We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & comfy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Ranked #8 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quaint & comfy”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for one night & went riding the next morning.
The bedroom was comfy if a little noisy due to being at the front of the house with a fairly busy road out front. The bed was very comfortable & the en suite was clean & the shower was ok too.
Breakfast was lovely with the house having two big tables that all the guests sat round & made small talk during their meal.
The riding was super with lovely horses and great views to be had during the hour long ride.

Room Tip: As for a room at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grubbytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    42
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
65
146
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mass,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights in the main house. We were not impressed for the place was very cluttered with mix match decor. Our room was very pretty but the bathroom had mold around the corners of the jacuzzi so we didn't end up using it. The breakfast was interesting but you were hungry soon after. We didn't care about the fresh flowers on our plates. We found that we loved Rick but Charlene left a bad taste in our mouths. We tried it once more and stayed in the Alpine moose house which was fabulous!! It was very clean and un cluttered. The decor all matched and felt very homey there. The girls running the stables were very friendly and socialable. My family will come back to use the Alpine Cottage but hope for a better visit due to the Mrs. attitude.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZacMass_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We have been in business for 18 years and I have never had a negative comment directed towards me has having a bad or negative attitude. I try to be kind and helpful to everyone who comes in the inn whether for for staying hereat the inn or cottage or for our stables . I did not know that I had offended anyone and if I had I would certainly apologized. One of the things that most people enjoyed were the edible flowers on the plate as a garnish that we personally grow in our gardens- flowers usually put a smile on our guests' faces.
The breakfast usually consits of a fresh pastry cooked that morning a medly of fruit. We then offer guests- usually- a choice of 2 entrees one sweet and one savory and usually with a breakfast meat or cottage fries. Juice, coffee or tea is served. If people want more of anything we are happy to oblige and we usually ask if they have everything they need. In terms of the bathroom around the jacuzzi -the caulking has been replaced in the bathrooms and was scheduled to be done, so this has been corrected.

I am glad that they decided to stay at the cottage and that they enjoyed it. The inn has a collection of antiques that span several decades---empire and hitchcock chairs, civil war furniture and most people find the inn charming for that reason. This farmhouse has been in my husband's family for seven generations. We have a veriety of rooms some with 2 person jacuzzis and fireplaces, family suites and standard queen rooms. We enjoy the mixture of people who select the type of room they are looking for at the price range they feel comfortable with. I am glad they came back to book with us again. The cottage is had been totally remodeld and I personally picked out all the decorations of the cottage. I am glad they liked it. Some guests try the cottage and then stay at the inn because they enjoy our company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Good stuff: helpful owners, who will go out of their way to recommend and assist you in any way; sizeable rooms; provision of tea/coffee making facilities and fresh brownies; excellent parking.
Less good: cleanliness (of the 9 places we stayed in during our trip, this was the only one that didn't freshen the room up during the day; I don't mind making my own bed and I'm not messy, but it is something you expect in such a place, and, while I like dogs, I don't think it is appropriate to have their (admittedly lovely) dog sniffing around at breakfast time and moving in and out of the kitchen); horse riding (as previous reviewers have pointed out, this is not recommended for riders, it is a 50 minute amble around a field - very disappointing after you've filled in all the insurance forms and declared you're an intermediate rider); rooms are rather dated and the bathroom was not very nice at all, even though it did have a jacuzzi, it was not the cleanest and far from luxurious. The owners can seems a little intrusive (we had a 20 minute tour of the rooms we hadn't booked on our arrival!); price ($420 for two nights, with the rubbish ride included) seems excessive for this sort of place - it's average and fine for a stop over.

A tip: the inn is a drive from any restaurants, so you'll have to make designated driver decisions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILovetheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
In terms of freshening up the rooms. We ALWAYS freshen up the rooms between 10-2pm unless they are in the rooms and we do not want to disturb them. If it was an oversight we would certainly have freshened up their room if they had told us to do so even after our cleaning person would have left!.

Our dog is very shy ( she came from a puppy mill and our vet rescued her and we adopted her) and and we certainly do not encourage her to be around the table at breakfast - if she does we ask her to leave the room- most people enjoy our dog as she is exptremely intelligent and knows lots of tricks besides basic agility.
Horse riding- most of our guests and others love it! We are considered the place to go for riding in the area and have an award-winning stables. We own our own horses( they are very well taken care of), have very experienced staff and are open daily year round. (no one in the White Mountains region and possibly throughout 2/3 of the state offer this! Most stables rent from other large horse ranches for the summer that have not been used year round where you have new help, new horses and a somewhat less predictable situation . The release form is long, but our equine vet just adopted it for his horse operation. The ride is approximately 1 hour long. It can be a a bi t longer if there are a more than 2 riders

This ride is the most scenic ride in the area. You go down a hill into the meadows, into the woods along the Saco River and see panormic mountain views of Mts. Cranmore and Kearsarge, nine miles of the Moat Mountain Range (of the White Mountain National Forest) and you also see Cathedral and White Horse Ledges.

We were just identified as THE "place to go for a sleigh ride" in the online Outdoor National Geographic , Feb. 2012 in North Conway (In the article North Conway was identified as the 25 best ski towns in the world!.) Most people love our rooms with our TWO person jacuzzis ( hard to find)- especially in a historic place that was a land grant from K. George III of England-since 1771. We offer unique, authentic NH experience wheather in the inn or horseback riding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed in the separate house on property as it best suited our family of 5- could have slept 4 or 5 more EASILY! Had breakfast at the B & B- yummy! The house is clean, comfortable, wi-fi and cable tv- horses visible out every window- great for a horse loving family!! We took a trail ride- well organized, nice horses as I haven't sat on one for many years- fun! Located close to NH attractions and Charlene and Rick couldn't be more helpful or nice. Checked on us daily, took the trash, would have changed the towels- we worked a green approach with re-use! We stayed 5 days and loved every minute! Great value all around- I highly recommend both these owners and this property- would and will come again!

Room Tip: House is off the road, no noise, rural horse farm- all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaP2_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Great location, great breakfast, beautiful view, amazingly friendly staff, nice rooms and a great horseback riding. Me and my two teenage kids loved our stay at the Farm by The River. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.9 km away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,259 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
535 reviews
1.7 km away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
1.9 km away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables

Property: Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Address: 2555 W Side Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5925
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price range (per night): $120 - $246
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a horseback ride or a private carriage or sleigh ride for 2-4 - right outside your door from this charming inn with 9 units. All rooms or 2 room suites have private baths, flat screen TVs, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. Both the inn and the public stables are open yr-round. We are located off the beaten path but just 2 miles from Downtown North Conway and on 70 scenic acres along the Saco river and have 20 resident horses frolicking in the pastures! Complimentary snowshoeing, private sleigh or carriage rides for two; group sleigh or wagon, and pony rides are also available. Enjoy a complimentary full patio or fireside breakfast with views of the gardens and the mountains. Some rooms: 2-person jacuzzis and/or fireplaces. A deluxe 4 bedroom cottage-Alpine Moose Cottage is also available. We are a family-friendly inn, and offer a variety of packages: Ride & Stay, murder mystery theatre,family adventure, snowmobiling and skiing. We have a dog friendly room and cottage. Also on site: gardens, horseback all yr-river swimming & fly-fishing. Close to Storyland, Echo Lake State Park, Diana's bath to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farm By The River Bed And Breakfast With Stables Hotel North Conway
Farm By The River b&b With Stables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing