We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
103
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white mountains bed and breakfast relaxing evening fabulous hosts spent two nights new england polly's pancake parlor franconia notch breakfast was delicious mike nh victorian mary
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My fiance and I spent a September weekend up at the Hilltop and could not be more pleased. Mike and Meri make you feel welcome and comfortable, and they are able to help you find things to do and give you touring advice during your stay in New Hampshire. The breakfast was delicious. We stayed in a double room. The room was clean and comfortable with a decent amount of room.
The hotel is very dog friendly, and we loved playing with the owners' and guests' dogs.
If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in the area, choose Hilltop, you will love it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlairBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our vacation in the White Mountains was the best ever and a huge part of that was due to Mike and Meri and their wonderful home. Our room was huge which is always a bonus when you are spending the entire week there. It was very quiet and private. Mike and Meri are the perfect hosts. They manage to make you feel as comfortable as if you are at home but still pampered like VIP's. Breakfast was great and it was awesome to be able to come home each night after hiking and relax with a glass of wine or a soda. The location is absolutely perfect if you do want to do some serious hiking or just easy jaunts. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. I can honestly say that our vacation at Hilltop Inn was the most relaxing week I've ever had.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the king suite at the end of the hall!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freefallnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We'd never stayed in a B&B in the US before, but when we arrived at Mike and Meri's we immediately felt at home. Everything about it is relaxed, friendly and comfortable. Our room was well set up for two adults and two young children and there was free wi-fi for Dad to keep up with his e-mail or look something up online. Downstairs there was a sitting room with a television when the kids needed it, and also a large dining room. Here there was free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cold drinks at any time of day... cookies too... and you can buy a beer if you want one! We often sat here and chatted, but more importantly for our children, there was lego... which they played with every day, there are books and games too. There was also an outdoor area where you could sit and watch the birds and squirrels at the feeders, another hit! The two dogs were lovely, but nervous of people, so stayed away unless you enticed them with food.

Breakfasts were tasty and varied and Meri did really well to get our fussy kids something they liked. There's a huge folder of restaurant menus and recommendations with directions and distances so you know what's where for dinner and we had no trouble finding good food.

We didn't find time to explore all the trails they have... we started one evening, but saw a bear footprint and turned back... discretion being the better part of valour and all that.

Overall the whole family had a great stay and will book in again for sure if we find ourselves back in the area.

Thank you Mike and Meri!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank NorwichClarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I give this a five star rating because it was a perfect fit for us and is the type of B&B we hope to get when we travel. The main reason is GREAT hospitality.

In some B&B's, you feel a bit like an interloper when you're not in your own room. Not at the Hilltop Inn. Mike and Meri have coffee, cookies and soft drinks available throughout the day. Although you can be waited on, you are also welcome to get what you need from the kitchen when you want. They make you feel very much at home.

The breakfast is a full breakfast and Meri's breakfasts are quite good. The rooms are clean and the bed, although a bit on the firm side for our liking, are good. Your room and bathroom are well-stocked with what you need.

Keep in mind that this is a VERY dog friendly atmosphere. The owners have two dogs and visitors are welcome to bring theirs, so there might be more. The dogs were very well behaved and are easily let outside if needed. For any dog haters reading this, I stress the fact that the dogs were a pleasure to have around and caused no disturbance, so I still think you would enjoy yourself.

If you like B&B's I believe you will love the Hilltop Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nv040212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Mike and Meri made us feel the most welcome and comfortable we have ever felt in many years of traveling, with and without our dogs. The Inn is beautiful and well-kept; the setting is picturesque; the people are warm and kind and relaxed, and it was a truly memorable stay. There are very few places that strike a balance between first-class comfort and service plus dog-friendly accommodations. This is one of those very rare pearls. Thank you. We will be back, as often as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulabanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews