We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Majestic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle in the Clouds

Castle in the Clouds
Book In Advance
USD 669.00*
and up
3-Day Radio City Christmas Spectacular Trip from New Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This "castle," a former estate, and the surrounding grounds, offer remarkable views of the White Mountains and Lakes Region.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Majestic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

VIsited the grounds only based on a time constraint and WISH we could have checked out the castle. Next time, I will schedule more time to explore, picnic and photgraph this wonderful historic sight. We were guests on the last day of the season and the ticket office was helpful in providing the info and options for touring. A one way path makes this sekf navigated tour and easy one, conducted at one's own pace, it is a must see.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CarryOnOnly_CJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    122
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Lugoff, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

If you love history and architecture, this is a must see attraction with beautiful grounds and a wonderful home. The scenery is breath taking and the food at the restaurant is wonderful.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Grateful4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Great place to go for some nice views. Staff was very informative. Nice home. Fish and duck pond was fun.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank lbfreder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
254 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was my first visit back to the Castle in the Clouds in about 10 years. And, things were MUCH improved over my last visit. Getting into the home and rooms really helps to tell the story. Staff and volunteers were all so informative and helpful. The trolley ride was enjoyable as was the brief introduction. Although a self-guided tour through the property, staff and volunteers are around each corner to ask questions to and again, they are quick to provide you with the information you are looking for. Additional placards and bits of information are located throughout the home and are helpful in way finding and learning more about this glorious mansion and those who made their home in it. All in all, the visit to the castle and grounds was WELL worth the $15 per person!

The grounds are stunning and there are a plethora of walking/hiking trails for beginner to advanced. In addition, the waterfalls are beautiful to walk out to and they also have horseback riding. The riding is pricey at $50 per person for an hour ride but we did have a very enjoyable time.

There is also a small restaurant with outdoor dining overlooking the mountains....truly stunning views. Lunch was good - again, pricey for what you received and staff were mediocre but the views made up for all of that...well, just about!

If you're planning a visit to the Lakes Region, don't miss the Castle in the Clouds!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank stormitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was actually our 2nd visit to the Castle (4 years later) and it's worth the trip just for the view. The group that owns the Castle are working hard and continually updating so we got to see a new set of rooms. And since the staff changes you always get different information about the place. It is a self-guided tour with staff around to answer questions. There are also several hiking trails around but you need to have the map which can be purchased at the gift shop. The Mt Roberts trail has great views (can look back and see the castle) and though steep I would rate it as moderate. Hope to go back in a few years when the basement has been renovated and to hike Bald Knob.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank spny83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle in the Clouds also viewed

North Conway, Conway
 
Rumney, White Mountains
 

Been to Castle in the Clouds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing