We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was an idyllic New England summer...”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax over a leisurely dinner gazing over the pond to the White Mountains in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax over a leisurely dinner gazing over the pond to the White Mountains in the distance
Kitchen Laundry and wood stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Relax over a leisurely dinner gazing over the pond to the White Mountains in the distance
Kitchen
Laundry and wood stove
Fall splendor from window of kitchen
Master bedroom
East queen suite
West queen suite
Bunk room
Ozzie and Harriet room
Family genealogy room
Family genealogy room
Big Room with fireplace and dining room table (max 14)
Building sandcastles at nearby Bearcamp Pond
Relax in one of the hammocks in the bungalow by the pond
View of Mt. Whiteface
Front lawn
Private pond stocked with small mouth bass
Pond
Ski from your doorstep on miles of private cross-country trails
Kids playing in the snow
Quaff your thirst at Tamworth Distilling Company
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamworth, New Hampshire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
djohn2016
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“This was an idyllic New England summer experience.”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our second visit to The NH Country Retreat in two years, our first being last summer. Now, as then, we found the accommodations – which are set in an idyllic location in New Hampshire -- clean, well-furnished, and roomy. The beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are modern. There is plenty of light throughout the house. The house is set off a country lane, and there is complete privacy. We enjoyed the walking trails, and the attractions in the nearby village of Tamworth, including the Barnstormers Summer Theatre and the brand-new Tamworth distillery. All-in-all, this is a splendid experience and an excellent value. We expect to be back next summer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thanks. Hope you come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara D
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Days”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently stayed at the NH Retreat in Tamworth and had a wonderful time. Restful and relaxing, we'd go for a run every morning before returning for breakfast on the screen porch. Enjoyed visiting at The Other Store and Farmers Market in Tamworth village, as well as canoeing with the loons on Bearcamp Pond. The house was spacious with lovely grounds and flower beds. Plenty of room to spread out in the big room and the upstairs bedroom. We can't recommend this place highly enough and can't wait to go back there!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounging on the screen porch
Liked least: Using the TV was sometimes a little tricky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie M
1 review
“Beautiful country retreat”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house had lots of space and was very clean and comfortable. Perfect for a big group looking to enjoy the country. The host was easy to work with and responded promptly to my questions.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thanks Jackie. Glad you had such a great time at the house and hope you return soon and often.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward A
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wonderful Stay in Tamworth”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed at NH and we had a fantastic time. Lovely weather. No rain. Terrific views of Mt. Whiteface in the distance.
Beautiful landscaping. Chris was very helpful.
This place is a gem. We cannot wait to get back to Tamworth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet and great views
Liked least: I didn't catch any trout
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
I couldn't agree more!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing