We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated and comfortable b&b!”
Review of Das Gasthaus

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holdrege
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Das Gasthaus
Ranked #1 of 1 Holdrege B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2015

A very charming historical type home. Our family of 5 stayed here for 2 night while visiting family. The boys stayed in the room with twin beds and my husband and 4 year old daughter stayed in the room next door with a king. They had an air mattress for our little one. The breakfasts both mornings were delicious and varied. Muffins, eggs with ham and cheese, homemade donuts, juices, coffee, pancakes, sausage, fresh fruit. And our bed was awesomely comfortable!

Stayed: July 2015
Thank 3K1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

First time staying with Jan and Allen at Das Gasthaus. We've been to Holdrege on numerous family trips before, but this time events had more people in town than the house could hold. Instead of the norm- we chose this B&B, Das Gasthaus.

This is a very nice older home that has been restored/renovated from its start as a home- conversion to a funeral home- and back to a wonderful Prairie Victorian. Good clean rooms, each with a theme that the owners chose (the B&B's web page lists each room by its German name) . The Wicker Room is the only room with an in-room private bath. The house is quiet, with plenty of on-street parking. Not far from town, there are some good restaurants (check out the Taste of Texas BBQ) and your regular selection of chain/fast food as well.

The accommodations are pleasant. The morning's breakfast is very tasty. And the overall hospitality is very generous. You will get a very generous spread (local meats!!!) fit for a farmer, with a touch of class. There is wireless in the house, so you can take advantage of the main parlor area to work and relax or do so from the privacy of your room. You will not get the fine bedding/lines of what ever your favorite luxury brand hotel offers, but you do get a very nice, comfortable night's sleep. Toiletries are available, but if your prefer- bring your own.

Please take the time to talk with Jan and Allen to learn the history of the home. Its fascinating. To see a home like this restored to a former glory is very nice. And they the have pictures showing the sweat and sawdust to take you through their journey.

If B&Bs are to your likings, Das Gasthaus is a great place. If you want the pampering of a spa- where every whim is attended to....keep driving (remember...you are in Holdrege!). If you want a nice place to unwind from the road, be treated fairly and nicely....and have a place that is not your standard rectangular room....please consider Das Gasthaus. This fine establishment is a good solid value and a nice break from the standard motel / hotel.

We'll certainly return and stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for the Wicker Room (Korb und Flügel Zimmer) if you want the privacy of an in-room bath. If ther...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Potomactwostep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a very clean B&B and and very accommodating hosts. In central Nebraska this is a great place to stay. Our room was a bit small and we had a shared bath but the overall experience was great and we would definitely return. Sitting on the front porch, smelling the flowers and watching small town America was a special experience. Be sure to visit the Phelps County Historical Museum when you visit Holdrege.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was our first time in a bed and breakfast, and we were 100 % pleased with the hospitality, cleanliness, friendliness and food. Jan is a wonderful cook who uses local products, including her own applesauce made from the apples on her tree. They accomodate people's schedules, too. We arrived by Amtrak in the middle of the night, and they were waiting for us. Her gardens are lovely and the front porch with its wicker furniture is just heaven.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wicker room and had our own bathroom. Some of the other rooms share a bathroom. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linus and Lana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is my first time staying at a bed and breakfast, I would highly recomand, the host and hostest were wonderful, the house was charming.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Das Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Gasthaus

Address: 621 East Ave, Holdrege, NE 68949-2314
Region: United States > Nebraska > Holdrege
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Holdrege
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing