We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
117
77
19
7
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
77
19
7
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews run around new hampshire kids love short drive living room dave chalet playground land nh grandchildren office stove
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at Sky Valley! We stayed in Apartment B with our 2-year-old. The unit is in a house with other units and it is on the older side, but if you aren't expecting super modern amenities, it's just right. The bathroom was adorable, King bed was comfortable, and kitchen had everything we needed. Everything was very clean. We could sometimes hear our upstairs neighbors who had small children, but we weren't bothered. It actually made us less worried that our little guy might be noisy.

We were able to put him to bed and sit outside, which is just what I'd hoped for.

The play area for the kids was fantastic! It was right outside our door and our little guy LOVED it. Some of the toys are old, and a few things were a little dilapidated, but I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about when they said it wasn't safe for kids. Easy solution is to just watch your kids, the world in general isn't child proof!

The pool is amazing! It is deep, and while the shallow section is roped off, there's nothing to really stop a kid from ending up in the deep part. Life jacket or puddle jumper recommended for non swimmers. Tons of tubes and balls to play with. It's old school in a good way. They just don't make pools like that anymore.

The only negative I can come up with is that the ice cream shop other reviewers talk about is no longer there. Of course this isn't Sky Valley's fault, but I was so sad to see it was gone!

My sister and her girlfriend stayed in one of the motel units and it was small but they were very satisfied with it.

We'd definitely return!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about Sky Valley. Actually, Apartment "B" is our oldest unit...but we make every effort to keep it somewhere close to 2016 standards. The bathroom was remodeled a few years ago and we like your "adorable" description. "Old school in a good way" perfectly describes both our philosophy and our facilities. And the concept of "watch your kids, the world is not child-proof"...is becoming a forgotten thought process. The pool celebrates it's 60th birthday this year, and in all that time is nearly accident free, and once again, with just a little supervision, all is good.

We are glad that everything was what you expected and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Stay elsewhere, this place is a dump. Everything is broken, there were mousetraps throughout our unit and even the hole in a pillowcase was DUCT TAPED! The toys outside were broken and our toddler found a screw in one of the kids toys that was sticking straight up. There were electrical outlets without covers. There was also a wire coming out of the ground that had been cut, right next to the patio table. This place is NOT SAFE for kids. Honestly not sure how it has a single good review. For a little extra money you can surely find somewhere much safer.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelf0r2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

We wonder if you are reviewing the same property you stayed at?

I'm having trouble connecting any of these issues with any of our units or practices. We definitely do NOT use duct tape to mend sheets. we don't use mouse-traps anywhere (sometimes mouse baits), and I can't recall (or find) any electrical wires sticking up near any patio tables, and to the best of our knowledge, nothing is "broken". All our kids toys are Fisher/Price, which don't generally have exposed screws. This review leaves us baffled.

If you are sure you stayed at Sky Valley we would appreciate knowing which unit? and when?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Excellent stay at Sky Valley. Very helpful too, since we arrived with a flat tie that was ruined she called around and found a local garage that could replace it if we got to their garage by 4:30 on a Friday afternoon. Without checking us in she sent us on our way with good directions to get the tire replaced. We were back and checked-in within an hour with the tire replaced. Grounds are well maintained with lots of play places for the kids. It's not a full service motel, but it is a great value. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Nice clean rustic rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 282philn743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Yes...there is nothing worse than having car problems while travelling and Maureen only did what she hopes others might do for her in a similar situation.

We are glad you enjoyed everything and look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts.

Dave and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This year was the best! We had a great week. Love to stay @ Sky Valley. We have stayed with Dave & Maureen four times. We love the accommodations & family atmosphere. It's a hit with our granddaughter too. We love the pool with the spray. Such easy access to the river and so much fun tubing in it. My morning coffee with the view of the mountains is wonderful. Our nights @ the fire pit what a good time! Always enjoy our stay with Dave & Maureen. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank jgun61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Thanks for taking time to share your Sky Valley experience and we are glad that it keeps getting better every time you come.

We look forward to seeing you whenever you can get here.

Maureen & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

One of our favorite places to stay. Owners David and Maureen are always very nice. Always enjoy ourselves when we are there due to the quiet atmosphere and friendly surroundings. However, while sitting at the pool one afternoon, heard a disturbance between management and customer. Customer was being very loud and using profanity. Maureen handled the situation in a very professional manner. So surprised to see such rude behavior by another guest at such a great place. We have been there many times and will be returning in the future and will be looking forward to seeing David and Maureen for some down time. Thanks Really enjoyed our visit.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about Sky Valley. We really appreciate it.

The loud-obnoxious customer is a rare breed here and luckily we don't have to deal with it very often and we apologize that you had to listen to it. I think this one was only the first or second "problem-person" we have had here so far this year and involved someone renting a room suitable for two people but instead brought a few extra people they didn't want to tell us about. Some people are intentionally deceptive and get defensive when they get caught; then try to reverse the blame back to us. We can usually resolve issues in a cordial manner and make everyone happy, but sometimes there is just no way to appease some folks and they will never admit that the fault is their own.

Along those lines, keep in mind that everyone gets their guarantee. Usually within just a few minutes people know whether Sky Valley was the right choice or not. Our guarantee gives 15 minutes to check out your room and the grounds, those who don't like what they see are offered either a different unit...or a full refund. Life is too short for all the drama.

We are very glad you enjoyed everything and we apologize again for you having to witness a very unpleasant guest...it can definitely put a damper on a pleasant morning.

Dave & Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews