We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
103
31
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
31
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews midlands meander great getaway thatched rondavel delicious meal gracious hosts stunning views stayed longer thank you so much guest house is fantastic stay hospitality soul pippa weekend establishment company misty
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

After the melting heatwave in Gauteng, the cool shady location of Pleasant Places Guesthouse was a welcome relief. The mist and drizzle added to the cozy atmosphere, and emphasized the lush green gardens. The rooms were tastefully decorated with all amenities, a very cosy bed, and stunning views over the valley. Dinners each night were delicious, and a perfect end to each relaxing day after meandering in the Midlands. Phillip and Pippa were the perfect amiable hosts, seeing to all our needs.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P4695IWjohnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PleasantPlaces, Owner at Pleasant Places Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

It was indeed a pleasure to host you John and we enjoyed your visit very much. Thank You for the great review. We hope to see you on your next Midlands adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

The owners have gone to great lengths to provide luxurious comfort in a rural setting. The rooms are well-presented, tastefully furnished, and spotless. We ordered the optional dinner, which turned out to be a culinary experience par excellence. Breakfast was just as good, with home-brewed coffee and a stunning view down to the river. Our hosts were welcoming and attentive, without being intrusive. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay that I would happily repeat.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alantW8402BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PleasantPlaces, Owner at Pleasant Places Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank You for the great review. We will look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We had such a lovely time! The rooms are so nice and beautifully decorated and the view is breathtaking. Phil and his wife are very welcoming, served great breakfast and gave us great recommendations on what to do in the area. We will definitely go again!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juditho98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PleasantPlaces, Owner at Pleasant Places Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank You for a fabuous review. It was a pleasure to host you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

My only tip is that they ask how I like my eggs and not only serve them scrambled.
A cappuccino machine would be great in future, but I also enjoyed the filter coffee.
Awesome service, beautiful venue!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ntokozor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PleasantPlaces, Owner at Pleasant Places Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank You for your review, we appreciate the suggestion. Hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

If rolling green hills and views for days is your cup of tea then Pleasant Places guesthouse will be a delight. I loved the cosy, comfortable thatched rondavel with underfoot heat (it was cold and misty) and the large spacious room. The garden is beautiful and Pippa and Phililp were the perfect gracious hosts. I was travelling solo for a triathlon and Pippa prepared a delicious meal for supper and they were so accommodating regarding a late checkout. In fact, I loved it so much I stayed another night - arrived a stranger and left a friend. Relaxing, stylish and soothing to the soul, definitely worth another visit!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Myjunglehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PleasantPlaces, Owner at Pleasant Places Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank You for the delightful review, we really enjoyed your visit and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews