We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Papillon Grand Canyon Helicopters
Save
Review Highlights
Best way to see Strip at Night

Amazing way to see Vegas from low altitude. Best way to do it is private tour. If you've never... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
BiggieRed
,
Los Angeles, California
Amazing..

I had a night ride and it was absolutely awesome and gorgeous.. the pilot was very professional... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
C202EWcm
Read all 1,377 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Las Vegas
from USD 469.00
More Info
from USD 89.99
More Info
from USD 419.99
More Info
from USD 399.99
More Info
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveller rating
1,045
172
51
47
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,045
172
51
47
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helicopter ride boulder city grand canyon grand celebration safety video hoover dam champagne picnic lake mead great pilot minute flight amazing experience once in a lifetime las vegas airport bucket list west rim great trip limo driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Was going to do a coach tour of the Grand Canyon but so pleased we did the helicopter - it's a must - you just wouldn't get the same view from a coach window. We were picked up promptly from our hotel and the only downside was the length in time picking up people from all the other hotels. It was an hour from being picked up to getting to the airport for what should be a 20-30 min drive and we were shuffled from mini bus to coach. This is why the rating is a 4 - otherwise it would be top marks. Saying this it was all organised well and especially once we got to the airport. You are weighed so they know how to balance the helicopter but it was all done very quick and the only one to see it was the lady behind the desk who was lovely. Daniel our pilot was brilliant. He pointed out all the interesting bits and had explained how to strap ourselves in - he made you feel very comfortable too. He was extremely knowledgable and entertaining with it. It was a quick 30 mins down in the valley as we did the celebration package and Daniel laid our food out and poured our fizz - it was all lovely. The scenery from the sky was amazing and when we got back it was all very smooth to be dropped back and much quicker. Overall a beautiful, breathtaking trip which you must do! Even though the cost is much higher than the coach - this trip is in a different league and Papillion were brilliant.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank JennyBevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Took the helicopter trip from McCaren airport over to the canyon with a champagne picnic. Firstly picked up by limo which was great. Slight disapointment as partner could not sit in front of helicopter due to weight and balance, pilot decides where you sit due to weight. Absolutley fabulous trip helped by the pilots awesome appropriate choice of music during the trip...Hotel california,... Paradise by Coldplay etc. I have done the canyon 3 times before doing light aircraft etc but this really is the only way to do it. It is expensive but a truely amazing experience.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

its not cheap but then you will know the price when you book but the limousine pick up was excellent and very nice both ways and the helicopter flight was stunning - the helicopter will vibrate and jump around a bit in the air when going over the mountains so expect this but we had a great time and a very personable pilot - also lucky enough to get front seats which had a great view

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank CassWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We did the aerial bi-plane tour of the west rim of the grand canyon. And all I can say is 'amazing'.

The company picked us up early and after a 40 min ride from the hotel we arrived at the air field, where we were given coloured stickers to say who was on what tour which made sure no one got confused.

Make sure you bring some id, such as a passport or driving license.

The pilot of the plane was very polite professional and we felt very safe in the plane.
The tour on the plane is automated which isn't a bad thing, it means the pilot can focus on flying rather than talking.

We flew over the hoover dam, lake meade and the west rim of the grand canyon which roughly took just over an hour, it was amazing and you really got to see it in all its glory.
Honeslty it was better than the walk around tour for us as you saw more than you would on the ground.

This company is great and very professional I can't recommend them enough, if you want to see the grand canyon then definitely do the aerial tour.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank lozz88xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

I spoke with another couple who were their the day we flew out - They had paid $50 each for the sky walk - we paid $598 for a flight there n back which we werent too bothered about, neither of us had been to the Grand Canyon before, we had never been in a helicopter and the boat would of been a bonus! The buses which dropped you off at at three points were free to use, therefore we paid
$598 for the flight, pack lunch and the skywalk - I see your flight are advertised at $119 each for the West Rim - therefore we have overpaid by $260 and then a small deduction needs to be made for the pack lunches AND IF YOU STATE THE BUSES SHOULD BE PAID FOR THERE WERE PEOPLE WHO I SPOKE TO WHO HAD DROVE THERE AND PAID NOTHING EXTRA FOR THE BUSES, SO if there are extra deductions for the buses and the lunch - NO WAY is it an additional $260 - the bus jouney for all three points is a maximum of a 30 minute round trip!!

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank 482adelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapillonHelicopters, Manager at Papillon Grand Canyon Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

We sincerely apologize for the cancelation of the boat and helicopter portion of your tour, the temperature was exceedingly hot and it was not safe to operate our helicopters nor safe for our guests to stand at the bottom of the canyon awaiting the boat tours. Our Guest Relations department has been working with you to find resolution on your matter, and the refund provided is commensurate with the boat and helicopter portions of the tour. We understand that you desire the price difference between a bus tour and an airplane tour, but that simply isn't a fair comparison as airplane transportation to the Grand Canyon requires far more operating costs than bus transportation. We delivered the airplane transportation and ground tour per the tour you chose, and have quickly refunded your money to you.

Respectfully,
Papillon Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews