We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good refurb, not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel during a one night layover at PSM. Hotel is convenient and easy to find. Lobby refurb is tasteful and comfortable. Check-in staff was friendly.

Slowest elevator in the world.

Hallways were dark. Doors to rooms painted purple with visible brush-strokes. Looked very cheap and low-end.

Room refurb looked very nice at first glance. New furniture, carpet, etc. Lots of power outlets but, interestingly, the outlets in the lamps didn't always work because the lamp-base was too close to the plug so I was unable to get the plug to fit.

Bathroom very, very small. They didn't tile the bath during refurb. Still looks like cheap overlay. Hard to maneuver around bathroom door, they should have went with a pocket door during refurb.

Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Windy night and you could hear howling and whistling around windows. They must have been poor quality because it was cold near them.

Checked out 6am and front desk staff was chatting loudly and using some "colorful" language. Glad my family wasn't there to hear that!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 259 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here on our way to Maine. The hotel is conveniently located and easy to find being near the traffic circle. However, it is not up to even the modest Holiday Inn standard. The rooms are a bit worn and tired. The hotel is noisy. The service is poor and haphazard. The restaurant is substandard. Our chief complaint, though, was we could not get away from TV sets, even in the elevator. We woudl turn them off, only to have staff turn them back on. We would lower the sound only to have staff turn it back up. Very Irritating.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBTCville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Glad we only spent one night at this hotel as we were in town for an event. The hotel is located near the traffic circle and was convenient for us but may not be if you're looking for a place in walking distance of Portsmouth center.
The room was fairly clean but the fitted bed sheet was so wrinkled, it looked like someone had slept on it and the sheets hadn't been changed for the next guest. The pillows were small and lumpy. Overall, not a comfortable bed.
The bathroom was small and the wall of the shower/bathtub had not been cleaned in ages. There was a lot of soap scum build-up on it. What was worse was the fact that we had no warm water. It got to lukewarm at best.
We didn't eat at the hotel, but there is a diner next door that serves breakfast which was okay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 6th floor are quiet but the elevator only goes up to the fifth floor.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PharmD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The room was fine. Had 2 queen beds, nice pillows, staff was polite, easy check-in. Very easy to find, it is right off the interstate, in the Portsmouth circle. Easy on and off access.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Maybe we take it for granted in other hotels, but ONE elevator when you're assigned the top floor is very inconvenient. Waiting, waiting, waiting, in the lobby. This was honestly enough to ruin the overall experience.

The rooms were nice though.... Once I finally got into mine. The keys didn't work the first time. So I had to go back to the ONE elevator and wait wait wait for it to come back up. Only to get new keys and waaaaaaiiitttttt for the elevator back up.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OfficerKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.2 km away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#11 of 17 in Portsmouth
402 reviews
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: 300 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $152 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing