We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colony House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Keene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We were very glad to stay at Colony House Bed & Breakfast. Very friendly, Very helpsome. Good breakfast. We wanted to hike in the area and the host phoned someone to get information, so that we would experience the best hiking routes.

Room Tip: The room was clean, cosy, quiet - and the bathroom very fine
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nynne Lykke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and I'm pleased to hear your hikes gave you a nice "view" of our beautiful Monadnock Region. Always happy to help our guests make the most of their visits to the Keene area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2016

I felt right at home at the Colony House during our week-long fall foliage visit. The B&B is within walking distance of nearly everything in the city of Keene, including its well maintained walking paths and several restaurants and shops. The hostesses prepared a delicious and hearty breakfast every morning that far surpassed my expectations of "continental" style from other trips I'd taken, with hard boiled eggs, meat, cheese, yogurt, cereal, fruit, and more. We had such a great time during our stay that I was sad to have to come home!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sle0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

We are thrilled you chose Keene and the Colony House as your "base" as you explored our beautiful state. I'm pleased to hear the breakfast fueled your day and exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay; we hope to see you again if you find yourselves back in New England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This meticulously restored historic home along with Joslin and Lisa's attention and care is the epitome of hospitality. Room was comfortable and well equipped. Bathroom was gleaming. Lisa asked for our breakfast preferences and then made delicious home-cooked breakfasts. This is now my home away from home when I come to Keene.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank addieh296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

We so enjoyed having you here on your extended work related stay! It was a pleasure to treat you to our freshly prepared continental breakfast and am pleased to hear that you will be returning to your "home away from home."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The renovated historic home is a delight, especially in the common areas. But the best is LISA who looked after us thoroughly even with a late arrival. The bedroom was tight fitting but very attractively furnished. Excellent shower.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank xbtaxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

It was my pleasure to greet you and your wife as you arrived at the Colony House. Yes, the Hannah Taylor Room is our least roomy but high on charm and style so I'm pleased to hear that it was comfortable and cozy for your stay. I hope as you continued on to your annual northern vacation it was relaxing and filled with lots of puzzles and Scottish music!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Colony House this Fall. Joslin and Lisa were wonderful hosts, making sure each guest felt special. It was nice to chat with another couple at breakfast, too. Our room was perfect, as were the lower rooms. Having access to the cozy living room, dining room, and stocked pantry was terrific and much appreciated. We wanted for nothing :)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jdoleary5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonyhouse104, Manager at Colony House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us...we enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to having you back here with us for your future visits to Keene!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keene hotels
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
0.6 km away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Days Inn Keene NH
Days Inn Keene NH
#4 of 6 in Keene
408 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 104 West St, Keene, NH 03431-3311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range: $137 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819, the federal-style brick home offers rare accommodations to tourists and business travelers year-round. Situated in the downtown historic district, the house is listed on the National Historic Register and was selected for a New Hampshire Preservation Award in 2005 for excellence in restoration. Based on independent reviews, the Colony House was selected as a "Best of New England" winner in 2008 for fine accommodations, amenities, hospitality and service. Located within easy walking distance of the theatre, shops, colleges, restaurants, parks and walk/bike trails, the Colony House welcomes visitors to this distinctive destination. Guests are treated to an expansive continental breakfast, exquisite amenities including fine linens and china, elegant art and antique furnishings, as well as comfortable contemporary conveniences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing