We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay - just a few minor criticisms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grandview at Las Vegas
Ranked #48 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay - just a few minor criticisms”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We bought a timeshare here as more of an investment rather than to stay in it but we stayed for one week and had a very nice time. Check-in was friendly and efficient and we were given free vouchers to use at the South Point casino next door.

Apartment was nicely decorated and clean. We're tidy people anyway so the house-keeper didn't have much to do but the bed was made and and no criticisms there.

Nice jacuzzi-tub, basically nice to have all the mod-cons. The only surprise was that there was no electric kettle, just one that needed to go on the electric cooker.

The local on-site deli had the basics and did nice snack foods/drinks etc. There are bigger stores nearby (with a car) like Food For Less.

The pool by the deli was a bit small, kids seemed to love it despite it looking like it needed a bit of a clean - lots of floaty bits. Towels and sun-loungers provided. There is a gym and BBQ areas but we didn't use.

In a room near reception there is free website access with free tea and coffee (I think from 7am-11am).

It's about 10-15mins to the Strip but all the casinos had free parking so not really a hassle.

Minor criticisms:-

1. Not enough parking spaces immediately by the block we were in but a undercover garage nearby.

2. Wifi in room $9 a day.

3. Walls a bit thin, the snorer next door was a nightmare for a couple of nights - can offenders please use snoring strips!

Other than that we had a good stay and we weren't in the apartment for much of the time anyway but if you stay on site then there's pretty much everything you need on-site and in the casino next door.

If you can't utilise a time-share to its absolute fullest to make it financially worthwhile then don't buy one. They are pushy but that's their job so think very carefully before you do. Also note that to trade in your weeks for the free holidays (if they still offer that) - they don't come out and say it straight but you can only book the resort of your choice 45 days before departure which is a hassle for booking cheaper flights.

Room Tip: If you get an end of corridor unit by the elevators then don't use the apartment next to it, use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HubbysNumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for writing because we love to hear from our owners! We’re thrilled that you have chosen The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort for your vacations and we appreciate the feedback on your accommodations. The resort’s staff does their best to ensure that everyone feels welcome to Las Vegas and enjoy all the excitement of the area’s world-renowned attractions. Thank you again for taking the time to post and we can’t wait to share our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    864
    289
    104
    100
See reviews for
817
767
59
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I was a little hesitant when I booked our week as this hotel is not within walking distance of the Vegas Strip, but that hesitation disappeared when we arrived. Right beside the Grandview is South Point Casino - it's a short walk across the street to the casino where you can grab a bite to eat if you didn't want to cook in the rooms. Parking on the strip at the big casino's is free, so you can come and go to the strip as you please with a rental car, or the casino next door has a (pay) shuttle.

We had a 2 bdrm suite - it's 2 single bdrm suites adjoined by a common entry way - it was fantastic!!! Both sides had their own privacy when needed, but open the doors and you had a super large suite to enjoy. 2 fridges, 2 stoves and best of all - 2 washer/dryers! Trust me, you need a washing machine in Vegas to get the smokey smell out of your clothes! The showers had plenty of hot water and the jacuzzi tubs were heaven for our boys to bathe in.

Our little kids (1 & 3) were never bored in the suite - from the Disney channel to the DVD player to the large windows overlooking the neighboring casino - the boys spent most of their waking moments starring out the window as the delivery trucks came and went, and there was a horse show at the casino and the boys LOVED watching the horses run in the rings outside.
The pools were nice and not crowded and lots of clean, fresh towels - only 1 pool had bearable water that you could walk right into, the other pools took a bit of getting used to. The hot tubs were great! We were high up on the 17th floor in Daisy building and would request that floor/building again next time we go (it's also a non-smoking building) - downside is that you would walk through a plume of smoke from the smokers who would stand right outside the entrance door - perhaps a sign asking them to walk 10 more feet away from the door is in order.

A common complaint seems to be that the floors are dirty - yes, they are, but I couldn't tell if it was the rug or the tile that was dirty, and lets face it, it's a hotel and not everyone takes off their shoes like they do at home, so dirty floors weren't a surprise.

Parking was great - there was always a space for our 2 rental cars within a minute of our building.

We never used the house keeping, so I can't comment on that.
Oh, and being a time share, and since we aren't owners, I was expecting a hard sell on their tour/talk and we only had 1 unexpected phone call to remind us of our "tour time" which we hadn't booked - but they didn't pressure us. Mind you, we weren't there at check in, but from what I heard, it wasn't too bad. I was expecting a sales person every day and was very pleasantly surprised.

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the South Point Casino - there will always be something to watch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCgalinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review of your recent stay at The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort! Your gracious compliments and praises of our amenities and service are greatly appreciated. We’re thrilled that we could provide your family with a great vacation and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

- Walls between units are paper thin and you could literally hear full conversations next door.
- Window in one unit wouldn't close and had been stuffed with paper towel and taped with masking tape to stop the howling of the wind....needs to be fixed.
- "tidy" that was done half way through the week was poor. Counters in bathroom and table were not wiped although the card said there was a counter wipe done.
- Wireless Internet is WAY too expensive. $50 for one week, per computer, is insane!
- VERY pushy timeshare pitch - don't do sign up for it! They will run way over the time they say and you feel like you are never going to escape. The first sales person was friendly, however, the second actually one got angry when we said we weren't interested, but it didn't end there. We still had one more salesperson take a run at us and then finally we were passed off to two more who finally let us out of the building. A very painful experience.
- Service of the tour booking area was very poor. If you aren't looking to buy something, then they aren't interested in helping you at all.

Room Tip: Sage building has VERY thin walls between the rooms. It's like the neighbours are sitting there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We regret that our resort did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We work hard in providing an excellent vacation experience for our travelers and most of the time we are successful. Thank you for your comments and we hope your unfortunate experience with us does not deter you from visiting Las Vegas in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I've stayed at the Grandview on several occassions. Most notable when they 1st opened. Now with new buildings stayed in 1br/1ba unit for a week. The unit looks very nice and clean. There's a jacuzzi tub, full kitchen with all the utensils you need, living/dining room with flat screen tv, sofa sleeper, washer/dryer in unit, plenty of towels. bedroom also has flat screen tv, closet, safe, the jacuzzi tub,plenty of space in the dresser for your clothes. Housekeeping stops bye once during the week we stayed(timeshare use). They still charge for wifi use for your laptop, but you can use their computers with 15 minute time allocations for free.

There's also a game room above the checkin center.. Plenty of pools on the property and outside jacuzzis. There's even a kids pool/family pool and adult pool on site. Parking is free. Around the pools, there are gas grills and tables for your outdoor bbq. The resort has security on staff and I've never, ever have seen a problem at this place. The front desk is open 24/7.

The resort is next to the South Pointe Casino, which is a huge casino now. Theatres, buffet, dinner/lunch, gaming, poker room, shows, etc are all at South Pointe Casino. The location is far down South Las Vegas Blvd, I'd say about 5 - 6 miles south of Mandalay Bay, but an onramp to I-15 is right here less than 1/2 mile away, so getting to the strip is simple/easy. I love this location because its not near the strip, cause the strip is not car friendly any longer... you can sit in traffic for 20-30 minutes just to go down a mile or two where all the casinos are...

The checkin was easy, everyone was nice and friendly. There wasn't a resort fee either for our stay.

The cons: paying for wifi service, albeit was about $39.95 for a week. Plus they no longer have the free wifi ethernet hookup for laptops in the computer room..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank team2win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
First impressions are lasting and we’re thrilled that you have continued to enjoy your vacations at the The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort. TripAdvisor reviews are vital to our reader’s decision-making when choosing a vacation destination and we truly appreciate it when a guest of ours takes the time to share. Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I booked a 2 bedroom suite (A&B) in the Rosemary building for myself, husband, and parents. We were excited to be in the newest building, but were a bit disappointed to walk in and see a dark, depressing room (although it was nicely decorated). Since I love sun and natural light, I immediately called down to the lobby to see about getting our room switched. Over the phone, they told us that nothing was available and to wait 2 hours until people check out to see if something would pop up. After the 2 hours, we decided to call back, and they said that we couldn't change because we "used" the room. I spoke with a manager and explained that we just sat on the sofa and watched TV until the 2 hours were up because that's what we were instructed to do. We didn't even use the bathroom. Nonetheless, I drove to the lobby to get this sorted out.

Once I got to the lobby, I spoke with the supervisor in person, and they did give us a new, brighter room in the Sage Building, which was just as nice. From that point on, everything was great! Wonderful accommodations, big comfy bed, with great pillows, a full kitchen, a jacuzzi and full bath too. We did have to call down to the lobby a few times because the walls are VERY thin and are neighbors decided to have a jacuzzi party at 4am for 3 nights in a row. Other than that, everything was great. They used to offer a free shuttle to take you to the grocery store, etc...but they were no longer providing that service when we went in December 2011. Lastly, there is a big casino next door (Southcoast), which is pretty convenient.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet trip, don't book a room near the pool. Very noisy and lots of kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank md_ocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Grandview at Las Vegas, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort. We’re sorry that you had these issues regarding your room but are glad that the front desk staff was able to finally accommodate your needs. We’re happy that your stay was a pleasant one overall. Our resort is a perfect choice for anyone that wants a relaxing vacation with amenities that far out-weigh those that are offered in a typical hotel. We appreciate you sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor readers and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Las Vegas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Cliffs at Peace Canyon
#55 of 263 in Las Vegas
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
The Berkley, Las Vegas
The Berkley, Las Vegas
#139 of 263 in Las Vegas
13 reviews
Tahiti Vacation Club
#63 of 263 in Las Vegas
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grandview at Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grandview at Las Vegas

Property: The Grandview at Las Vegas
Address: 9940 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4007
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#62 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): $163 - $525
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grandview at Las Vegas 3*
Number of rooms: 2256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacationing at The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort affords you and your family the ultimate in entertainment. Situated less than six miles from the Las Vegas Strip. The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort accommodations are 1,600 square feet of combined living space featuring a common foyer with separate controlled access for each suite. The spacious one- and two-bedroom accommodations are designed for the guest's maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grandview at Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview At Las Vegas
Grandview Hotel Las Vegas
Grandview Resort Las Vegas
Grand View Las Vegas
The Grandview Las Vegas
Grandview Resort Vegas
Grandview Las Vegas Hotel
Grandview Vegas
Grandview Lasvegas
The Grandview At Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing