We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonel Spencer Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Campton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Last month we traveled to New Hampshire. We stayed at Colonel Spencer In for three nights. Everything about it was great and exactly what we would have wanted from a bed and breakfast.

The inn was a charming historic inn. The breakfasts were delicious. The hosts were the best. Mary Jo and Scott were very graciuos and well organized, but they were also very down to earth and accomodating.

It was probably the best bed and breakfast experience we have had. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and if we are in the area again we will plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The4Hoosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Colonel Spencer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

great location, historic inn, great innkeepers, an excellent price, and great food (and they were willing to share their recipes!). right down the road from a beautiful covered bridge. only drawbacks - the room we stayed in was next door to a person who came in late and kept dropping stuff (noise went through the wall), the showers weren't the best for hot water, and the beds and pillows were a little hard for our tastes. but for the price and charm, well worth it. i'd go back the next time i'm in the white mountains. and it was the little things - such as the barnum & bailey animal crackers, teddy grahams, and other treats and drinks to take with you on your way out the door...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darmstrong17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We spent three nights at the Colonel Spencer Inn and loved it. The Inn was a beautiful home that was quiet, clean and very comfortable. The owners made you feel like family.

We would highly recommend this inn to anyone looking a restful stay near the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Our son goes to camp on Newfound Lake. We happened upon The Colonel Spencer Inn four summers ago when looking for a place to stay during one of our weekend visits. We feel so lucky we found the Colonel Spencer Inn. Mary Jo and Scott are the best hosts~ making my young daughter feel welcome, no matter what she gets into. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and so clean. Breakfast is delicious and filled with great conversation.

We've recommended the "Inn" to our friends and have grown into a large group staying during our camp weekend visits. We love the Colonel Spencer Inn and love our wonderful hosts, whom we now consider to be our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This turned out to be one of the highlights of New Hampshire. The breakfast each morning was excellent. What really made the inn special were the owners Scott and Mary Jo. One evening we were really late coming in from our bicycle ride. Scott and Mary Jo were concerned about us so they got in their car and started searching. They found us a few miles from the inn. The rooms were comfortable and the inn was convenient to the area attractions. If we return to the area we will be staying at the Colonel Spencer Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campton
5.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
3.7 km away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
331 reviews
11.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Sunny Grange B&B
The Sunny Grange B&B
#1 of 3 in Campton
58 reviews
1.3 km away
Days Inn Campton
Days Inn Campton
#1 of 1 in Campton
539 reviews
5.2 km away
Tea Rose Inn
Tea Rose Inn
#2 of 2 in Plymouth
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel Spencer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel Spencer Inn

Address: 3 Colonel Spencer Road, Campton, NH 03223-4411
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Campton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Campton
Price Range: $169 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonel Spencer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of a cozy 1764 home steeped rich in America's history. This year-round retreat is tastefully restored and furnished with antiques and period accents. We are perfectly located, surrounded by New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes regions. This makes us the ideal destination for any four-season mountain and lakes activities that are within minutes of the inn. Perfect for biking, hiking, golfing, skiing, antiquing, shopping, fine dining, local festivals, and more! We are the largest B&B to Plymouth State University and the Holderness School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Colonel Spencer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing