We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream of human flight”

Vegas Indoor Skydiving
Ranked #23 of 296 Fun & Games in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the thrilling sensation of skydiving, without a parachute or airplane, as a 1,000 horsepower motor keeps you soaring through air in America's original indoor skydiving facility. The propeller turns on and the air begins to flow. You’re floating, flying, free falling through the air with wind speeds up to 120 mph. Other Las Vegas attractions will not offer you the chance to defy gravity! If you share our love for the extreme sport of indoor skydiving, you crave adrenaline-inducing Las Vegas activities, or you simply want to try something epic on your Vegas vacation, come test your limits on this exhilarating simulated skydive. Try it more than once, and reach new heights every time!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The dream of human flight can be achieved here in this long-established Indoor Skydiving arena where it paradoxically combines a uniquely down-to-earth experience with the headiness of being lifted up in the air by a wind turbine. The awning and sign on arrival are a throwaway and seem like you are in a convention center anywhere in the world. The parking is convenient and plentiful. The entryway is serviceable and functional. It belies the excitement to await you inside. The place has a sense that it has been here a long time, and is confident in itself such that it needs no renovation or sprucing up. It is a little worse for wear, but believe me, that is part of the charm. It has been here since 1982. You feel like you are going to an old club where you are welcome just the way you are. There are t-shirts and caps with the company's logo--a human in a flight suit up in the air--in the lobby. None of these is especially stylish, but a nice memento of your time here, if you want one that is material. Your indelible memories, and the photo/video of your flight will be another, more vivid reminder of your time here.

Be sure to make reservations and/or pay in advance early, particularly during holidays, as they book up fast. The day we went it was sold out. (Good thing we already had paid for our slot!) It costs $75 per person, I believe, for the standard experience, of about 2-3 minutes flying time. (Keep in mind that if one of your number chickens out, or is unable to participate for any reason, the rest of the group can divvy up his or her time). But you can pay more to get more time in the tunnel, and I recommend this! We went for 15 minutes for 3 persons, which was about 5 minutes each. It cost us a total of about $225.00 (with our Nevada ID discount). Yes, it's expensive, so it's not an everyday kind of thing, but for a special occasion, it is so worth it. Terrific for anniversary parties, birthdays, and other celebrations. AGAIN, DON'T FORGET TO ASK FOR THE LOCALS DISCOUNT IF YOU HAVE A NEVADA ID!

After getting on the scale--yikes!--and verifying that you are not too fat to fly (anything over 180 for women of average height, and over 220 for men of average height, with greater weight allowed for exceptionally tall women and men; kids have to be a minimum of 40 lbs), and checking in, you are ready to go to class! (If you are early, you can watch flights taking place on the video monitor, or "live" upstairs on the observation deck). Leave sufficient time in case they get a little behind schedule (as appeared to be the case when we came). You can leave your belongings in a small locker. Your class will consist of a dynamic, exceptionally fit human who will be your instructor, discussing hand signs, body positions, safety rules, and showing you a short video on how it all goes down in the tunnel. You will sign a waiver that will make you feel scared. But you should not be scared. Little kids do this!

Don't do this if you have suffered a shoulder injury at any time in your life, are suffering from a back or neck injury, or are delicate in health, or are pregnant.

You will then get outfitted with multi-colored flight suit (some with overfoot straps, others with velcro snaps), helmet, gloves, earplugs, and safety goggles. You will look ridiculous and love it. Feel free to take photos. If you have a friend who is coming along, but is not going to fly, he or she can accompany you through the lecture and the suiting-up, but just not go into the wind turbine room. Then, you will line up and go into the wind tunnel for your lesson/experience. You will likely have to wait for another group to go ahead of you, as no more than 5 people at a time can go into the turbine. But you can watch, and laugh at other people's mistakes. When it is your turn, your instructor will help you get up in the air, and have you do basic stuff. The next time you will "jump" into the air. If you are pretty adept, he might even let you fly alone and do tricks. There will be photos taken of you, as well as video, that you can purchase later.

When you finish, you will be exhilarated and tired, and probably quite sweaty. You then get our of your flight clothes and get ready to go. You can tip your instructor, if you like, either in person, or using the comment box on the first floor. The staff is not that good about letting you know how to get your photos/videos, barely letting us know that they would be soon available on the website listed under our INSTRUCTOR'S name, and date and time of class. Be sure to commit to memory your Instructor's name if you want to find your photos/videos! Ours was named Sunny? He was great. Encouraging and clear. There is not much ceremony to leave, but you will probably have a grin on your face. Good luck!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tmary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegasIndoorSkydiving, Guest Relations Manager at Vegas Indoor Skydiving, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you so much for the insightful review! Any and all feedback is always appreciated. We were actually the very first indoor skydiving facility open in the United States, so we pride ourselves in keeping a relaxed, and "classic" kind of environment.

After you get done flying, we have a photo booth downstairs where you are able to see your pictures and videos; We're sorry to hear this wasn't expressed to you properly.

Nonetheless, We hope to have you back again in the future! Being locals, there are discounted repeat flights available along with a " Frequent Flyer Club" where you can learn much more than just the basics of Indoor Skydiving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sky diving"
in 23 reviews
"hand signals"
in 16 reviews
"flight instructor"
in 13 reviews
"great fun"
in 46 reviews
"great instructor"
in 17 reviews
"his enthusiasm"
in 8 reviews
"short video"
in 9 reviews
"fun experience"
in 23 reviews
"safety video"
in 8 reviews
"adrenaline rush"
in 13 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 26 reviews
"bucket list"
in 17 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 15 reviews
"take photos"
in 8 reviews
"blast"
in 111 reviews
"levi"
in 31 reviews
"tunnel"
in 42 reviews
Filter

79 - 83 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Really great experience! Did this with a couple of friends. This was the first time I went indoor sky diving. Our instructor Tony was great. He was really good with getting beginners like me started. We did the beginner package. I would definitely come here again and try this again. Next time we will do a longer flight. Can’t wait to go back!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegasIndoorSkydiving, Guest Relations Manager at Vegas Indoor Skydiving, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for the review. We're happy to hear you had a good first experience indoor skydiving! Tony is one our most experienced instructors and makes it easy to learn the basics.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We were visiting Vegas on spring break so this was a perfect activity for my family of four (kids aged 14 and 17). They go over about 15 minutes of safety instruction (you watch a video) and then you go to a holding area where you watch the group in front of you "fly" and then it's your turn.

Tips:
1) You can't wear anything into the "flying room" but they give you a locker where you can put all your valuables. You leave the key with the front desk person. Obviously you can't take your phone/camera either. I did ask one of the non-flyers to take a few pictures of my family and she texted them to me after the session. You can also purchase pictures and videos from the Skydiving place but they are pricey.
2) Our instructor (Sonny) was very enthusiastic and helpful. We paid for the 5 minutes of flying (which seems like much longer than 5 minutes, btw) and that meant we all got 5 chances to "fly" for about a minute each. He tried to teach us to turn, which was really hard but most of the time we were just flying in the middle (about 5 to 6 feet off the ground).
3) At the end, Sonny spun us in a circle really fast. This made two in our group feel a little sick. If you know this happens to you, I would tell the staff up front that you don't want to be spun.

Overall this was a fun activity. The entire experience takes about an hour. If you love it, you can fly a second time for just $25 (you get to skip the safety video so it's a little faster). 5 minutes was enough for all of us but several people in the earlier group took advantage of the deal.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegasIndoorSkydiving, Guest Relations Manager at Vegas Indoor Skydiving, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Heather,

Thank you for the awesome review! I'd just like to add one "Bonus" tip:
The repeat rate is honored for 6 months after your initial flight!

We hope you'll come visit us again on your next Vegas vacation. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Awesome. Friendly and professional and made the visit and the experience so much fun. Kellem (instructor) was ace. Very patient with mum and dad Thanks Kellem
Would definitely go back

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank andrewhP5672NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegasIndoorSkydiving, Guest Relations Manager at Vegas Indoor Skydiving, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

First time flying and it was sooooo fun!!! The staff are all super friendly and extremely helpful. What a cool place and best birthday present ever huge thumbs up!!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegasIndoorSkydiving, Guest Relations Manager at Vegas Indoor Skydiving, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi Michael,

Thank you for the review and Happy Belated Birthday! We're honored to be a part of your Birthday activities.

We hope to see you again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vegas Indoor Skydiving also viewed

 

Been to Vegas Indoor Skydiving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing