We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Room”
Review of Vdara Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Vdara Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Room”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Vdara for our first trip ever to Las Vegas. We weren't sure what to expect, based on mixed reviews from other comments on Trip Advisor. Upon arrival we were very satisfied with our suite. We had the king-size bed option and there was a kitchenette with a table, microwave, fridge, hotplate, sink and cupboards. You need to request kitchen utensils, bowls, and plates, but that is not a big deal. There is a separation between the bed and the living room area and both have tv's so you can watch on the couch or in bed, whichever you choose.

The room was kept well-supplied with fresh towels, soaps etc and after we came back from a day out it was nice that the bed was made and the bathroom tidied.

We have since been back to Las Vegas and had an unfortunate stay at another hotel and we kept on comparing our stay to the Vdara in March 2011. Hands down, the Vdara won on all points and we wish we would have stayed there on our second trip.

If you find the cigarette smoke of Vegas offensive, stay here. They don't have a casino and the entire building is smoke-free. We found this extremely refreshing after a long day of inhaling the gross air of all the casinos.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southboundwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10,126
    3,909
    1,011
    379
    273
See reviews for
2,465
7,537
521
1,930
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our first trip to Vegas. We very much enjoyed ourselves! It was the perfect hotel for us! The rooms were very very nice and the customer service was great, the staff was quite attentive to our needs. We liked the fact it was a quieter hotel but yet still very close to the strip, shops, and etc. The Aria is right next door, and the Bellagio is connected via walk way and is at the most a 10 minute walk. While there isn’t a restaurant per say in the hotel, we liked the Marketplace. We ordered sandwiches on a few occasions and they were delicious. My husbands’ favorite sandwich was the roasted turkey with cranberries baked into the whole grain bread…it is very unique and good! We did order room service one morning during our stay and the breakfast was a little pricey but tasted great and again the customer service was superb. Should we visit Vegas again, we would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlbdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just returned from spending 4 nights at Vdara and for the most part it was a positive stay. However, I do think that managing your expectations of this 4 star property will be key to having a great stay, as in, this is not a typical high end Vegas experience.

The location is part of the City Center area of the strip, but this property is not "on the strip" and you'll have to go through either City Center or one of the other hotels to access the strip. You would not come to this hotel, unless you were staying there. There are no restaurants, nightclubs, shopping or gaming here. And, that can be a good thing if that's what you're looking for.

We took our daughter (11 years old) with us for spring break and the room was great in terms of space & layout. We were excited about the kitchen area (separate area with table, 2 chairs, micro wave, cook top, sink, cabinets & mini fridge), but that faded a bit as we realized that there was literally no kitchen amenities, like dishes, utensils and the room in the mini fridge was almost nothing. The microwave was handy however. If you call room services, they will bring you dishes, utensils, even pots and pans ~ though it will undoubtedly take a while.

The pull out couch in the seating area was ridiculously uncomfortable as a bed, my daughter ended up sleeping on the couch, which was really too short for her, but still more comfortable than the pull out mattress. We had to call for bedding the first night we were there, though we checked in as three people. When housekeeping cleaned up our room the next day, they took all the bedding for the pull out. We had to call again to get the bedding back the following night and it took almost 2 hours. We were never provided with enough towels for three guests.

The king size bed was super comfortable and the bedding was wonderful quality. We loved the big windows and the blackout shades at night and were very pleased with how quiet our room was in general. We were on the 23rd floor and had a really great view of Paris (Eiffel tower) and the fountains at Bellagio ~ we loved that.

The bathroom is spacious and was very clean. Loved the soaking tub. The bath products were pathetic (perhaps "green" products) for a 4 star resort, we ended up going a buying shampoo & conditioner. There are no robes provided in the room, but a nice note saying, you can call and ask for them. REALLY?

We loved the afternoon we spent at the pool, the hot pool is really wonderfully equipped with jets and is a good size, but there were no options for food or drinks - could be that it was the off season. The gym looked really great and my husband did use the machines a few times and there is a very pleasant atmosphere, as there is throughout the whole property.

My husband stood in line for 20 minutes at the concierge to purchase show & exhibit tickets, and finally another concierge showed up and began helping people at the back of the line though there were people waiting in line that had been there for a really long time. Really strange. There is an attendant at the elevators who pleasantly greets you and makes sure that you have a hotel key before entering the elevator area. This was both pleasant and made us feel secure.

We did order room service one night and were very pleased with how quickly the food arrived and how it was delivered and set up. The food was good. I'm assuming that the food is handled through the kitchen that serves Bar Vdara in the lobby. The person who delivered the food made a point of telling us to call after we were done eating to have room service pick everything up. We did this, no one ever came. The in room menu is adequate, not exciting, but good. The Market Place area in the lobby is crazy busy in the mornings and terribly inefficient. Don't bother ~ go to Aria across the way and find the Patisserie, you'll be much happier. For a really amazing breakfast situation, try the Wicked Spoon at the Cosmopolitan ~ gourmet buffet like you haven't had anywhere (see separate review).

Vdara is very accessible to the Bellagio, Comopolitan (great places to eat) and Aria (there is a tram that runs between Bellagio, Vdara, Aria & Monte Carlo). All of these close properties have things to do, see and great dining options. Vdara is quiet and we did appreciate that atmosphere on this particular visit, though they do need to tone down the air freshener ~ it was completely overwhelming.

Ultimately, I feel we received great value from this hotel, but we felt the service and room accoutrements did not meet our expectations or needs. It is a mixed bag and it almost feels like, they had really great intentions, but ran out of funds in the service & amenities department along the way. The first rule in customer service - is service. Don't make it hard, give guests what you know they need and want and you'll have happy guests. It's really pretty easy. Upon checking out, my husband did voice a few frustrations and they comped us $50 towards our in room dining, which was very appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canafornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I are not fans of Vegas so when we needed to book a hotel in Vegas we were not thrilled. We were driving from Utah back to California with two kids so we opted for the Vgara since it's non-smoking AND a non-gambling hotel. The hotel is beautiful, staff is very friendly and the rooms are fabulous (very modern with great views). We reserved a mini-suite and it was perfect. I am a fanatic about bathrooms and this one was perfect - very large with a very deep stand alone bathtub (Kohler I think) with a view overlooking the city with the mountains. Great way to relax after a very long day!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Las Vegas and were enthusiastic about the VDARA. The corner suite we had was very spacious and offered all amenities for a long stay – it is the first time ever I used a laundry washer and tumbler in a hotel room. Since the VDARA is part of the MGM group – it was convenient to use the pool area at the adjacent ARIA hotel (due to maintenance closure at the VDARA). Very recommendable hotel for visitors, that do not need to have a casino in house. Little F&B outlets, but again no problem with the enormous choice available in short walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZrhWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
23,615 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 263 in Las Vegas
16,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vdara Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vdara Hotel & Spa

Property: Vdara Hotel & Spa
Address: 2600 W. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#5 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): $172 - $579
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vdara Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do Vegas differently and escape to Vdara Hotel & Spa at ARIA Las Vegas. This breathtaking eco-friendly, non-gaming, smoke-free, all-suite retreat by MGM Resorts International is unlike any other hotel on The Strip. Vdara Hotel & Spa is steps away from ARIA Resort & Casino and connected to Bellagio. Vdara is also a half-mile from the Roller Coaster at New York New York, and 1 mile from the Forum Shops. Amenities in suite kitchens/kitchenettes include refrigerators, stove-tops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils (upon request). The resort fee is added to all room reservations upon check-in. Hotel resort fee includes: high-speed Internet access (in-suite), local & toll-free calls, Fitness Center access, newspaper available daily, two bottles of water per day, and turndown service upon request. Vdara is also dog-friendly (not pet-friendly) and welcomes dogs up to 70lbs, or two dogs with a combined weight of 70lbs. There is an additional $50 per night fee per V Dog reservation along with $75 per stay non-refundable cleaning fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Resorts International, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Vdara Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vdara Hotel Las Vegas
Vdara Hotel And Spa
Vdara Hotel & Spa Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing