We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Ellis River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Ellis River
Ranked #1 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“What a stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Frank and Lyn welcomed our family to their quality Inn with graciousness. This was our first stay at an Inn and it has permanently changed the way we will plan our future vacations. Where to start ………. Every room has something to offer. It was so nice to relax and attempt to play Scrabble in the game room – my son ditched me for the oh-so-cool pool table. I am very particular when it comes to mixed drinks and Frank did not let me down …… my Margarita had been fantastic. After we got the boys in bed, we sat on the outer deck to our room and took in the stars while listening to the river. We stayed in the Basin Room and our boys had the connecting room upstairs.
All of the breakfast breads and scones (oh my!) were warm, fresh and delicious. We all agreed we had eaten the best bacon ever (a must try - this is vacation, right?). Upon hearing we were to be hiking the local waterfalls, Christie offered a map with all of the falls starred on it to take with us. We got the Eco Package, which included a lunch bag. We hiked the 20 minutes to Diana’s Bath and ate before enjoying the falls. The bread was so thick and tasty. Our son tried bargaining Dad for his cookie. He knew there would be cookies waiting at the Inn from their late afternoon snack layout, but he didn’t really want to wait. After we got back, we took a dip in the spa. It was so nice to just sit back, close the eyes and relax. I almost didn’t want to go to dinner. Lyn had made our dinner reservations, which was a nice and new experience.
There are so many little touches throughout the Inn that made our stay so special, such as the daily chocolates and bottles of water and random quaint puzzles on tables in the game room just waiting to be finished. My favorite was the shower in our room. There were water jets that could be aimed at the body, four I believe, in addition to the very wide shower head above.
Lyn and Frank offered nice conversation, were warm and friendly and gave us an experience to remember. It was hard to leave. Our next stop was an indoor water park/resort in VT and it couldn’t compare to our stay at Inn at Ellis River. If pampering and relaxation is what you’re looking for, this is it. Lyn and Frank were warm and friendly, offered nice conversation and gave us an experience to remember. We look forward to our next visit.
Catherine Meunier, Northampton, MA

Room Tip: The Basin Room's shower with wall jets is a lovely experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    62
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
408
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Wonderful place for time away from the kiddos! Lynn & Frank spoiled us!! Lots of great food and very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable Inn. I felt like I was staying at a friend's home! Complimentry upgrades, Everyone was very accomidating! They packed us a wonderful picnic for our hike, and goodies for the drive home! Enjoyed massages and dinner nearby. Cannot say enough good things. On the pricey side so be prepared.

Room Tip: Our room was little warm the first night even with the windows open. I suggest a room with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your romantic getaway and the dinner and massages included in our Spring for Romance package. We agree that the balcony rooms are favorites when the days are very warm and nights are still cold. We’re sorry our unseasonable April weather didn’t allow your room to be as cool as you would have liked ~ it is a challenge to know whether to use our heating system or the air conditioning when the temperatures range so widely each day. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay so we can try our best to spoil you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Ellis River year after year. Always returning because we knew the service and was outstanding. We had stayed in I think almost every room there.
In 2008 my husband and I decided to have our wedding vows renewed and we did it at the Inn. I can't stress enough how nice they made it for us. They provided flowers, Cake and a lovely atmosphere. Everything was perfect. I am eternally grateful to them because I have these wonderful memories to cherish forever. I lost my husband to cancer in 2009.
I highly recommend the Inn to any couple that is looking for a place to stay that will make them feel comfortable and at home. And treated wonderfully. I also must say their breakfasts are the best and the cookies in the afternoon shouldn't be missed.
Thank you for all the wonderful years and memories.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are on the back with the balconies. With sliders open at night you can hear the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buel1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you so much for such a special tribute. We were privileged to be part of those special times and we are so grateful the memories are ones you continue to cherish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I cannot stress enough how fantastic the Inn at Ellis River is! I first visited the Inn in October of 2009 with my then boyfriend. We loved the Inn so much that we decided to elope there on January 1, 2010. The staff were fantastic and did everything to make our big day special! Everything was just perfect! We then returned for our one-year anniversary a year later and had a great time! It was great because we saw a lot of the same people we had seen the year we got married and it was fun catching up with everyone. I was glad to see that the Inn at Ellis River had meant so much to so many other couples as well! We couldn't return for our two year anniversary because I had just had a baby but we're heading up there next month for an impromptu getaway and I can't wait!

We had found the Inn at Ellis River on a whim while surfing the internet but it was certainly one of the bests finds out there. I would recommend the Inn at Ellis River to all of my friends and family and anyone who wants exceptional service and a memorable getaway. (or romantic wedding!!!)

Room Tip: I'd love to tell you which room we always stay in but I don't want people booking the room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind comments. We love to help our guests create the kinds of special experiences they wish, and we’re delighted that your elopement was all you hoped it would be. We can’t wait to see you when you come back this month for a post-natal babymoon - with pictures of course! New parents deserve romantic getaways, too! PS - We’ll keep your favorite room a secret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

After years of not being able to make it back to Ellis river inn, they greeted us like old friends. Every wish was granted, and I came home with a bag of homemade granola as well. It was a relaxing, romantic, and rejuvenating mini break from our hectic lives. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InkjetJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.8 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.1 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1.1 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.8 km away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
23.3 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ellis River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis River

Property: Inn at Ellis River
Address: 17 Harriman Road, PO Box 656, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price range (per night): $157 - $343
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quaint town of Jackson, the Inn at Ellis River offers elegant, country lodging for you in the NH White Mountains. Whether celebrating a special occasion or looking for the perfect vacation getaway, our Inn offers ideal accommodations. We offer standard rooms and suites, most with fireplaces, many with Jacuzzis and balconies, some with direct views of the Ellis River. Each room has a view of the pool or the picturesque mountains near the inn. Enjoy the nearby waterfalls, trout streams and hiking trails to Mt. Washington. Reserve today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis River Hotel Jackson
Inn At Ellis River Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing