We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, reasonably priced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colonel Spencer Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Campton B&B and Inns
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Pleasant location, charming inn keeper, plenty of hot water, and a good firm four poster bed to sleep on. What more could I ask.

Room Tip: Mary Jo can help you choose a room to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillSeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Colonel Spencer for one night and had a very pleasant experience. Our room was simple & clean. The plumbing seemed a bit old, but it was fine. There was no tv in the room but there was tv in the living room downstairs. The breakfast was lovely - cheese omelette with fresh herbs. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelineNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Every summer we usually pitch a tent in a campground when we travel to this beautiful part of the world. This year, however, due to my wife's aversion to damp, flat air matresses and the undesirable waft of public camp toilets, we found ourselves in Colonel's Spencer Inn. It wasn't just the contrast to camping that made our stay so enjoyable - we were made to feel welcome from the moment Mary Jo met us at the front door. The Inn oozes character, from it's wide creaking floorboards, to the map room, wonderful period furniture, narrow staircases, and just the layout of the place in general. All the bedrooms we saw were very large and all have private bathrooms. Our bed was sensationally comfortable (with no hint of dampness or the hiss of leaking air). The breakfast in the morning is also worth mentioning - a big thanks goes the the chef, Scott. There's nothing better than starting the day with a home-made muffin or cinammon roll before enjoying a perfectly cooked omlette or French toast. Another great feature of the Inn is that it's pet friendly, so we were able to bring our labradoodle, Sam Adams, who spent much of his time running away from Guinness and Tuckerman, Mary Jo and Scott's two dogs. Anyway, its was a most enjoyable weekend, so much so that my wife now has her eyes on running our own B&B in our semi-retirment. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamAdams2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, NH USA
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I have told many friends of this charming and oh so comfortable bed and breakfast! From the immediate warmth we felt as we stepped thru the door to the delicious and well prepared and presented home-cooked meals (even fresh baked scones!!) it was like we were old friends coming for a visit! The room we were gven was a room I would absolutely have in my own home. It was "just what the doctor ordered", to be sure!! We welcomed the pampering we were oh so graciously given and look forward to another stay in this Bed and breakfast! Two thumbs WAY up! We all ride motorcycles and that was no problem to the owners. ...and we met some nice people who we are still in contact with! THANK-YOU SO VERY, VERY MUCH!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaudsFromSalemNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We spent four nights at the Colonel Spencer Inn last month and wished we could have stayed much longer. Mary Jo and Scott were charming, helpful hosts, the breakfasts, including homemade muffins, were delicious and different each day, the house was full of character and interest and our bedroom was attractive and clean. The Inn is in a pretty setting, convenient for visiting the many beautiful sites in the White Mountains and nearby lakes. Experiencing the fall in this part of New Hampshire was wonderful.

We felt sorry to leave and would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campton
5.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
26.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
3.7 km away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University
3.1 km away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
11.9 km away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel Spencer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel Spencer Inn

Property: Colonel Spencer Inn
Address: 3 Colonel Spencer Rd, Campton, NH 03223-4411
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Campton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Campton
Price range (per night): $134 - $167
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of a cozy 1764 home steeped rich in America's history. This year-round retreat is tastefully restored and furnished with antiques and period accents. We are perfectly located, surrounded by New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes regions. This makes us the ideal destination for any four-season mountain and lakes activities that are within minutes of the inn. Perfect for biking, hiking, golfing, skiing, antiquing, shopping, fine dining, local festivals, and more! We are the largest B&B to Plymouth State University and the Holderness School. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing