We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colony House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Keene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We enjoyed our stay in this historic Inn. Comfy bed, really nice bathroom with plenty of nice towels and wonderful soaps. The location of the Inn was convenient to explore the downtown, the park, the bike trail, the skate park and the Saturday farmers market. The Innkeepers were very accommodating, warm, and delightful. The room was quiet and had a surprising amount of outlets, which was handy for charging. Breakfast was adequate and fresh. Parking was close by.

Room Tip: If you are short, a step stool would make getting up onto the bed a bit easier.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Always wonderful to hear that we meet or exceed our guests' expectations. We love to hear that you took advantage of our downtown location to enjoy the bike/walking trails, our farmer's market and the ease of parking your car and having a quintessential New England experience right in our "backyard." We hope you'll return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at Colony House and it was fantastic
Lisa was a superb host.
We are westerners and this B n B was great to introduce us to East Coast History and hospitality. Its was such a great experience to learn history of a typical N ew England mill town . Access to college was great.
A stay at this place is rewarded.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

So often it feels as though our guests are family and your stay with us was certainly one of those occasions. Hoping those college years bring you back again our way! Thank you for your kind words...we do love welcoming guests to our charming and historic city of Keene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

In town just for a night to catch a show at the theatre and this place is just a 2 minute walk away, close to all the Main Street restaurants too.

Staff were super friendly and helpful, made us feel right at home.

Room was very modern for an old house. En suite was really nice. Queen size bed was very comfortable. All perfectly clean.
A/C was a plus for a warm muggy night.

Breakfast buffet was fresh and plentiful.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerome E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

The Colonial Theater has such wonderful events; we are thrilled to be in their "backyard" and welcome guests, like you, for an overnight stay while enjoying a show. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Colony B&B for our wedding anniversary! Perfect location to walk downtown for dinner and shopping. A welcoming staff and clean rooms. Delicious breakfast and coffee in the morning. Our second stay at Colony B&B and we will be back!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kmdeetz626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Here's to many more anniversaries or any other reason you may find to return to the Colony House! We certainly appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Great location. Close to all. Great breakfast. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Will be here again for sure! I found my new place to stay in Keene! The rooms are beautifully restored and the Inn is gorgeous- lots of historical beauty.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ColletteCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

It was such a pleasure having you stay with us! We certainly look forward to your next visit with stories of your latest adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keene hotels
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
0.6 km away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Days Inn Keene NH
Days Inn Keene NH
#4 of 6 in Keene
407 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 104 West St, Keene, NH 03431-3311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range: $138 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819, the federal-style brick home offers rare accommodations to tourists and business travelers year-round. Situated in the downtown historic district, the house is listed on the National Historic Register and was selected for a New Hampshire Preservation Award in 2005 for excellence in restoration. Based on independent reviews, the Colony House was selected as a "Best of New England" winner in 2008 for fine accommodations, amenities, hospitality and service. Located within easy walking distance of the theatre, shops, colleges, restaurants, parks and walk/bike trails, the Colony House welcomes visitors to this distinctive destination. Guests are treated to an expansive continental breakfast, exquisite amenities including fine linens and china, elegant art and antique furnishings, as well as comfortable contemporary conveniences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing