We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb example of modern Australian cuisine at its best.”

Rustico At Hay Shed Hill
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Wilyabrup
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 46
Description: Rustico AT Hay Shed Hill is the second venue to represent the Rustico Tapas brand made famous from its Rockingham Beach venue.
Restaurant details
Description: Rustico AT Hay Shed Hill is the second venue to represent the Rustico Tapas brand made famous from its Rockingham Beach venue.
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Rustico at a hay shed hill is exactly what this restaurant is not. That's like describing a peacock as a bird. It is, rather, a superb example of modern Australian cuisine, which, if served from Sydney Opera House, or any one of Melbourne's finest, would delight. The menu is broad, not expensive and simply explained via a menu that is easy to navigate and hard to resist. The setting is simple, much like an elegant friend's house in a rural Australian setting. The wait staff are very fine hosts indeed, patient and friendly as we changed tables three times to avoid an unseasonably chilly afternoon breeze ..... but importantly knowledgeable about their menu and alternative wine offerings. They are undoubtedly proud of their restaurant, and they have every reason to be.

We tried, inter alia, fresh shucked oysters with a wonderful vinaigrette, and same, with a Bloody Mary shot, a dense but not heavy house bread with truffle butter and black salt, beef carpaccio, Chipotle crunch chicken, pan-fried gnocchi and wonderful pork belly with burnt apple and Pedro Ximinez jus. Thus, with all this and Freeo sardines and tempura Whiting, lightly done, & various sides, we gave Rustico a stern test. I am delighted to report that it was not found wanting by any in our party of six. If you are in this beautiful part of Australia ...... Rustico at Hay Shed Hill is one not to miss.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustico_Management, Manager at Rustico At Hay Shed Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Shane O,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your sensational review! Our whole team, including both the front of house and kitchen teams, were absolutely delighted to hear that you and your guests had such a memorable visit.
We are very lucky to have such a lovely venue in the beautiful Margaret River Region that we are able to welcome our guests for either a quick bite or a long, leisurely lunch with friends.
Our staff strive to ensure that our guests are fully accommodated and comfortable while dining with us and are able to answer any questions that may arise.
You and your guests' certainly did put our menu to the test with a fabulous array of different dishes and we were thrilled to hear that none of your selections disappointed.
We truly appreciate such great reviews and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management - Rustico @ Hay Shed Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

This was absolutely excellent! Having booked a table for 7 with 3 kids I was disappointed to be sat right at the back of the restaurant meaning we couldn't supervise our kids from the table. We requested to move if possible and as soon as our drinks arrived we were moved to an outside table. The food was absolutely outstanding and arrived quickly. We also loved the wine, the setting and casual comfortable feel of the garden area. Would highly recommend.

Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustico_Management, Manager at Rustico At Hay Shed Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Hannah P,
Thank you for writing your review!
We do our best to accommodate any seating requests and we are happy to hear that we were able to move you and your party to a more suitable position.
It is great to hear that the food was outstanding and that you were able to enjoy a leisurely lunch on the deck area, it is a beautiful place to relax.
We were delighted that you would highly recommend our restaurant and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Management - Rustico @ Hay Shed Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Wow, don't even know where to start. I have travelled extensively around the world and love eating out & I must say this was one of the best meals I have ever had. I could't fault anything!
The winery is beautiful, from the little white picket fence house, to the sprawling vineyard. The service was excellent & staff always had a smile on their face. The restaurant overlooks the vineyard with a Mediterranean style atmosphere. Wonderfully relaxing music in the background just added to the relaxed atmosphere. The food was to die for. It is tapas style with suits perfectly so you get to try many dishes. We had the gnocchi, deep fried goats cheese & beef which just fell apart it was so tender. The wines were also amazing. It is so picturesque that you could stay there for hours and hours.
Compliments to the chef!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustico_Management, Manager at Rustico At Hay Shed Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Lucy P,
What a fabulous review, thank you so much!
We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our little slice of paradise. It is great to hear that you loved the food and we will certainly ensure that the kitchen team receive this feedback.
We do try to create a very relaxing atmosphere for our guests and we are glad that you appreciated this.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Management - Rustico @ Hay Shed Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Food was delicious and beautifully prepared and presented. The staff were friendly and well informed. The ambience and surroundings were perfect. We had the degustation menu for 8 and it was plenty of food despite what we thought.

Thank Corina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustico_Management, Manager at Rustico At Hay Shed Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Corina J,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We were delighted to hear that your experience exceeded your expectations.
The 6 course degustation menu is a great way to enjoy a wide selection of our tapas dishes and we were glad that you were satisfied with the amount of food provided.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the staff, we definitely like to ensure that the staff are well informed and knowledgeable to further enhance the experience for our guests.
We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Management - Rustico @ Hay Shed Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

A group of 4 headed to Rustico at Hay Shed Hill for lunch. We opted for the degustation and were in no way disappointed. The staff were super accommodating to dietary requirements, allowing items to be substituted from the main menu. We also had matching wines with each degustation course. The food, service and views were outstanding and excellent value for money.
A highlight of our Margaret River experience! Would highly recommend to fellow travellers!

Thank ymadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustico_Management, Manager at Rustico At Hay Shed Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear ymadden,
Thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your degustation. We certainly do try to accommodate dietary requirements where possible so that all guests are able to enjoy the degustation experience and it is great that we could provide this service for you.
It is great to hear that it was a highlight for your trip to Margaret River and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Management - Rustico @ Hay Shed Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rustico At Hay Shed Hill also viewed

Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
Wilyabrup, Margaret River Region
 
Wilyabrup, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Rustico At Hay Shed Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing