We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive from start to finish”
Review of Oak & Grain

Oak & Grain
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak & Grain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 65
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Celebrate the bounty of New Hampshire at our highly acclaimed New London restaurant - Oak & Grain. Inspired by flavors from around the globe, our menus highlight the best seasonal ingredients of the region, including local farms and our herb garden. We are authentic farm to tale, New England cuisine supporting local farms and community sourced fisheries. Enjoy stunning views of Pleasant Lake and Mt. Kearsarge from our elegant dining room or casual small plate dining on the patio during the warmer months. Our custom menus, designed nightly, allow us to easily tailor to any dietary needs. We also offer 3-course Brunch on Sundays that mirror our signature dinner service. Our dining rooms can also offer privacy for small and large groups and we specialize in event planning and business meetings.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

So many good things to say about this restaurant, I don’t know where to start.

We drove up from Boston to celebrate a birthday. This was our third experience dining at Oak & Grain and we already booked our 4th trip before we left this morning!

Dining at this restaurant is more than just a meal, it’s a true gourmet experience! Before dinner, Chef Bryan Leary greets all of the guests and presents his 5-course menu for the evening; detailing the source of nearly every ingredient, how each was prepared, and flavor profile of each course. I am always amazed at the amount of thought and creativity that goes into each course. Most importantly, the food is amazing! The lobster bisque was some of the best I’ve had (and it is one of my favorite dishes, so I’ve had a lot of lobster bisque) and the sea scallops were cooked perfectly! Even the amuse bouche and intermezzo were perfectly curated little bites of heaven.

Thank you Chef Leary and all the staff at Oak&Grain/Inn at Pleasant Lake for a wonderful evening. We can’t wait until our next visit in March.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks so much for your review and sharing your experience with others! We're honored you chose us for your birthday celebration. It is such a short drive from Boston, we hope that more folks from the area are able to discover what we have to offer. We'll be down at the Boston Travel show this weekend hoping to meet more folks there! We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Loved eating here and working with chef to craft a fantastic menu for our wedding dinner with our family. It was amazing, the wine pairings perfect, and overall just so much fun!! Loved chef's presentations before dinner to help you understand how this all was created!

Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Congratulations, Sandy! We are so please you chose to have your wedding with us and allow us to take care of you and your family. It was wonderful to watch you folks enjoying themselves and relaxing. We are so glad you felt everything was amazing! Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Thanks so much for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Wonderful!!!! We have been to this restaurant many times over the years. The food has been consistently excellent!

Thank nammiefromLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thanks for your loyalty and joining us once more for New Year's Eve. We very much appreciate your thoughts on consistent quality over time. Chef works very hard to bring the freshest local ingredients, creatively prepared for an incredible flavor pallet. It's wonderful when our guests take the time to recognize his talents. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

My wife and I had a great experience at Oak & Grain. It is a pre-fixe 5 course meal that begins at 7PM with Chef Brian explaining the evening's meal. Each course uses products from local farms, fishermen, and foragers. It is a nice touch to hear the chef's thinking behind each course and how he gets the most out of each product used. Each course was high on flavor and the portions were manageable so that we did not leave too stuffed. If you rate your meal based on how much food you get you will be disappointed, but if you rate your meal on the quality of products and the care put into the preparation you are in for a treat.
The chef will give you more of any course that you request which is a unique touch. Another nice element to the evening is when Chef Brian comes out at the end of the night to talk with each table. We are glad we made the decision to eat here and recommend it to any "foodies" looking for a fun experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SDRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thanks for sharing your experience with others. We are pleased that you recognized the care and passion Chef Leary bring to the dining experience. You definitely captured what we are going for with "high on flavor...". We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

See the full review in the Inn at Plesant Lake. The chef is great and produces a dining experience that is second to none!

Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thanks for providing your review. We very much appreciate you sharing your feedback with future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oak & Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing