We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister visit”
Review of Oak & Grain

Oak & Grain
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak & Grain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 65
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Celebrate the bounty of New Hampshire at our highly acclaimed New London restaurant - Oak & Grain. Inspired by flavors from around the globe, our menus highlight the best seasonal ingredients of the region, including local farms and our herb garden. We are authentic farm to tale, New England cuisine supporting local farms and community sourced fisheries. Enjoy stunning views of Pleasant Lake and Mt. Kearsarge from our elegant dining room or casual small plate dining on the patio during the warmer months. Our custom menus, designed nightly, allow us to easily tailor to any dietary needs. We also offer 3-course Brunch on Sundays that mirror our signature dinner service. Our dining rooms can also offer privacy for small and large groups and we specialize in event planning and business meetings.
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We had an excellent meal. Started with a great introduction to the menu by the chef and a tremendous 5 course meal. We ordered two red fish dinners and
two had filet mignon. Everything was perfect. The salad was fresh, the soup delicious and the cherries with bourbon were really great. I will definitely go back.

Thank Chaiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thanks for your review. We are so glad you felt your meals were perfect! Hope you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with your sister, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

My husband and I dined at Oak & Grain last night to celebrate my birthday. The Inn is just beautiful, with views of Pleasant Lake and Mt. Kearsarge. We were greeted by friendly staff and well taken care of all night. Our meals were absolutely perfect. Everything was well balanced, and had great depth of flavor. I love the fact that Brian uses local farms to source most of his ingredients. The freshness really came through. We are calling today for another reservation for our wedding anniversary next month. It's truly a very special place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MtHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Happy birthday once again, and we look forward to helping celebrate you anniversary! We are so pleased you feel the experience at Oak & Grain is so special. It is very gratifying for the team to know the efforts to achieve the level of flavors and freshness are being recognized. Our farm partners provide some fantastic elements for chef's creative talents. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Over cocktails chef explained menu contents and origins in presentation to diners. Several small tasty courses so you are satisfied but not too full. Not cheap but worth it for a special occasion.

Thank Bobkaren_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

So glad you enjoyed the dining experience and shared the review with others. We try to make every night special for our guests and are so pleased you thought the efforts of the team are well worth it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We have been to many restaurants in many cities and many countries. Oak & Grains ranks in the top group of restaurants...every course was very good, most wonderful. Lovely environment and service, but more relaxed than classical French restaurants. Relaxed dining, came at 7, left at 10. Couldn't be more pleased.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank productworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks for your review. We are always super thrilled when our guests compare our experience to the best around the world. It's not uncommon to think you can't find top quality cuisine in remote areas like New Hampshire, but we like to think that is not true at all. Sometimes you may need to look a little harder, but once you find that special place, it is often simply outstanding! Your review may inspire others to find us. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We have stayed at several select registry inns around NH and VT. We have found some to our liking and others just ok. Every one of them had a quality restaurant and we had great meals. However the restaurant at Oak and Grain blew away the competition. We just happened to arrive at the Inn during their themed restaurant week. It consisted of 5 of the most exceptional meals we have ever had. Before we ate the chef came out and explained the entire meal in full detail and your mouth starts watering before you have taken a bite. Restaurants often boast about being farm to table and locally sourced. But this one is the real deal!!! The chef even went into full details the ingredients from the different farms and where and why the fish was chosen. The meal was just incredible and the service was very friendly. The chef even came out after to chat with us. Just wonderful experience and we will be coming back bringing our friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPL_Innkeeper, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Wow! We are so appreciative of your high praise. Our regional dinners ("themed nights") have been a lot of fun, and Chef has enjoyed the challenge and interaction with our guests. We do take great pride in our local sourcing, so thank you for recognizing the effort involved in that. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oak & Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing