We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should rich people sleep better?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Glen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Should rich people sleep better?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We got the last room available on busy Columbus weekend and unfortunately that was the Freedom Village room . We were prepared for the smallest room on the 3rd floor , but not for a bed that sunk in the middle. Photos also did not show the slanting ceiling that threatened to bump our heads.
Besides that, the place is beautiful, staff is kind and helpful and breakfast is rich.
We managed to extend our stay in the North Conway room (1st floor) which was bigger and more expensive, and - had a good matrass.
We wondered - if you book the small (cheaper) room, are you getting punished with a bad matress?

Room Tip: Don't book the smaller rooms Try to get a room that does not face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB_Rehovot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaLeonard, General Manager at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
We are so very sorry to hear that you found our mattress to be uncomfortable. I can assure you that all of our mattresses are Simmons Beautyrest and are only 14 months old. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention as we will definitely address the issue. The Freedom Village room is a smaller room on the third floor and has a sloped ceiling due to the angle of the roofline. I again apologize if you were uncomfortable, but am happy that we are able to offer The Freedom Village room at a reduced rate to our guests. We think it is important for people of all economic backgrounds to be able to stay at our inn.....Some people find this room to be a treasure as you receive all the benefits that the Inn has to offer. We were very pleased to hear that you extended your stay with us and hope you will stay with us again in the future. We take all reviews very seriously as we take pride in our work.....this is our home and your comfort and satisfaction is our top priority.

Best,
Len and Melissa
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    75
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
581
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Glen is located just north of Conway which is full of comercial strip malls and touristy activity. The Bernerhof gracefully sits off the road and is a beautiful house. Upon my arrival, Leonard was a very gracious host. He checked me in, helped me unload my luggage and escorted me to my room. He also lent me an Ipad for my enjoyment, not to mention that there were Macs on every floor for your use. He told me he used to be a baker, and his level of expertise showed. He had delicous hot apple cider and a variety of cakes, including fresh made apple cider donuts for us to enjoy in the afternoon. There was also a variety of teas with your own individual tea pot if you so desired. Next he led us to the bar area, a warm and cozy area. There were a variety of cold beers and several bottles of wine. He said he didn't have a bartender, so if you had a beverage just to let him know. I had reserved the Intervale room, which was lovely. The room was clean, the linens wonderful. I slept like a baby. Breakfast was excellent!! In the bar area I was greeted with the aroma of fresh coffee. You helped yourself to coffee, juice, fresh fruit that was excellent. Before I could finish my fruit a piping hot full breakfast was laid before me. Scrambled eggs, pumpkin pancakes with maple butter and bacon. Not only can Leonard bake...he can cook too!! My stay at the Bernerhof exceeded my expectations on all levels and is highly recommended. I will be back one day for another apple cider donut!! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaSpy007gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed this delightful Bed and Breakfast. Our room was The Intervale and was absolutely as described on the website - beautiful in all respects, spotlessly clean and immaculately presented .
Breakfast caught us out on the first morning as we were so impressed by the buffet that we were somewhat surprised when, soon after sitting down, a fair-sized cooked breakfast appeared before us! Still, it set us up for a day of wondrous sightseeing.
Len, apart from providing us with a very warm welcome, is also a bit of a techie as there is a MacBook in public space on each floor level and iPad(s) for loan - a very welcome facility after almost one month on the road.
The Red Parka provided good hearty evening meals, good value too if you remembered to ask for the 10% Seniors discount!
Although we were told on check-in that the Intervale was the quietest room in the house we did experience some early morning traffic noise - cause by roadmending trucks repairing the highway damage caused by Irene.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazCranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clane, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My wife and I had a strange experience in this B & B, we stopped in for 2 nights in May on a driving trip around New England and happened to be the only ones staying in the place.

We kind of got the impression the owners were sorry they hadnt closed the place for the month and gone on holidays themselves.

On a bad note the breakfast wasnt to our liking, way too sweet and stodgy, but besides this the B & B is beautiful. We were upgraded to their best room on arrival, no extra charge, and given the use of an ipad for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comfortjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Had a wonderful time at this bed and breakfast! Was more then advertised!! The breakfast was far beyond the typical continental fare, rooms had all the amenties and comfort you could ask for! Most new hampshire activities are in a short driving distance in beautiful new england scenery! Great stay, highly recommended to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radorsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen
5.2 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
5.6 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
5.4 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
7.7 km away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.8 km away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 342 US Route 302, PO Box 240, Glen, Bartlett, NH 03838-6315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glen
Price range (per night): $158 - $261
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New - Electric Car Charging! Free dual station at our Bernherhof Inn Bed and Breakfast. 12 Rooms with all the modern amenities to include Wi-Fi, Apple Computers and Printers for Guests on each floor. Free use of IPADs. English style pub for guests. Excellent full hearty morning breakfast. Spa, walking/fitness trail and more! We now have electric car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Glen
Bernerhof Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing