We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Right”
other travellers have booked this property
la petite maison
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
la petite maison
Enter a caption for your photo la petite maison
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
la petite maison
Enter a caption for your photo
la petite maison
Bedroom one with double bed
Our stone gite
Bedroom two with single bed  and room for put up bed
Bathroom with shower,wc,and basin
Enter a caption for your photo
Bedroom Two with putup bed
lounge and kitchen
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chenerailles, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fiona a
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just Right”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After an exhausting day getting lost because of a dysfunctional satnav got to our gite at 10 pm. Eric and Gill greeted us with offers of beer and wine, food if we were hungry and were extremely warm and friendly. I ended up being given a bottle of wine to 'cheer me up' after a truly horrendous travel experience. The cottage has been lovingly renovated and is spotless. There are books and a cute little garden with a barbecue and table/chairs. It is not overly elaborate, which suits us, but has every thing you need including a power shower which works like a traffic light - optimum temperature is green, but avoid red ( too hot) and a small range cooker and well equipped kitchen. There is a lovely lake and woodland walk nearby, which was perfect for the dogs. Eric and Gill were lovely to us and the dogs, but were not obtrusive. They are truly lovely people and I wish them well. My husband loved the gite too and wants to return at some point!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duls A
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic, clean, dog friendly.”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Rural rustic France. Our hosts were great nothing too much trouble. So dog friendly. Clean tranquil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livimo
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is one of the cleanest holiday homes we've experienced, and we've been holidaying like this for years. The house is small and quirky and doesn't take a lot of looking after. The local neighbours in the hamlet are very friendly, as are the chickens. Our hosts, Eric and Jill couldn't have been more helpful. We were there to look for a property to buy as a permanent residence (successful), and the tips we received from Eric and Jill were invaluable. You do need a car, and watch your head on the beams. We had a brilliant time and will be keeping in touch with hosts to repay some of their kindness when we move to France. Recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakeyDoke...
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we hoped for.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a great little Gite . If you want a taste of rural France in a beautiful little hamlet this is the place for you. Rustic it may be but with every comfort and a fab little garden to sip your wine whilst the steak cooks on the BBQ and the local farmers chickens strut down the lane as the French would say 'tout simplement parfait!'
Two comfy bedrooms and a straight forward bathroom with a superb shower upstairs and a well equipped Kitchen come living room downstairs, makes real use of this typical small farmers house. Even better the dog gate by the front door made sure our Jack Russell had a wonderful holiday too. Many thanks to Eric and Gill.

Kim and Susan

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen A
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Little hide away”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a absolute little treasure of a gite to stay in to get away from the hustle and bustle of life!! So peaceful and tranquil. The owners are very welcoming and extremely accommodating ensuring that you have everything you need for your holiday, including the essentials needed on arrival!

Would highly recommend this gite to everyone, certainly will be going back in the future.

Thank you Eric and Gill!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet of the area.
Liked least: the bad weather at the end of the holiday.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing