We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
37
34
10
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
34
10
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai area night stay daddy's deal read the reviews next morning midlands area great value for money home away from home electric blankets thoroughly enjoyed our stay vic guesthouse nature reality venues gem hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2015

It's always a pleasure staying at Penny Lane. The bed are comfortable, the breakfast is excellent and the host is fantastic. We have had the pleasure of staying with them on 3 occasions and it's always been great.

Room tip: We enjoy the rooms closest to the beautiful guest lounges.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Vera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We enjoyed our overnight stay on route to the South coast. Rooms had crisp clean linen, towels in the bathroom, all nice and neat. Parking is under old shade netting, not very good but seeing that it was only for 1 night, it did not bother us. No tv available, could be a problem if you stayed here longer than 1 night with kids and it rains. Breakfast was delicious with homemade scones, overall a good experience and it was pleasant for a short stay.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 313jennyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Overall, the guest house is neat and has all the necessary amenities within the room. The service staff were thorough and polite.
Likes:
Room was neat
Area was tranquil
Swimming pool and tennis court available
Location close to public family spots
Dislikes:
Room had leak during heavy rain
Wall plugs were loose
Tennis court access overgrown with vegetation
Very little for kids to do
Road to guest house muddy and narrow
Parking area water logged during heavy rain
No dinner available on site

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Anesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Penny Lane was a lovely guest house with a friendly atmosphere and divine breakfasts. The service was great and the rooms were well kept with all you needed in them. Vic was a wonderful host who gave us valuable insight into places to see and eat. A lovely stay all in all.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Davina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We enjoyed a one night stay. The room was neat, well furnished and very comfortable and fairly clean. We were surprised to find that there was no TV in our room, but did not miss it at all. There is a TV room but we did not use it. We enjoyed walking around the grounds admiring the huge trees and view. Would have been awesome if there were a few animals to highlight the country theme, e.g. chickens, sheep or horses. The cat gave us a friendly welcome and the owner personally booked us in and was helpful and friendly. The property was rugged but safe with sheltered parking. It is a peaceful, relaxing place to stay. Lunch and Dinner are not served at Penny Lane, so we appreciated our hosts suggestion to visit Gosh Restaurant, just a few kilos away. What an awesome experience!! Amazing food, good company and beautiful grounds! The English breakfast served the following morning at Penny Lane was delightful. A special treat was the homemade jam and scones! We will definitely be back!

Room tip: All the rooms were similar, just the bed sizes varied - we were very comfortable in room 6.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews