We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bad choice” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalimar Hotel of Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Hotel of Las Vegas
Ranked #194 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad choice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotels common areas where dirty, the rooms were worse. It baffles me that anybody can say anything good about this hotel. I booked it through priceline and no doubt you get what you paid for.

Room Tip: Go south on the strip, and spend a little more money and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    47
    71
    49
    59
See reviews for
63
87
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

There were cockroaches and bed bugs in our rooms. The staff was very rude when we complained. I think we all got a disease after staying here. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The tv was horrible. We turned it off and then turned it back off. The beds were less than desirable but after you've been out drinking all night you won't even notice. Other than that its like any other hotel room. Its a legit place to stay if you're just gonna be sleeping there. Plan on driving your car down the strip and parking at another casino if you plan on spending your time at the casinos as this casino is a little past the stratosphere on the strip.

Room Tip: Ask at the front desk for a good room. When I did he gave me a room with a view of the street which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moogani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I was driving a moving van up the 15 at midnight, and I needed a place to lie down for cheap, where pets are allowed. It was easy to find and the guy at the desk was sweet. But - bathroom grout was dirty, bedspreads and carpets were stained and holey. Hojo's should do something about this.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juniorbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed for the labor day weekend. Paid $55.00 per night and got excellent service and accommodation for it. They had an all you can eat buffet on Saturday and at night they had a salsa night dance club which was a lot of fun. Parking is close to your room unlike the big hotels that you have to walk a mile to get to it. Overall we had a great stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Our room over looked their beautiful swimming pool and water fall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
0.1 km away
The Thunderbird Hotel
The Thunderbird Hotel
#114 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 km away
Super 8 Las Vegas North Strip /Fremont Street Area
13.4 km away
Siena Suites
Siena Suites
#163 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Oasis at Gold Spike
Oasis at Gold Spike
#134 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Las Vegas
Red Roof Inn Las Vegas
#130 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.4 km away
Sterling Gardens Hotel
Sterling Gardens Hotel
#210 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel of Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel of Las Vegas

Property: Shalimar Hotel of Las Vegas
Address: 1401 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89104-1327 (Formerly Howard Johnson Las Vegas Strip)
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): $66 - $1,513
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel of Las Vegas 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three story Motor Inn with modern guest accommodations in a convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Shalimar Hotel of Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Las Vegas Strip Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Howard Johnson
Shalimar Hotel Of Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing