We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, quiet, comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlson's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlson's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Twin Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, quiet, comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

If you are looking for fancy and posh, keep on going. If you like clean, quiet, comfortable, and homey feeling, this is the place. And all with a great price.
Also an excellent location. Easy to get to area attractions.
We had a great stay at Carlsons Lodge. We stayed a week, came as strangers, left as "family".
We were there over Columbus Day weekend, they were full, and we never heard a peep from anyone.
Carol and her daughter Kate were nice, welcoming, and helpful.
The rooms were larger than I thought they would be and had a great view. The grounds were pretty with a few walking trails (snowmobile in the winter) out back.
Hopefully we will make it back there next year.
Thanks again for being part of a great vacation.

Room Tip: I might recommend a second floor room. It being a lodge, the floors are kind of squeeky. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    34
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We only stayed there 1 night and noticed it was a nice comfortable hotel. the views outside the hotel were so beautiful. When you step inside, you are greeted by a friendly staff with smiles, there's a carpeted lobby with a fire place, wood ceiling a piano, couch and in the basement, a game room. To get to your room, you climb a set of carpeted stairs with wooden banisters(railings) and there is an attached balcony. The rooms are very nice, not to mention clean. On the second floor, the rooms are equipped with a kitchen, bathroom/shower unit, 7 beds(2 hide-a-beds, one in the main area and one in the back bedroom, 1 small bed in the main area and 2 regular beds in the back bedroom, 2 ceiling fans, 1 in the main area and 1 in the back bedroom, a heater, closet, dresser drawers with a mirror, telephone and tan-ish colored carpet, and two Phillips TVs, again, 1 in the main area and 1 in the back bedroom. you can't ask for a better view from your window, looking across at New hampshire's famous "Twin Mountain" and the blue mountains with pine trees. The room is very rustic especially in the bathroom and the ceiling not to mention is painted with swirled plaster. At a price so good, you want to stay in a nice lodge such as this. Plus, in the nearby town of Bretton Woods, you can take a trip on the Mount. Washington Cog Railway, they have fantastic views from both up top and on the train. So Make this hotel your #1 choice, believe me, unless something isn't working properly, you won't be disappointed, So stay here. Have an enjoyable time :D
Mike

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REVIEWS10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

quiet, clean rooms very well kept motor inn. we like to call and make resererations ther is always a nice person to deal with when you become regulars they do not need all the info they just write it down , i lke personal service rather than a big hotel chain i lke to deal with te same people,we go
for summer , fall, and snowmobiling any season carlsons is the place .
sincerly kevin and carleen mowrey west warwick ri

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmobiler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I used to come to Carlson's Lodge all the time when I was younger. I don't get to visit as often as I would like these days, but I love the place. It's in such a great part of the state for all kinds of outdoor activities and the staff is wonderful.
Although we will miss Mr. Carlson a great deal (he built the motel himself and passed away this past spring), his family does a fabulous job running the place. They are so welcoming. It makes a world of difference that the Lodge was family-built and is still family-run. Many of the guests return each year which says a lot about the attention to detail and the overall charm of the motel. Such a perfect place to stay in any season!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hannah60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

A clean place with very nice decorations.

But the staff stole our wallet from a drawer in the room. When we brought it up to the owner (Carol), she simply dismissed it and said that we misplaced it.

After we told her that 3 people saw that wallet in the drawer, she said that she would ask her staff and call us with the results (we were leaving). Of course, she has never called.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank A155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Mountain
8.2 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
11.6 km away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
20.5 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
30.2 km away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
9.1 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlson's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlson's Lodge

Property: Carlson's Lodge
Address: 330 Route 302, Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Twin Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twin Mountain
#4 Family Hotel in Twin Mountain
Price range (per night): $138 - $192
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlson's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlson's Lodge is a family owned and operated Lodge located in the White Mountain's of New Hampshire. Built in 1973 by Carl Carlson it has been passed on and is run by his daughter Carol and grandson Will. The lodge is located on 50 wooded acres and is central to local attractions and outdoor adventures in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Carlson's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlson`s Hotel Twin Mountain
Carlsons Twin Mountain
Carlsons Hotel Twin Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing