their sites. Perhaps the roads are better in season but still very narrow and a bit winding to be pulling a trailer or driving a motorhome through.
Going to keep looking!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DebWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews