We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
21
24
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
24
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews screened porch squam lake busy road private beach cabin kitchenette paddle boats raft
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015

My brother booked the trip and I hadnt heard a thing about the place before getting here. Motel has a great location near the town and Rattlesnake Hill hike. Kids took out frr double kayak and stand up paddleboard on small lake beach. Staff was all friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic but clean and have nice small screened porches and homey quilts on beds. Inexpensive good place. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krisbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

Rooms right on Squam Lake. The room was cozy. Very comfortable bed and nice view of the lake. Very quiet this time if year as it is past peak season. I would definitely stay here again. We had ability to boat on the lake (they provide canoes, etc. at no extra cost) but unfortunately it rained the day we were going to go out). Will bring our kids for next stay.
Reasonable price for the night.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

If you are interested in being ON Little Squam Lake, this is the perfect location.....Our hope was to view the fall foliage changing and see loons on the lake...Both happened for us.....Although the Boulders is rustic, it is clean, a very kind and helpful staff and a simple continental breakfast...but if you are in the cabin's lakeside they come with a full kitchen. There are kayaks, canoes and a rowboat for free use....this was lovely, as the summer season was complete, the lake was calm and quiet so viewing the loons was great. At night you can have a lakeside campfire as well.....We will be back

Room Tip: Choose cabin 24 or 25/on the lake
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mingming15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

The motel was dated and somewhat worn. Nice to have a screened in porch facing the lake. The cottages looked really great down by the water. I enjoyed sitting by the water. There were picnic tables and fire pits as well as barbecue pits. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, but did not stay in the room only at night. You can overlook the room when the location is as lovely as this. The motel is on top of the hill, there are stairs to the lake, its a climb!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sueb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and our area businesses.We are so lucky to be in such a charming area. It sounds as though, you were in one of our "standard rooms" which are preserved with our "older souls" looking to experience or reconnect with a simpler time in mind. We had Honeymooners from 25 years ago ecstatic that we have preserved the look of the rooms and kept them so simple. It is a task and a half to try to modernize to attempt today's standards and yet preserve the rusticity The Boulders has offered for nearly 70 years. If you were to return, you may wish to request a queen room which has the updated cherry vanities/mirrors/lighting in their bathrooms & newer decor. We are trying to balance pleasing all types of people and personalities, I am sorry it wasn't quite right for you. Our main goals are to have people enjoy the natural beauty of the area and to not trample on the antiquated charm this property and Squam has to offer. Again, I thank you for your time and for choosing to stay with us. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We happened on Boulders last summer and liked it so much we planned a return trip for the last week in August, 2014. We took cabin #24, "Bear Cub Cabin" which is yards from the lake and shares a dock with cabin #25. Our two grandsons (6 and 9 yrs.) joined us for the week and my daughter's family with two toddlers took one of the motel rooms for the end of the week. The location on Little Squam Lake is amazing. Boulders is oriented to the sun and you can see both the rising and setting sun from the place. The motel part is closer to the road and the cabins, beach and lake are on a lower level reached by stairs. This makes the beach area very private and easier to contain the kids. The grounds are very natural, with many tall shade firs and a large sandy beach perfect for the kids to excavate. There is a raft to swim to and kayaks, canoes, rowboats and (new this year - paddleboards) all free to use on the lake. Picnic tables, charcoal grills and firepits are scattered around. The cabin itself was small and rustic but completely adequate in all ways, knotty pine paneling throughout, two small bedrooms each with a double or queen bed, a kitchenette with a great lake view over the sink and an updated shower - not to mention the screened porch. One unique aspect of the Boulders is how quickly you meet the other guests, many who have come for decades. Our grandkids never lacked for playmates and were fast friends with the family in cabin #25 by the end of our stay. The staff, especially Rhonda couldn't be more hospitable or helpful. You can walk to the tiny, wonderful town of Holderness, with the marina and cafe, general store and precious library (super children's room) but the sidewalks are a little dicey. The Squam Science Center is not to be missed and also a short walk. Our last night, a pontoon boat with a brass band toured Little Squam for two hours playing old favorites, folowed by a spectacular fireworks display we watched from the porch. Warning - this is not the North Conway shopping mall or tourist-heavy Laconia, Wolfboro, or Meredith. This is the peaceful, natural New Hampshire you dream about.

Room Tip: Cabins are closer to the lake, rooms closer to the road.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We really appreciate that you GET US & and what we are doing in preserving this treasure we call "The Boulders" The rusticity is carefully planned as to bring you back to a simpler place in time. I am so happy to hear the "regular" guests were friendly and welcoming, you will see we tend to become extended family here. Thank you so much for your kind words! Rhonda is a keeper. Hope to have you & your family return for many years to come! Take care, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews