We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family holiday”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Champniers-et-Reilhac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah T
1 review
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in June 2015. A family of 5. We had a fantastic 10 days and we will definitely book again. The home was clean and beautifully presented - it had everything we needed and more. The linen and towels provided were lovely and the mattresses were comfortable. There was a good selection of books and dvds for rainy days (we were lucky to only have one!). The owners were really friendly and always available to give tips about the surrounding area - they were around without being intrusive - a perfect balance. I cant say enough nice things about the gite and the entire set up. The garden, pool, outside furniture was all beautiful and well maintained. There was a great selection of bikes and outdoor toys. Simply put - we all loved it and wish we were going back this year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Aw thanks Sarah. A lovely review snd we hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDCOR
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect French Holiday”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

La Noix was our perfect base for a perfect family retreat! I long to go back!

The property itself was really clean & well presented. Crisp, clean, white sheets made the bedrooms stand out & the living space was a great size although we hardly spent any time inside! There were some DVD's which the kids watched a couple over lunchtimes while cooling down. Good sized kitchen and nice shower room. We loved the patio area at the side of the Gite with the chimney BBQ which was used LOTS!

The grounds were fantastic & well maintained. The kids (7&9) had plenty to keep them entertained when they weren't either in the pool or sleeping! The swimming pool was a great temperature, well looked after and always nice & clean.

We enjoyed many an evening sitting round the campfire or under the fairy lights by the centre table with the other couples who were with us in the other Gites.

Gill & Pat made it very easy for us to enjoy the stay with just the right level of presence by hosts. Arranging a portable Air Con unit for our sons room made all the difference to our stay & really was them going above & beyond.

The local market is a must if you are here on a Wednesday.

We also went canoeing on the River Dordogne which was a highlight of the holiday & only 30 minutes away in the car from the Gite.

I managed to go out running & road cycling most days and it is a perfect base for some challenging hilly runs & cycles. We had the kids bikes with us but felt the cycle to the local village was too hilly for them to manage in the heat of the day.

We really hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location & Garden
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanc...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We cannot rate La Noix highly enough. As a family we have stayed in a number of properties and can honestly say that, within this budget range, La Noix has been the best.

First impressions of a property are so important for setting the tone of the holiday and we felt La Noix was fresh, clean and had everything we needed (including reliable wifi!).

We really felt as though Gill and Pat had thought about the sort of holiday experience we would want as opposed to just doing what was necessary to run the business; fresh cotton bed linen, nice towels and good quality poolside and outdoor furniture. Key elements that are so often overlooked but made a big difference to us.

The pool and the grounds are great and we made good use of them. There is enough space for privacy or to get to know the neighbours. We all had a brilliant night singing into the small hours around the camp fire - although the following morning wasn't so much fun!!!

Finally, La Noix is a great base for exploring the area and make sure you ask Gill or Pat about the local night markets which are lovely.

Would love to go back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality of the property - great value for money
Liked least: Just one bathroom for the 5 of us.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again one day. Gill and Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmoshpere and outside space
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Thanks for leaving a lovely review. We hope to see you again one day! Gill and Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SuperGoos...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal place to get away from it all”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

La Noix is the ideal bolt hole for anyone who wants to get away from it all and just relax and reconnect with yourself and your family. This little gite is charming with a wood burning stove that staves off the chilly evenings (even in June!). Its wonderful just to chill and read with a glass of very inexpensive local wine or ice cream. Piegut-Pluviers is a sleepy little village but with many hidden charms such as the buzzing Wednesday market; La Reine des Glaces ice cream shop (owners Hoop and Saskia are fab people) and Sens de la Terre is a great cafe. The secure garden is ideal for young kids with its heated pool, swing, camp fire and boules to pass away summer evenings after dining alfresco on your own terrace with outdoor BBQ. Magical! The nearby swimming lake St Estephe is just beautiful. Gill and Pat are wonderful hosts and have great suggestions on local sights and restaurants. Bikes are available to explore the surrounding area on the very safe and quite back roads. Our three week stay here was like a tonic for myself, my husband and our little girl. June was probably a quieter time to visit this part of France but it suited our purposes perfectly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: The rain in the last week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2013
Hi, thank you very much for your lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing