We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
457
257
96
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
257
96
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas tree shop home depot the manager's reception free shuttle within miles room was clean whirlpool tub free beer complimentary breakfast a wonderful stay new hampshire would stay here again front desk staff oatmeal fresh fruit kittery outlets close to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This was a very nice hotel. The staff is pleasant and place overall clean. Unfortunately I only realized when I checked in that the entire hotel and rooms are open for guests with pets.
I would think only certain floors and rooms are allowed for pets and others are not. Hard to think how rugs and furniture can really be kept clean. Plus, one guest was walking around the lobby and food area with her Burmese mountain dog. I love pets. But, good thing not all Hamptons have an open pet policy.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saratogaspa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Saratogaspa71,

Thank you for your review of our property. I apologize that you were unaware of our pet policy prior to arriving. We do try to keep pets on our lower floors; however, that is not always possible at times. I will speak to our employees though regarding enforcing our pet policy as pets are not permitted in areas where food is being served.

I am; however, pleased that during your stay you found our hotel team to be pleasant and that you found our hotel to be clean. We have a great team who is constantly working to ensure that our hotel is kept up to high cleanliness standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We were on a group bus tour from Nova Scotia to board a cruise ship vacation out of New York and our overnight stay going to and coming from NY was at the Hampton. Upon arrival at the hotel there was a complimentary drink and snacks, easy checkin and friendly receptionist. The hotel room was spacious, sofa, comfy bed, good tv, great shower, fridge and coffee maker. Complimentary breakfast included juice, cereal, toast, bagel, muffins, yogourt, cold boiled eggs, etc, very adequate. The hotel was within walking distance to a couple restaurants and supermarket. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle to restaurants and a mall. We would certainly recommend staying here.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 797Bicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

I am happy to hear that your tour group chose to stay with us! I am also pleased that you found our location to be convenient and that you enjoyed our manager's reception and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The room was average only, The pillows where on the hard side.
Bathroom linens and accessories where perfect.
The AC from the neighboring room (308) was so loud , it felt like we where sleeping
on an airport runway. The breakfast was below par.
The reception was perfect

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank landes2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Landes2018,

I apologize that your experience at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I will have our Chief Engineer check on the HVAC unit in 308 to ensure that it is working properly. Was there anything in particular that we could do in order to improve on our breakfast? We are always looking for ways to improve and feedback such as yours certainly helps! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Manager's Reception, sounds like that is one thing that we are doing right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

This hotel is in a great location with free shuttle rides to downtown Portsmouth which is only a 10 minute drive away. The staff and facilities are very clean and cheerful. We had a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank moonasally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for reviewing our property! I am glad that you were able to use our shuttle and that you found our employees to be pleasant. We are very lucky to have such a hard working group of team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We were coming into Portsmouth for a conference and decided to stay at the recommended hotel. We couldn't have been more pleased. The location was excellent, the staff was extremely helpful and the rooms were perfect. It's was the perfect place for us to rest between meetings. Thanks Hampton Inn, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Warren,

I am beyond pleased to hear that you couldn't have been more pleased by your stay at our hotel! As you mentioned, we are conveniently located close to downtown, but also close to many local business parks and shopping areas. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews