We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
527
272
56
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
272
56
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pinkham house madison room restaurant next door room was clean white mountains santa's village stay there again walking distance pool and hot tub great place to stay new hampshire local restaurants state park staff was friendly in town pizza up to date
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Stayed here for five days with my wife, 13-year-old son, and our two dogs Fourth of July week Monday through Friday.....had a great time & we came back every evening to comfortable lodging at the Top Notch.
The room was very clean and updated and the staff including the manager and maintenance man we’re all friendly and accommodating.
Love this part of the White Mountains including the town of Gorham because it’s not as touristy as the North Conway area and other areas! Within striking distance of the mount Washington auto road and Glen Ellis Falls and 35 to 40 minutes from Franconia Notch State Park! Definitely “top notch” lodging!! Nice outdoor pool too!
***Tip - Try the restaurant next-door - delicious food!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Matt6211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Madison Inn a, Front Office Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

We apreciate the kind words. It was a pleasure you have you and your family stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

The personal attention given by Jamie at the Top Notch Inn was amazing! My son Bennet was hiking the Appalachian Trail and stopped in Gorham. He needed a computer to register for his college classes and Jamie made sure he could use her laptop! She was very helpful with suggestions of where to eat and shop etc! Bennet said it was very comfortable and clean! He was very happy to use the grills available to cook his dinner and really loved staying at the Top Notch!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Daydream272518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Always a peaceful night's sleep at this motel. Very super clean, laid-back & ideally located for our motorcycle trips. This time, brought another couple along & rented a 4-person Razor ATV (had a blast!) Only complaint is no freezer in mini-fridge. As motorcyclists, we depend on being able to refreeze our freezy packs on our 1000+ mile trips.

Room Tip: No bad room choice here!
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Madison Inn a, Front Office Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you for your stay and your comments. We hope to see you for a 4th time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We went based on other reviews and were not disappointed. The rooms are clean and surprisingly quiet given this is on a busy main street. The heating/cooling system is GREAT. Cool and quiet! And the room darkening curtains kept out the light until we wanted it. Also a good-sized fridge and micro. Oh, and a comfortable big bed. The pool and hot tub were pleasant. The staff seems to really care about the property. There were people going around all the time watering plants and clearing off the picnic tables and cleaning the flower petals out of the pool. The office staff was there to doll out pool towels and answer tourist questions all day. The travelers ranged from families headed to Storyland, people on motorcycle and ATV trips, a couple overnight business travelers and guys walking out from the woods with heavy back packs after days on the Appalachian trail wilderness. There's also a couple well-maintained gas grills and a very cool little gas firepit-like thing. They noticed us sitting outside and came over asking if we'd like to have it turned on. So, yes, they're very attentive. We got all this for about $100 a night in mid-week July which is ridiculous.There are a couple good restaurants within easy walking distance. We were there to ATV and the trails were fabulous and they let you ride the machines throughout the city. Bottom line? We'll be back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank likes2goaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Madison Inn a, Front Office Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review. We're glad you'll be back, see you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Clean, great a/c, nice people. My kids loved the pool! My husband liked the hot tub. We stayed here because it was equally between Storyland and Santa's Village. There were plenty of places to eat within walking distance. We'll be back again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JessicaB2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Madison Inn a, Front Office Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you! We're very fortunate to be centrally located to so many natural and man-made attractions here in Gorham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews