We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
92
30
13
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
30
13
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kosher hotel kosher food tea room great kosher large buffet side dishes rooms were spotless pool and hot tub religious jews outside patio the check in process friday afternoon shabbat meal guest rooms are hotel lobby is beautiful coffee cups family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

You should only consider this hotel if you're Hassidic or go into it with very low expectations. The website makes it look like it's a regular luxury hotel, but to any seasoned traveler, this is really closer to a 2-star hotel stuck in a time warp.

-If you're not a Hassidic Jew, you will feel like you stick out like a sore thumb. Everyone is nice/nobody will throw anything at you, but understand you're not going to feel comfortable waltzing in with shorts and t-shirt on.

-Cleanliness: Sheet had a stain..my daughter refused to sleep in that bed. Dining room in the morning was a mess with food/utensils still on the floor. Playspace looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years, with every toy that once sat on the shelf, spilled onto the floor.

-Pool: no practical hours for co-ed (just early morning), otherwise, separate times for men and women.

-Playspace: The entire room was a disaster. All the toys were spread all over the ground. The video game consoles had no chargers, so no way to turn on/use. Some of the climbing wall's hand grips would come off when you hold them (safety hazard/accident waiting to happen). The air hockey table's entire side was broken off with exposed wires. On the plus side, it gets the kids into engineering, trying to jump start the cables in order to make it functional.

-Food: Breakfast would always start later than the designated time of 8:30am. Very limited in terms of options. On the plus side, it is complimentary, and they make it easy to pack food for later in the day, but it's really just your basics (eggs, fruit..). Dinner consists of prix-fixe multi-course meal. There is no a la carte option. Kids meal (chicken nuggets) cost $45/kid (yes, so if your kid is like the average kid who eats 2 nuggets and calls it a night, those will be the 2 most expensive nuggets they will ever eat). Adults..get ready for this.. suspense.. more suspense.. $75/adult.. Consisted of soup, a steak/sides and dessert. Steak was waaaay overcooked..

Since there are no other kosher restaurants in the area, you're pretty much stuck eating there for dinner or going to the supermarket/making your own picnic, unless you don't keep kosher.

When checking out, there was a giant line of people who were all waiting in line to let their concerns known. The lady said she's heard the feedback about the price of the dinner when I shared my thoughts. She said a manager would get back to us, but of course none ever did, nor did we really expect they would.

All this to say, if you're a Hassidic Jew and don't have too high expectations, you'll love it..ignore my review.. for anyone else, please use this as a cautionary tale.. stay away... stay far away...

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anonml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2017_GuestExperience, Director of Operations at Arlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you Anonml for staying with us. We are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. Your feedback for the condition of the play area has been reviewed by our team, and your comments have been forwarded to the appropriate personnel to be sure this does not happen again. Please accept our apologizes as it is our goal for everyone who stays with us enjoys their time away from home.


Diane B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We stayed at the Arlington for the Labor Day weekend. We took out two rooms and they were both very nice. The food was very good and the service was spectacular, specially the weekend manager. It is highly recommended especially if you are looking for a kosher vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrose8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2017_GuestExperience, Director Of Operations at Arlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you JRose8486 for staying with us at the Arlington Hotel. The staff can't wait to welcome you back. Next time, please check out our indoor pool and Jacuzzi.


Diane B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Very beautiful scenery, lots of food at breakfast. Rooms are large, have a/c, refrigerator, coffee pot and safe. Lobby is very busy, lots and lots of kids around, often running through lobby even up to 10:00 at night. Good value with free breakfast. Dinner is very good, but very expensive. Pool is only available for separate swimming, gym had broken bikes, playroom is very messy. If you bring children must supervise them in the playroom.

Room Tip: higher floor, away from steps
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ellenf878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2017_GuestExperience, Director Of Operations at Arlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you EllenF878 for the feedback. The staff at the Arlington Hotel can't wait you have you back. Please try our indoor pool or Jacuzzi tub.


Diane B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We spent 5 days at this lovely hotel. The area is beautiful- lots of trees and hiking areas. We really enjoyed that. The hotel is quite well-run. They do a great job keeping it clean- someone is always tidying the lobby and the tea room. There are a lot of people (and kids) coming through, so it is remarkable that they really keep on top of it. When we checked it we were given a room just off the lobby. We asked for another room, as we we afraid it would be too noisy. After a short wait, we moved up to the 2nd floor- which was much better. Room was very nice- comfortable beds, good air conditioning. One thing is that they did not replenish the soaps etc every day in the bathroom.
Food- amazing. The suppers at night were spectacular. Big piece of steak. Delicious sides. On Shabbat (Friday night to Saturday night) the food was over the top. Friday afternoon banquet, Friday night meal, Saturday late morning "Kiddush" and so on. Tons of food and very tasty. I have read reviews that the food was "heimish" (traditional Jewish food). There was many dishes that were- and many not. And the food presentation was beautiful. All meals came very nicely plated. A+++ on the food. There is a tea room- hot drinks, cookies, fruit. Always kept stocked and clean.
Shabbat the hotel was full- lots of families. There were a lot of kids- but it was not terrible.
The hotel is mostly frequented by religious Jews from New York etc. That's not a bad thing- it's just a fact. The guests were very nice and we enjoyed chatting with different people. So, be ready for a lot of kids, different foods you may not have ever had, etc. Come with an open mind- and I'm sure you will enjoy yourself. We did!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2017_GuestExperience, Director Of Operations at Arlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you TRVLMAVEN for staying with us at the Arlington Hotel. The staff works very hard to keep the hotel running smoothly. We take great pride in our appearance. Next time you are in the White Mountain area, come back and see us and try out our indoor pool and Jacuzzi.


Diane B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We traveled with friends and had the most delightful weekend at this well appointed hotel. Although the grounds are small the hotel has a lovely courtyard for sitting, reading and outdoor eating. The hotel itself has a large lobby area filled with couches and chairs that also connects to the bar and buffet The guest rooms are decorated beautifully and the bathrooms have upscale amenities as well as fluffy towels. The beds are very comfortable The breakfast and Shabbat kiddush were lavish. The hotel staff is attentive and eager to please. The receptionist s are all very helpful however KIM truly is AMAZING. She makes sure everything is running smoothly and is extremely efficient. There are many sites to visit. We loved getting to the top of my Washington

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank elainesQ7045MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2017_GuestExperience, Director of Operations at Arlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you ElainesQ7045MH for the kind words. The staff at the Arlington Hotel love to exceed our guests' expectations. Next time your travels bring you to the White Mountains, come see us again and take advantage of our indoor pool and sauna.


Diane B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews