We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but basic”
Review of The Rita Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rita Suites
Ranked #190 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I just stayed there from Sept 30th to Oct 3rd as the price was right for those days. I will outline things that tend to be important for travelers with the pros and cons:

Location-- it was at the North end of the Strip and about a five minute walk to a Walgreens, 7 11 and a McDonalds. The Deuce Bus was also not far but the Express bus was at the Convention Centre stop which is about a 10 minute walk. I am used to walking a lot so that was not an issue. If one rents a car there are tons of spaces available to park.

Room-- it was nice a roomy, a mini-suite with kitchen, small seating area, bedroom and a little walk-in closet. It was very clean but what surprised me was that there was no daily maid service. Not a terrible issue but a surprise. The furniture and decor are dated and another surprise was that there was not one single implement in the kitchen! No dishes, cooking tools, nothing, so to me having the kitchen in this place was like having a car with no tires--not functional.

Noise-- none, except the AC. This thing was super loud so I kept it on during the day and switched it off at night as it was next to the bed. The room did not get any direct sunlight so it was easy to keep cool.

Creepy crawlies-- not a one in sight. The property was well maintained and I did not see one insect anywhere.

Amenities-- the only thing I saw was a small swimming pool in the courtyard. As I am not a swimmer this had no appeal. Too, there seemed to be a lot of children on site so if one is wanting adults only, not the place. No gym that I could find. There looked to be a bar or restaurant but it was always empty so my assumption was that it was not working. I did not turn on the TV so do not know about that but the wireless internet worked like a charm.

Staff-- I only interacted with the front desk staff and they always greeted me with a smile and were very friendly.

Would I stay here again---yes, as I did like the fact that it was clean and if you read any of my other reviews, you would know how important this is to me!

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third level to get some access to daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoRobDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 253 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

If I could give this place negative reviews, I would.

We figured that hey, we're in Vegas! We don't need a fancy room, we're not going to be staying there much anyway. All we needed was a clean, safe place to sleep with a polite staff.

We didn't even get close to that. We checked into the room and it was absolutely DISGUSTING. It smelled so bad. The carpet made our feet dirty. There were roaches. There was an apple core behind the TV. The bathroom and kitchen sinks were disgusting. We had to stay there for a week so we literally went out, bought cleaning supplies and cleaned the place. And a crap ton of febreez. And this was the "Deluxe" suite.

Oh my god and the staff was appalling. When we showed the maid the apple core, she laughed. We had to pay $3 a day for pots and plates for the kitchen. It came up in a blue container and inside the utensils were in a plastic bag. Smart. Knives were in that plastic bag. Really safe. We returned those almost immediately. We went to complain about something at the front desk and the man literally said that next time we should spend more money and stay somewhere else. When we asked for more towels, a maid took our dirty towels and came back and said we had stained one and we had to pay for it. Stained it with MAKE UP? Make up will come off easily with one wash, what the heck? We tried to ask her more, but she didn't speak english. One of my party tried to talk to another maid, who expected her to know spanish. WHAT? Upon check out, they said we ruined an entire set of towels and that we were going to be charged for it. They wanted us to pay for dirty towels? We demanded to see the towels and they took off the charge. Whenever we had an issue, they were never helpful, considerate or polite.

And there are rats that run around the outside. Not to mention all the homeless people that sleep in the parking lot. Oh and the rats running around outside is a nice touch.

Also if you're thinking that you're saving a lot of money, you're really not. Because it's all the way at the end of the strip, you basically have to cab to most places.

Stay at a nicer place on the strip. It'll be more convenient and it'll save you a headache.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rachel_M60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I was looking for a nice place to stay on my birthday without paying an arm and a leg on the strip. Luckily I found Blair House Suites. It was a great alternative. It was right where I wanted to be and for the right price. I would definitely recommend this facility for its friendly helpful staff and for its convenient location. The late checkout time is always appreciated as well. I had a great experience overall.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19BradleyM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The place is just really gross. We paid extra for an upgraded room which according to them had been updated with new furniture and carpeting in the last two years. If it was updated then the carpet and furniture was only new to them because everything in there was at least 20 years old! Didn't smell to great when we walked in. Carpet and furniture were worn and looked pretty bad. Was really hot and took about 12 hours to cool off the entire room. Service was HORRENDOUS! It took almost an hour to check in and the front desk people were rude. They had put our reservation under the wrong name and they tried to act like it was our fault! It got a little bit confrontational, what ever happened to the customer is always right??? And guess what we were right! Housekeeping never cleaned our rooms once in 4 days/3 nights!!! It took me about 45 minutes to track down towels one day because nobody ever answered the front desk phone! I found a housekeeper with a cart and she wouldn't give me towels, told me to get them from the front desk but nobody was there!! Oh! and the guess what? we found a big sewer roach in our room! Never!! EVER!! Stay at this Dump. Even the cab driver was like "How did you guys find this place?!?" LOL

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else at all costs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Rafael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Great place to stay! The front desk people were more than helpful, the place is close to some excellent restaurants (Go Michoacan!!!), and the rooms was clean and tidy. No bad smells, no bugs like other places. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
#150 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,419 reviews
Hooters Casino Hotel
#72 of 264 in Las Vegas
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oasis at Gold Spike
#124 of 264 in Las Vegas
431 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#43 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rita Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rita Suites

Address: 344 E Desert Inn Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-9032 (Formerly Blair House Suites)
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: $71 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rita Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With spacious and comfortable suites one block off The Strip and two blocks from the Convention Center, The Rita Suites offers a quiet refuge in the heart of Las Vegas action and excitement. Make yourself comfortable for a day, a week or a month in our all-suite hotel. Enjoy at-home amenities like full kitchen with refrigerator, stove and oven, separate bedroom with walk-in closet, free wireless access, free local and long distance phone calls and two satellite TV's in each suite! Check out the Las Vegas nightlife, shopping and exciting activities just around the corner from The Rita Suites. A five minute walk brings you to The Wynn and Encore Las Vegas, The Riviera Casino or Fashion Show Mall. If you're in town for a convention, we are a short walk from the Las Vegas Convention Center. Savor delicious meals at nearby Las Vegas landmark restaurants such as The Peppermill, Piero's Italian Cuisine and Circus Circus Steakhouse or take advantage of the free shuttle to Lindo Michoacan Mexican Restaurant. Don't leave Las Vegas without visiting Flyaway Indoor Skydiving one block from The Rita Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Rita Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blair House Hotel Las Vegas
Blair Hotel Las Vegas
Blair House Las Vegas
Blair House Suite Las Vegas
The Rita Suites Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing