We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,584)
Filter reviews
4,584 results
Traveller rating
2,304
1,399
522
189
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,304
1,399
522
189
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake tahoe separate bathrooms full bathrooms friday's station executive room food court forest buffet diamond lounge american river cafe top floor slot machines table games great room total rewards heavenly gondola casino floor casino hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4,183 - 4,188 of 4,584 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My partner and I statyed for one night at the Harrah's Hotel Lake Tahoe on Monday 07 May 2012 during our road trip of CA and NV on route to Yosemite National Park. We were slightly disappointed that we ended up in South Lake Tahoe (NV) instead of North Lake Tahoe (CA) where we had intended to visit, but this hotel certainly did not disappoint. Seemed to be the largest in South Lake Tahoe and the grandest.

Parking in the hotel car park was free of charge and we checked in at the front desk. The first room we were allocated was on the 5th floor just above a flat terrace on which a number of noisy air conditioning and vents were located, so we returned to reception and requested a different room on a higher floor. Reception quickly changed the room to a 10th floor room with mountain and lake views which was much quieter. The room was very large with a king size bed, lounge area, mini bar and two wash areas (a bath room and a separate shower room, with two sinks and two toilets). Premium brand toiletries were provided being a nice touch.

We asked Reception to recommend a decent place for dinner, as having driven into South Take Tahoe (an off season ski resort in the summer) we didn't spot much of interest. The hotel restaurant on the 18th floor was recommended and we made a reservation for 20:00. It really was the most wonderful experience dining there. We had a lovely table at the window with amazing views of the lakes and the sun setting. The foot was really exceptional (we had the steak fillet and baked hallibut - really recommend these dishes). Great service and not badly priced either.

The hotel casino is good too with good service at the bars and from the waitresses.

There are some shops easy walking distance from the hotel and a large supermarket which sells great fresh chocolate brownies and fresh salads and sandwiches (if you require a pic nic etc). The complex also has a small cinema, spa and hairdresser but not really any clothes shops other than ski / hiking gear.

We would stay here again if we visited the area. Lakes are really beautiful and hotel recommended a number of excursions, should you be staying more than one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, lake and mountain view as the lower floors can be noisy with the air con / vent systems.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AdDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Spent two nights here, for the first time. We really enjoyed our stay. Two full baths in each unit; shower in one, tub/shower in the other. And a bay window ensures every unit a lake view. Just a 19" tube tv. Keurig coffeemaker, but we brought our own. We could kinda hear the bed springs, but it was still fairly comfortable. The pillows were the sinky feather-type, which I really don't care for. A variety would be better. Some nice lighting touches.
Forest buffet on the top floor was actually good, and had a great view. Friday's seafood/steakhouse and bar, also on top, had the terrific view, but it was priced out of our range.
Underground walk passage to Harveys was very handy. Escalator at both ends.
We definitely want to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wolfdog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in a Luxury Room. This was nice but it's nicer to stay in the Executive Room I think. It had two queen beds and the small couch was actually a pull out bed, which was a nice surprise! It only pulls out to what looks like a twin, but still sufficient. I like that this hotel has rooms with two bathrooms. It is very helpful even when you just have 4 people. One of the bathrooms has a shower only and the other has a bathtub/shower combo. From our last visit it looks like they slightly updated the bathroom because now they have glass doors.

We used the pool which is indoors. That's especially nice in the winter, but also nice if you want to swim in the evening which would have been too cool if it were an outdoor pool.

The casino is kind of smoky, but that's to be expected I guess. I've been to some that aren't nearly as bad. The buffet is good with an excellent view. We stay here a few times a year so I would not hesitate to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mina102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at Harrah’s Lake Tahoe (comped) and were surprised to find the hotel was really nice. Check-in was very quick and efficient and the hotel clerk was pleasant and friendly. I liked the underground tunnel connection to Harvey’s. We had a room on the 9th floor – very clean, had two bathrooms (which was a nice surprise). They did have a coffeemaker in the room. FYI they charged $6 for 4 of the keurig type coffees. The casino had many new machines, nice atmosphere and great cocktail service.

We had dinner at the Hard Rock Café. The service was a little slow, but our meals were very good. We got a 10% discount with our AAA card and were able to use comps for part of our dinners.

We had breakfast at the American River Café at Harrahs. Nice atmosphere and the food was very good. We were able to use comps for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

i went to harrah's late night because i was hungry. i got to the coffee shop & it was closed for some deep cleaning, so they told everyone to go upstairs to some asian restaurant & they had a limited coffee shop menu. i was standing there for about 2 minutes & none of the staff came to greet me. so i went to 3 other casino's but all the coffee shpps @ those casino's closed already @ 21:00/22:00. so, still hungry, i decided to give harrah's a 2nd chance, & walla, i got sat right away. i orderd the french dip, & that wasn't worth $12.95 or whatever the price was. good luck everyone that goes there!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KINGNOAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews