We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where crack heads, pimps, drug dealers, and prosititutes call home!!!”
Review of Downtowner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Downtowner Motel
Ranked #154 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
canoga park, ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Where crack heads, pimps, drug dealers, and prosititutes call home!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I got my money back after 2 hours of running around looking at more disgusting rooms then the next. The smell in those rooms is a musty, dank, mold, cigarette smoke, dirty butt smell that permeates from the carpets, beds and walls. I can only imagine what has happened in those room before.The smell in those rooms can give you ashma. Even the receiption area smelled the way rooms did.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Juliagulia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downtownermotellv, Manager at Downtowner Motel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Downtowner Motel is extremely careful to whom we rent our rooms. All the new guests IDs are sent daily to the Police department with whom we have excellent relationship and have been reccomened by the policemen as the safe motel. We have security on duty and many cameras checking the property. Our permanent guest (about 50%) are senior citizens and certainly not likely to engage in the activities mentioned in one of the comments. We are constantly vigilant to make sure that drugs dealers, pimps or prostitutes do not stay with us as we have zero tollerance for such people. Anybody is welcome to check with our guests as well as employees about the measures we take in choosing our guests.
Thank you for allowing me to defend our reputation.
Valeria ,
Downtowner Motel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    33
    26
    16
    21
See reviews for
16
35
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

My daughter and I stayed at this motel New Year's Eve. Their website is totally misleading, our room looked nothing like the one they showed. The carpet was so disgustingly filthy that we couldn't even walk on it without our shoes on. There was huge gobs of bloody mucous on the bathroom wall and the entire place was rundown and filthy. The heat was on full blast the whole time with no way to adjust it and the front desk staff was downright rude!! We ended up leaving after one night even though we had paid for two and they refused to refund anything for the second night, we ate the cost and found a room somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank aleciahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Ok, I live in Las Vegas. I was going to a concert on Fremont Street and didn't want to drink & then have to travel home. I found the Downtowner Hotel. I thought the experience was funny. It is in a perfect location to anything you could need. Fremont Street, restaurants, DTC, stores........The room that I was given wasn't dirty it was just older.......that is to be expected I was in Downtown Las Vegas....."Old Vegas" every hotel down there is old. The TV didn't turn off, we had to unplug it in order to go to sleep. But the staff was very polite and courteous. I wasn't bothered by noise or anything........So besides some small things it was good. I would absolutely stay there again the next time I want to party on Fremont and not go home, lol.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessyann68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

office staff is completly out of line with rude comments, and no knowledge of customer service, a significant lack of management skills. rooms sre unsanitary, found drug paraphanalia, an over all horrible place to stay

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank s_richard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This motel, although quaint and staffed with older Las Vegans, is neat, safe and very clean. The staff is older as I mentioned so getting checked in and out is like visiting your older aunt in Alabama but as for helpfulness and willingness to assist...they do their jobs. The motel has 24 hour security with cameras all over the place. It is located next to El Cortez which in my opinion for the money is not a good price for the money. Some of the staff at The Downtowner has been there over 25 years, like Ms. Essie. I happen to have been there with my children when they were celebrating her 27th year of service. My children were all comfortable with the area and there were several places to eat and have delivered. You just cant beat it for $29.99 a night...two double beds, closet, kitchenette, bathroom, cable, central heat and air. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank srjames98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Oasis at Gold Spike
#130 of 262 in Las Vegas
330 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#90 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,492 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#134 of 262 in Las Vegas
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Americas Best Value Inn Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtowner Motel

Property: Downtowner Motel
Address: 129 N 8th St, Las Vegas, NV 89101-4207
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): $19 - $150
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Motor Inn with stucco exterior; modern guest facilities; centrally located in the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Motel Las Vegas
Downtowner Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing