We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall colors”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colony House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Keene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Loved the rooms we had! Lisa even got the bikes ready for us to ride. The only fall back of this B&B was that the breakfast was a little disappointing. It was more like a hotel chain continental breakfast.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jgiegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

I'm pleased you enjoyed your rooms and the bicycles we offer for our guests. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with our breakfast offerings. As a downtown city property we are limited without a full restaurant kitchen license and strive to meet our guests' expectations by offering a variety of cereals, local breads, fresh fruits, yogurt, pastries, a ham and cheese plate along with soft, medium or hard boiled eggs. We consider that to be a European-inspired continental breakfast as indicated on our website. Thank you for your overall favorable review; we do appreciate this opportunity to clarify our breakfast menu and address your disappointment with one aspect of your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017

Had a wonderful stay at the Colony House. My room was lovely; the bed was extremely comfortable! Breakfast was delicious, in an elegant and comforting atmosphere. Lisa was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MamaJoJo_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for recommended us so highly. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we feel fortunate to meet wonderful people like you to share our historic home and B&B with. It truly is our pleasure. We hope you'll visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We stayed at the Colony House for one evening while attending Parent's weekend at Keene State College. We absolutely loved this quaint B & B!! Lisa, the Inn Keeper was very organized, and all of the details (check-in, room key, breakfast layout, etc) couldn't have been more perfect. Lisa was a VERY gracious host. We will definitely stay at the Colony House again - great location, price, and pampering!! Thank you!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cleesmith1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

We certainly enjoy welcoming our Keene State College parents and look forward to many more stays with us over the next few years! Thank you for your kind words; we are pleased you enjoyed yourself and your accommodations. Come back soon for more pampering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

My stay at Colony House was perfect. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully decorated and maintained. Lisa, the manager, could not have been nicer. The downstairs living space and kitchen was open and inviting. There was plenty of room to for guests to move about. The breakfast was good. This was so much better than a hotel room!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 713francesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for choosing us rather than a hotel room! We love giving our guests the comforts of home as you described and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

I was in Keene for business, and very much prefer to stay at a B&B over a hotel. The Colony House is one of the best I have stayed in! The building is beautifully restored! The Hannah Taylor room was very charming, and perfect for me. Lisa was delightful. I was unable to meet her in the evening of my stay, but we were able to connect by email and text easily. She prepared a wonderful breakfast and shared stories from her family. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay! I highly recommend the Colony House!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

It was certainly a pleasure to have you stay here with us! We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope that we can host you again for business or pleasure in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keene hotels
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
0.6 km away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Days Inn Keene NH
Days Inn Keene NH
#4 of 6 in Keene
407 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 104 West St, Keene, NH 03431-3311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range: $138 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819, the federal-style brick home offers rare accommodations to tourists and business travelers year-round. Situated in the downtown historic district, the house is listed on the National Historic Register and was selected for a New Hampshire Preservation Award in 2005 for excellence in restoration. Based on independent reviews, the Colony House was selected as a "Best of New England" winner in 2008 for fine accommodations, amenities, hospitality and service. Located within easy walking distance of the theatre, shops, colleges, restaurants, parks and walk/bike trails, the Colony House welcomes visitors to this distinctive destination. Guests are treated to an expansive continental breakfast, exquisite amenities including fine linens and china, elegant art and antique furnishings, as well as comfortable contemporary conveniences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing