We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food presentation is excellant”
Review of Mombo

Mombo
Ranked #26 of 219 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Court Street
Description: Opened in the Spring of 2010, Mombo’s dining experience is a short vacation from it all offering creative cuisine with international influences, warm hospitality and unparalleled service in a historic Portsmouth, NH landmark. Walk under the wood-beamed ceiling and wrought-iron chandeliers to feel the relaxed elegance of the space. Sit in the fireplace lounge, at the open kitchen bar, in one of the comfy banquettes or even next to the bubbling fountain in the rear courtyard to enjoy the delightful made-from-scratch dishes using fresh, local and honest ingredients. Whether it is the chef’s charcuterie platter, the seared fois gras or our signature lobster bisque that you start your meal with, we want to make you feel as if you have escaped from everyday stresses and leave wanting to come on vacation again at Mombo.
Reviewed 20 August 2018

1 of the few restaurants in Portsmouth with its own parking lot,very good food,wait staff is always great,all the dishes are great here ,we are local and we choose this restaurant
to return to as it is always good .
This is 1 of portsmouths best restaurants.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Can't remember the last time we had such an attentive waitress! Our waitress was Brittany, but we observed and heard other waitstaff treat their parties with the same attentiveness. Even if you didn't like the food, which was top rate, the waitstaff is worth the visit. Walker's in Cape Neddick could definitely use some guidance from this establishment!
Thank you for a very pleasant evening.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Theresa547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here! The building is beautiful and offers unique dishes presented beautifully. We had our kids with us and they were very accommodating, going out of their way to recommend activities in the local area. All were very friendly with free valet parking right on sight. We will be back again!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Well prepared drinks, menu offerings with a twist and emphasis on presentation. Limited dessert menu but quite satisfied with our selections.
A bonus, on site valet parking in busy downtown Portsmouth, a pleasant surprise.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Decided to go to Portsmouth on July 3rd to enjoy the pre 4th buzz, watch the fireworks in the evening and attend the annual new citizens swearing in at Strawberry Banke on the 4th. Made reservations for two at Mombo for the 3rd because of good reviews from friends and it's close to all events near the waterfront.

We were not disappointed.......we had reserved on Open Table and were met at the door by a smiling and attentive hostess who showed us to a quiet table for two with window and fireplace views. Service by Andrea was knowledgeable, friendly, and efficient...but not rushed.

We enjoyed our martinis and shared a beet salad that was tasty, light and refreshing.
Tom, the owner,(I think that's his name!) came by to check on us and to chat for a bit. This was a nice touch and he asked more than the usual "how is everything here?"

Entrees of baked half chicken with interesting thinly sliced baked potato dish, and broiled pork chop over a bed of corn, pancetta, diced green and red peppers were both excellent. Glasses of a nice zinfandel added nicely to the tastes.
We were too full for dessert, but lingered to finish our wine and enjoy the pleasant buzz of others enjoying the evening.

We shall return!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gustafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mombo also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Mombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing