We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING, RELAXING AND BREATHTAKING VIEWS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I spent a beautiful weekend only 45 minutes from our home at The Cottage Place in Holderness, NH. The resort is located on the shores of Squam Lake, where the movie On Golden Pond was filmed. There are rustic cottages with all the comforts of home, rooms at the motel and a lodge if you have a group of people in your party. What we enjoy is that we get to bring our dog with us. This location is nestled in the mountains and with leaves starting to change, we were privy to some of the most amazing scenery. The Lake is across the street from The Cottage Place and has a beach that's perfect for swimming, boating or just relaxing by the water's edge. If you are looking for the perfect location to vacation or just a weekend getaway like we enjoy, The Cottage Place is ideal. If you are a snowmobiler, they are open year round!!!

Room Tip: If you bring your dog, opt for one of the cottages. Has everything you need for family comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARIANNE46124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed in cottage one for two nights and the only downside is that we hadn't booked a longer stay! The road between the cottages and the lake didn't bother us at all, you can see really far either direction to cross, the only thing is that the cars can be noisy if you're sitting on the porch in the evening.

The cottage itself was so cute, it had a comfortable bed, a dinky bathroom and a tiny kitchen with everything you need to cook ready to hand. There was a fridge and freezer (good for cooling wine!) and two hobs. The walls were covered in china and cross-stitch pictures, and there was a little table with two chairs to have your dinner at. The patio had two big chairs looking directly over the lake with plenty of space to park the car directly next to the cottage.

We met Susan (I think..) on our first night who had come to make sure that we'd got into the cottage and had everything we needed, which was really nice of her. She was very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was little muffins and apple doughnuts and coffee up at the cottage shop.

We really loved our stay at the Cottage Place on Squam Lake, the surroundings are beautiful and we even braved a dip in the lake (bracing!) which was clear as glass.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in cottage #6 for two nights, on a weekend getaway with my husband. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and comfortable, except for the bed that was in the bedroom. I usually like firm beds, but this one was terrible, it was like sleeping on the wood floor. The second night, we slept on the bed in the living room area, which was much more comfortable.

The biggest issue was the road. Rt. 3 is quite busy, there were loud trucks driving by every time we were at the cabin (which wasn't often since we had plans for the two days we were there) The cabins are very close to the road, not set back at all, so the noise can become an issue. This didn't bother us much, since we really just slept there and were away from the area during the day. But this is definitely not the place to go if you plan on spending lazy days enjoying peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrulyBlessed8704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your review. Some find the road separating our cottages from the lake front a problem and some adapt quickly and appreciate that the view from all of the rentals is wonderful. The road is labeled Scenic Drive and is the road that connects the entire lakes region so it is a wonderful road to take to see all of the lakes. It is quite busy on weekends during the day, but very quiet mid-week and early evening. We understand that the road is a disappointment to some, so we clearly state it on the home page of our website www.cottageplaceonsquam.com. We want all of our future customers to be happy when they arrive. We welcome a visit any time before making a reservation to be sure we are the right location for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights there 7/11-7/14. We loved the location, we loved the cabin we were in, and we loved the warmth and hospitality we recieved from the management. The cabin was picture perfect and clean and comfortable. The lake was clear. The road was not an issue, we never had any concerns crossing with our dog. Wendy directed us to hiking locations and places to eat. We totally relaxed there and will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONY614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Our family has enjoyed the Cottage Place for many years. Between my sister and her family, ourselves, and friends I can tell you there's no place we'd rather be. Sue, Wendy, James, and the staff do an outstanding job! The facilities are always clean, the staff is wonderful and the area is one of the most serene places you'll find. Every time we return we can't help but notice the improvements made. Just when we think it can't get better it does. We look forward to at least two stays a year and can't wait to return. As for the snooty reviewers who are looking for the Ritz Carlton, you won't find it here but we actually prefer that you go elsewhere. The road is not a thruway as some have stated and we have no problem crossing it with our dog to get to the peaceful beach and dock. I'm keeping my fishing reports secret though. We highly recommend The Cottage place to anyone wanting to get away from the rat race or just relax in the best surroundings you'll find.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlDebDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holderness hotels
4.5 km away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
125 reviews
2.5 km away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
249 reviews
1.1 km away
Boulders Motel & Cottages
Boulders Motel & Cottages
#2 of 3 in Holderness
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Place on Squam Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Place on Squam Lake

Address: 1132 US Route 3, Holderness, NH 03245-5640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Holderness
Price Range: $125 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Place on Squam Lake offers 16 rentals, 7 cottages of various sizes, a 6 bedroom Lodge for large family gatherings, and 8 family apartments referred to as Cottage Suites. Our frontage on Squam Lake offers a 140 feet of sandy beach and easy access to swimming, floating, or paddling. We have dock space available if you would like to bring your boat or rent one from one of the three marinas on Squam Lake. The property is landscaped with vintage gardens and stonewalls. We specialize in cottage living with a cozy 1950s style where every day ends with sitting around the outside fire pit under the star laden sky. It is simple and relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Place On Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing