We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn by the Bandstand
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Exeter Inn(Exeter)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slumber Manor Motel(North Hampton)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
225
13
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
13
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bnew englandport winebreakfast was deliciouscomplimentary portmodern convenienceshistoric townvisiting exeterfreshly baked cookiesa wonderful stayperfect place to stayphillips exeter academyliving roomthis past weekendthe entire staffjamiejaime
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Jim and Kate were excellent hosts during our 5 night stay. They helped us plan each day based on our interests, whether it be historical sights, antiquing, shopping, a day at the beach, etc. They will advise you of the best locations and give excellent directions. They also serve an excellent breakfast. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in their beautiful victorian inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Devonshire Room, it was very cozy.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

You are so kind! We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us here at the Inn by the Bandstand. It was very nice to chat with you each morning about your adventures the day before and to give you tips on were to head on the new days adventures. There is so much to do and see here in this area (Maine / NH / MA), we are glad you got to stay with us for 5 days. You were the 'ideal' guest to our home/inn. We hope that you visit us again. ~ Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We recently enjoyed a wonderful weekend at this lovely B& B in nearby Exeter,N.H..The innkeepers were friendly and helpful in planning our time.The downtown is full of fun shops and restaurants.We're outdoor enthusiasts and loved that we could kayak the Exeter river from the marina across the street and bike along the riverside.Plus, being only minutes from Hampton we were able to take in a concert at the Casino Ballroom. Our room was over- the- top gorgeous! We had a wonderful night sleep on a huge high bed full of luxurious pillows! Even though we had a rainy morning it was so relaxing to lounge in the sitting area of our room....then down to the cozy dining room for a yummy breakfast served by our gracious hosts. We're N.H. natives and can't believe we missed this place. We'll definitely return.We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Thank you! You are such a wonderful couple! We are so glad you had such a fun visit. We look forward to you return visit. We would love for you to experience our Inn in the winter.......snuggled next to the fire with a glass of port after a day of snowshoeing at one of our local vineyards! ~ Thank you again, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My daughter and I enjoyed a great overnight getaway at the inn. The innkeepers recommended the cute downtown shops for us to explore. A great spot for much needed mother-daughter time! We hope to come back soon...loved the special touch of the home baked cookies!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nhanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed meeting you and your daughter and are very glad that you had a nice visit to Exeter and our Inn. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was a Groupon for a 1 night stay in one of their Jr. Suites which expired on Aug 31. I had a Jr. Suite booked for Aug 28, but asked to reschedule due to Hurricane Irene. They told me that the only rooms they had available were the Edinburgh or the Kensington, which were less expensive and smaller rooms, but the Groupon would still be the same price.
We should have known when we saw the paint peeling off the front of the building when we arrived. The innkeeper and owner was all business and never introduced himself or welcomed us. We were shown to our room, informed of the rules, (which included "Breakfast at 8:30am Sharp!") The room was very small, rather gaudy, and the bed very hard and uncomfortable. There was a tiny TV mounted on the wall which was difficult to see from the bed. The next morning before breakfast we walked around a bit and saw that at least 2 Jr suites were completely unoccupied, including the one we originally asked to be booked in! At breakfast the innkeeper's wife told us from the doorway that there was juice available on the table and then went back into the kitchen. We had to get our own coffee. The only other person in the dining room the whole time we were there was a woman who talked loudly on her cell phone the entire time! The wife came out with French toast, bacon, and fruit and placed it in front of us, never speaking a word to us. The French toast and fruit were good, but the bacon was obviously the precooked kind you buy in a box. There were no fresh baked muffins or cinnamon rolls as advertised. No one ever appeared in the dining room again to check with us or ask how things were, nor did any other guests ever come in and breakfast was only served at 8:30.
When we checked out, I said, "I thought you were full last night." They tried to lie about it and say other guests don't come for breakfast and the rooms were full. I then told them that I had checked and saw that they weren't. They were then rude and blamed it on me for rescheduling for the Hurricane and said that no one else had canceled. Well I don't care what the others did, it was not safe to be away during a Hurricane. They never asked how our stay was or even said thank you or good bye.
They are an extremely poor example of innkeepers, never mind business owners! We felt like intruders rather than guests!

Room Tip: Jr Suites are much nicer than Regular rooms
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Foxden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

I am sorry you did not find your stay to your expectations. I would like to take this opportunity to comment on some of your accounting of your stay. We do have scheduled capital improvement projects planned for the inn (exterior painting as one of them) that will be taking place over the next few weeks due to our contractors schedule. Our groupon offer was published and purchased by you in March 2011 with an expiration date of Aug, 31, 2011. Upon review, we see that your reservation to stay with us using your groupon voucher was made on 8/13/11. Unfortunately, at that late date, the room that you were requesting (the Windsor Room) was already reserved, so you chose the Devonshire room to stay on 8/28/11. Hurricane Irene was predicted to hit the New England area during that weekend, but luckily as it made it's way up the coast, we here in eastern NH were spared. On 8/26/11 you called to reschedule your reservation. We did make an exception, to accommodate your situation, to extend the groupon offer past 8/31/11 and advised that we had the Kensington room available on 9/5/11. We were never asked about other room availability. You seemed to be pleased that you were offered a room past the expiration date. (To note, neither the Windsor Room, nor the Devonshire Room, were available on 9/5/11 so that is why neither of those rooms were offered). Our breakfast that morning was cinnamon raisin french toast with a side of fresh cooked bacon. We do offer a buffet bar with fresh cut fruit salad, 3 types of juices and coffee for guest to help themselves to. Unfortunately, we did have a guest in the dining room that was inconsiderate and did speak on her cell phone during her meal. I am sorry that that guest was not more courteous. We find that there is a fine line at any inn to keep the engagement with our guest to an informative/professional level while respecting their space and private time. When approached by our guests we are more then happy to give recommendations and history of the inn and town but do not like to impose ourselves. Over the years we find that to work best for our guests. Lastly, at your time of checkout, you did state some of your concerns, but it did not seem that you were receptive to any explanation that were being offered so unfortunately your checkout did not go as smoothly as it could have. I hope that this response can clear up any misunderstandings that you may have. Sincerely, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here in July when we took advantage of a LivingSocial deal to celebrate our one year anniversary with a road trip to New England. We arrived in the late afternoon after driving through several cities (Mystic, CT, Bristol, RI, and Boston, MA). We were graciously greeted by Kate and Jim. Our room was great! We had a queen bed, a sofa chair and a desk. The room was kept very clean. Upon entering the room we spotted a decanter filled with port wine and two small glasses--what a nice touch! We also received a voucher for the Cornucopia Wine and Cheese shop next door (which we promptly used and bought 2 bottles of wine after indulging in a wine tasting!) We went out to dinner and walked around the town a bit, which is quaint and full of historic sites. We both slept so well, it was very quiet. Both mornings we went to breakfast, which Jim cooks himself and he does an amazing job. I like the way it's set up because you don't have to sit awkwardly around a big table and talk to strangers; it's more like a restaurant with separate tables. Jim knows so much about the area and can direct you to any place you want to go or activities you want to do. After checking out we had the opportunity to talk to Jim and Kate for a bit, they really are lovely people and they do a great job with the Inn. They really put their all into it and their effort definitely shows. We would absolutely visit here again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you SO VERY much. I don't know how to express how much your heartfelt words mean to us. We take pride in our home and enjoy welcoming guests to stay with us. We both work very hard to make every guests' stay with us a memorable experience. We are blessed that our inn is located in such a great area. Exeter is a quaint, charming New England town with great little shops and interesting history. We are just 8 miles from the NH coast, just minutes away from the outlet malls and coast of Maine, as well as some great little port towns in Massachusetts. There is tons of extra things to do and see here. (Kayaking, whale watching, golf, vineyard tours and SO much more....), Thank you again for your review. ~~ Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews