We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
79
78
28
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
78
28
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river fire pit continental breakfast picnic tables great coffee small stream corn hole the owner room was clean new hampshire good size ironing board walls are thin english muffin quiet setting queen room lots of pillows
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Really dated. Walls inside the room, furniture, breskfast room, etc, all dated but clean. The breakfast is minimal but free. I don’t know how this hotel could be rated excellent, but I appreciate the quietness of the place, and the comfort of the matress. People at the reception were very correct.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank ddaaviidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We stayed here just one night with our two dogs to do a bit of hiking but we could have stayed longer. Super clean, family type lodge in a really pretty spot in Franconia. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and loaned us a book of hikes when it was obvious our older dog wasn't up to the challenge of the original hike we planned. There's a small pool, corn hole game set up, and a firepit in the courtyard. This is a dated property but really charming and the owners have tailored for cleanliness and comfort, both mattresses in our room were excellent. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Pet rooms are near the pool but there are river view options if traveling without pets.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emcleod2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Myself and two girlfriends stayed here on Monday night as a stopover before we headed into an overnight hike. It started out a bit shaky with the behind the motel parking but just wait ! This place was so cute ! Yes it is dated, but it is obvious how much effort has gone into making this a family getaway .... Pool, fire pit, games ,. AMD beautiful flowers. Breakfast was continental but perfect for a quick start . I will definitely return!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Noreika5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

The picture shown for this motel really makes it look better than it really is. Nice people run this very dated, weirdly configured motel. The good news, the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. I had a hard time convincing my wife to stay one night, but it worked out ok. Parking is behind the motel and you end up walking between a fence anf the side of the motel? weird. Faces a small river.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rt_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Hillwinds Lodge is just that- a simple lodge in the Franconia area. The rooms are spotless. Our room had a hairdryer, iron, ironing board, and more than enough towels and toiletries. DEAN, working the front desk, met us and greeted us as family. We were there for the Triathelon and DEAN went out of his way to help us with driving instruction, and what we could find in the area for attractions. Franconia is in the middle of everything in the area. Our beds were most comfortable and the air conditioning system was superb. Reasonable prices, outstanding personal attention, close to everything are the reason for the next Triathelon we will return.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the small river have Bar B Ques available. For adults this is great
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 24thIDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews