We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Although there was some construction going on while we were there, it was kept very quiet and was not in our way at all. The room was clean, the hotel is getting updated (very modern and upscale lobby), the breakfast was good and the location, convenient. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was super-friendly and very helpful when my daughter got locked out of the room :)
The hot tub was fun, and the pool area was very clean.

Room Tip: We took our dogs with us, and the room on the first floor was very convenient when they had to go ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KB12340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 715 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

2 miles to downtown center. Hotel has good hot breakfast.
Room clean. Staffs are friendly.
Shuttle bus brought guess 5 miles radius.
Close to hotel numbers restautaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: You can use hotel shuttle to downtown or just drive to downtown. Parking only 75 cents/hr with sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I am staying here for a few days. I've stayed here before and thought the hotel was a good, not great, Hampton Inn. I made the reservation several weeks back and if they told me construction would be happening I would not have stayed here. We (wife and I) were put in toom 201 just above the office. The construction is taking place right below the room and it sounds like they are tearing up our room. Coming back into the room mid day is impossible. The manager offered to move us to a top floor but when you're here for a short visit and you have everything spread out in the room to include shopping stuff from the wife then moving is not too easy. Do not come here until the construction is done.
Also, this is the only Hampton Inn where the put out store bought cookies in the evening and I stay in a bunch of them. Pretty lousy cookies as well.
As is typical the front desk staff here all nice and professional.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigfoot424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and a group of friends for Seacoast half marathon weekend. There were pros and cons to staying here but overall I would not choose to stay here again.
The pros: free parking, breakfast was decent, room was fine and shower was great. Front desk helpful.
The cons: location is quite a distance from downtown where you really want to be, the shuttle service was PITIFUL!!! Two times we ended up taking a taxi into town because we waited 40 minutes and the shuttle never showed up. Two folks from our group ended up in the shuttle with a bachelorette group that was driven around to the bars of their choice, ridiculous! The happy hour food consisted of microwave popcorn one night and chips with microwaved cheese the other night, not what we were expecting.

Although the rate we got was good the cost of taxis back and forth from town added up to the cost of a nice hotel in downtown Portsmouth which is a great little town to visit. We were seriously disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My friend and I checked in for two nights and loved every minute. The beds are comfortable and the rooms nice. The complimentary breakfast was great and the free shuttle took you wherever you want to go! Loved every minute

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChartroomBarHarbor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
3.3 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $142 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing