We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy with good food”
Review of The Waterhouse

The Waterhouse
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 32
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 November 2018

This restaurant has a good brunch on Sunday and a complete menu that should satisfy everyone. It is on the river and during warm weather you can sit outside. The service was quick and efficient and she was able to answer all of our questions regarding our choices. Definitely give this place a try but call for reservations since it was very crowded and most of the seating was taken.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lkis229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2018

I love the Waterhouse and Baker's Station! I often stop at Baker's Station when I am out on a bicycle ride. Everything is so delicious, but I especially like the bagels! Try rosemary fig, it is outstanding! Dinner at the Waterhouse is a special treat, save room for dessert! Please keep the chocolate silk pie on the menu!!! The cheerful, friendly manner of the staff is so welcoming, what a special place!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skiergirlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

This treasure was recommended by the host of the B & B where we were staying. The entire experience could not have been better. Gracious hospitality, pleasing decor, magnificent water view, perfect service and best of all was the exceptional food. Wish I lived closer!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Landetober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterhouseNH, Manager at The Waterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you "found" us, and pleased we got to see you the next day for lunch! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

We were happily surprised at The Waterhouse. The scallop dish was superb- well conceived and perfectly cooked. The ambiance is pleasant, even on a cold, grey day. Service was pretty good. The only weak link was the fish tacos, which were - meh, mostly because the fish wasn't as fresh as it should have been.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We stopped in to The Waterhouse early on a Sunday evening before heading back to our hotel in Keene. We had wandered around Peterborough to a couple galleries that were still open at 3 on a Sunday. Word to the wise plan to come to Peterborough early in the afternoon on a Sunday if you want to do some serious shopping!!

We were seated without reservations in a room with a view of the river. The riverside tables were all reserved, but we could still see the river and enjoy the beauty of early autumn in New Hampshire. Nice bread service with a house made Hummus and sweet/spicy nuts. We started with the Lobster Wontons (kind of a Lobster Rangoon), delicious! Two of us shared a Mixed Green Salad which truly had enough for all of us to share. All three of us ordered the swordfish special, which came with red cabbage and rice. The fish was perfectly prepared, the presentation was nice. We completed our meal with a Creme Brulee, one of the best I've had in some time...well bruleed with a smooth, creamy texture to the Creme.The service was very good.
This was a very pleasant, peaceful evening which we very much appreciated.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing