We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
117
77
19
7
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
77
19
7
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrun aroundnew hampshirekids loveshort driveliving roomdavechaletplaygroundlandnhgrandchildrenofficestove
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Literally feels like home! Our room was very accommodating. And most of all it was clean. That is very important to my husband and I as I'm sure it is for everyone else. Loved the fact that we had an area to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee, or take a walk to the Saco, go swimming in the pool, play volleyball!, the list goes on and on! Will definitely be going back! Hopefully for the fall!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisacF6448IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Sky Valley.

We are glad we met your expectations and you enjoyed everything.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Maureen & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Our recent adventure at Sky Valley included tent/cabin time. Having the chatlet included in our "camping" was excellent. Thankfully, the owners accommodated our wants and needs. Our kids enjoyed the pool and playground which gave the adults time to relax while watching memories happen. Also, having the fire pit with wood available on site was an added bonus! My favorite moment of the weekend was being away from it all; and being able to see the glorious stars in the wide open field. Thanks again for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about Sky Valley.

We agree, star gazing IS usually perfect here. There is minimal street lighting and some of our 35 acres of fields are completely dark...and very quiet. Surely a magical environment for those with the right mind-set.

We look forward to seeing you and all those kids again whenever the mood strikes. It was a pleasure having you here. Your kids were perfect ladies and gentlemen!

Dave & Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

My wife and two children (7 & 9) spent last week at this motel and enjoyed our time there very much. We stayed in apartment B and it had all that we were looking for. While not a four star resort it was, first and foremost clean and well maintained. It is in a small town away from the more crowded locations and was very quiet and tranquil. The kids enjoyed the pool and we enjoyed a fire on our second evening. Dave and Maureen were gracious hosts and pointed us in the right direction upon arrival. They were very open to providing helpful suggestions. The breakfast was basic and this fact was clearly pointed out on the website and upon check-in. It was enough for our family to get our day started. It was very much like time stood still in the 70's, and this was a good thing. Read the rest of the reviews and temper your expectations and you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about Sky Valley, we appreciate your positive comments and the things you enjoyed. We are happy that you found all the information and pictures at our website to be accurate and helpful.

We look forward to seeing you again whenever you can get away.

Dave & Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at Sky Valley with my husband and 2 kids and our good friends who have 3 kids. We wanted to camp in tents but also have the ease of having a Cabin too just in case one of the kids or adults needed a bed. This worked out wonderfully! Everything is in such close proximity to chalet 26 that it's the perfect spot for a family with kids. The playground is huge, and there is lots of space for kids to ride bikes! The pool is clean and alot of fun for those afternoon dips.
The cabin had pots and pans to use for cooking and also a great firepit!
We had a great time and will be back!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ross603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Thanks for taking time to send in your review. We are glad you enjoyed everything and had a good time with friends and kids.

Hope to see you again soon.

Dave and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The place is old, smells old and feels dirty. Beds are crap, my son had to put the matrass on the floor, because they could not sleep in the sofa bed, and my daughter had to crash on the sofa. Old and woren out. It doesn't help with a big pool at all. The outdoor areas looked like a junkyard. Breakfast was poor, and cannot be called a continental breakfast when all u get is oatmeal easy cook in bags, only jam for the bread.
I had to wash all clothes when we came back because the smell had gone into the clothes.
The staff, what staff? The only person we could see was the lady tending the dreadful breakfast.
This is the worst place I've ever been at. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

We may be old, but we are not dirty. Many previous reviewers have commented how clean and fresh smelling everything is. We acknowledge that hide-a-bed couches are not very comfortable...they are what they are. Outdoor playground is filled with many Fisher-Price type toys that do sometimes become scattered about by ambitious children, try as we may to keep it all organized, little kids have no regard for such order, nor should they, they are simply having fun.

The continental breakfast consists of 6 different cereals, oatmeal (yes, in a pouch), a couple of fruit choices, apple and orange juices. English Muffins, two bread choices and three different jellies (in those little plastic cups) and real Cabot butter (in little foil packs.) Coffee, Milk, Tea and 3 Gluten free selections.

We do have a "staff" of about six people but you will rarely find them hoovering over you serving up drinks and towels. In fact, you might never see them at all. We are simply not that kind of place.

We try to make it obvious at our web-site that everything has been here since the 1950's and we do go to great lengths to keep things somewhere close to 2016 expectations. The web-site has accurate pictures of all the units, both inside and out so folks have a fairly good idea what things are like. Upon check-in everyone is offered our guarantee, that if you get to your unit and it's not everything you expected, we will fully refund and you can go somewhere else.

We are the first to admit that Sky Valley is not for everyone and there are many people who need the sparkling new facilities, a big staff of folks to fuss over your every need, a free complete hot breakfast served-up by a waiter or two and an indoor pool and water park to entertain the kids. We encourage folks of that caliber to try the Red Jacket or Hampton Inn in North Conway both of which offer all those amenities.

Dave & Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews