We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonel Spencer Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 82*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 88*
USD 75*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 71*
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 132*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
USD 141*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 75*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 139*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
48
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsb and bresident dogcomfortable stayadds to the charmwhite mountainson arrivalliving roomlocation is greateach morningone nightnew englandget awayplymouthbreakfastkeeperbuddy
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Colonel Spencer for one night and had a very pleasant experience. Our room was simple & clean. The plumbing seemed a bit old, but it was fine. There was no tv in the room but there was tv in the living room downstairs. The breakfast was lovely - cheese omelette with fresh herbs. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadelineNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Every summer we usually pitch a tent in a campground when we travel to this beautiful part of the world. This year, however, due to my wife's aversion to damp, flat air matresses and the undesirable waft of public camp toilets, we found ourselves in Colonel's Spencer Inn. It wasn't just the contrast to camping that made our stay so enjoyable - we were made to feel welcome from the moment Mary Jo met us at the front door. The Inn oozes character, from it's wide creaking floorboards, to the map room, wonderful period furniture, narrow staircases, and just the layout of the place in general. All the bedrooms we saw were very large and all have private bathrooms. Our bed was sensationally comfortable (with no hint of dampness or the hiss of leaking air). The breakfast in the morning is also worth mentioning - a big thanks goes the the chef, Scott. There's nothing better than starting the day with a home-made muffin or cinammon roll before enjoying a perfectly cooked omlette or French toast. Another great feature of the Inn is that it's pet friendly, so we were able to bring our labradoodle, Sam Adams, who spent much of his time running away from Guinness and Tuckerman, Mary Jo and Scott's two dogs. Anyway, its was a most enjoyable weekend, so much so that my wife now has her eyes on running our own B&B in our semi-retirment. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamAdams2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I have told many friends of this charming and oh so comfortable bed and breakfast! From the immediate warmth we felt as we stepped thru the door to the delicious and well prepared and presented home-cooked meals (even fresh baked scones!!) it was like we were old friends coming for a visit! The room we were gven was a room I would absolutely have in my own home. It was "just what the doctor ordered", to be sure!! We welcomed the pampering we were oh so graciously given and look forward to another stay in this Bed and breakfast! Two thumbs WAY up! We all ride motorcycles and that was no problem to the owners. ...and we met some nice people who we are still in contact with! THANK-YOU SO VERY, VERY MUCH!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaudsFromSalemNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We spent four nights at the Colonel Spencer Inn last month and wished we could have stayed much longer. Mary Jo and Scott were charming, helpful hosts, the breakfasts, including homemade muffins, were delicious and different each day, the house was full of character and interest and our bedroom was attractive and clean. The Inn is in a pretty setting, convenient for visiting the many beautiful sites in the White Mountains and nearby lakes. Experiencing the fall in this part of New Hampshire was wonderful.

We felt sorry to leave and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Last month we traveled to New Hampshire. We stayed at Colonel Spencer In for three nights. Everything about it was great and exactly what we would have wanted from a bed and breakfast.

The inn was a charming historic inn. The breakfasts were delicious. The hosts were the best. Mary Jo and Scott were very graciuos and well organized, but they were also very down to earth and accomodating.

It was probably the best bed and breakfast experience we have had. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and if we are in the area again we will plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The4Hoosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews