We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"Clean room, caring staff, decent price"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillwinds Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillwinds Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
230 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“"Clean room, caring staff, decent price"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the Hillwinds Lodge simply because we needed a room for several nights while we assisted our son with his chemotherapy treatments. Upon hearing of our need, the owner provided us with a generous discount, added a microwave to the unit, and generally treated us in a first class manner. The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable, and we could see our son's kitchen window from the Lodge. The water had plenty of pressure, the shower was hot with a plentiful supply of water coming from the faucet. The towels were changed frequently and the beds were made daily (even if we made them first). It is not the newest venue in town, but my son says it is the best. I agree with him.

Room Tip: "A good night's sleep at a good price"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larryrneal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    59
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
48
71
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

stayed 2 nights late sept most enjoyable, excellent location, not 5 star but clean and roomy with all mod cons.easy 10 min walk to 2 good eateries.basic breakfast but enough of it and nice owners.what more could you expect at a very good price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for a couple of days at the Hillwinds Lodge in the heart of the White mountains and loved it. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, the location very practical -- two minutes from Highway 93, and very close to all the nice hicking sites. Our hosts are incredibly friendly, making you feel like coming back very soon. The lodge is dog-friendly, so we were able to take our Golden retriever with us, which was a real bonus. For people who do not like dogs, they offer a distinct group of rooms by the river, while dog-friendly rooms are located closer to a wooden trail. They offer a free continental breakfast, and wifi, which is very convenient. We plan to come back during ski season, because the hotel is really close to Cannon mountain, where Olympic winner Bodie Miller grew up skiing.

Room Tip: Each room has a little fridge, which is very practicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Digre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We arrived early on a rainy day and were given a room quickly. The host was thoughtful and very accommodating. It's not fancy, but you can't beat the value. Each room has a notebook with information about things to do and includes hiking maps (you can get copies for yourself in the office).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

The bedding was clean and the staff friendly enough. The hotel was a little tired needing a good amount of TLC. Pool shut. Breakfast below average.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFamily1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
16.9 km away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
8.4 km away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
10.4 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.5 km away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Lodge

Property: Hillwinds Lodge
Address: 33 Dow Ave, Franconia, NH 03580-4915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price range (per night): $114 - $136
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillwinds Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional New England family-owned and operated motel featuring clean, comfortable, affordable and friendly lodging in the White Mountain region of New Hampshire. Located on the banks of the tranquil Gale River, Hillwinds is located near all major seasonal attractions and is only three miles from Cannon Mountain and the Franconia Notch State Park, home of the Flume Gorge and great hilking opportunities. Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, in-room coffee and fridge, free wi-fi, and guest computer and lending library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hillwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Franconia
Hillwinds Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing