We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only thing old was the sign and manager”
Review of Westwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwood Motel
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 30 June 2011

surprised by refurb of motel. flat screens, directv, new bath,& kitchenette.
@ half the price of much older chain motels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank thomashwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

As others have pointed out, the owner has issues. I wander why he is unfriendly and rude. Pity that he is that way because if he wasn't this place would definitely be more memorable.

Cleanliness is ok. Room is dated. Bathroom only has natural ventilation.

For the price ($100) and the offering (and service), I would recommend other places first. Only go here if it's the absolute last resort

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller-bmedai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I stayed there with my Mom and my sister. The room was OK, even though there were absolutely no amenities, and you can hear all your neighbors. The biggest problem was the owner, who was so extremely rude to us for no apparent reason. For example, he told us up front that we have to clean our room including bathroom and toilet. When we were about to leave to look for another motel, he said that we do not have to do that. We eventually stayed because it was very late at night, and we were very tired, but I would never ever stay in that place again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anatoliy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We stayed a couple of nights while visiting Yellowstone National Park in a roomy two-queen bed room with full kitchen. I had originally booked for a two queen bed room ($90) and called back to ask for a kitchen suite ($150). The kitchen suite (Room 1) turned out to be a room of its own with a single bed and a door connected it to the two queen bed room (Room 2).

As others have said, the room was spacious and clean. There was a TV with cable. There was no Internet access and I didn't bother checking with the owner to confirm.

Speaking of the owner, I can see why someone complained about the manner of the owner. If you're expecting the all-smiles warm friendly type staff, then this isn't the place for you. He is a little gruff and all business, but so what? This is a no-frills motel, but that was OK by me. When I called back a few days after making my reseveration, he was easy to work with. "I already made a reservation but want to change it. Do you have a room with a kitchen?" He said "Yes." I said, "What is the rate?" He said, "$150." I said, "Great, please change my reservation to the room with the kitchen." Very to-the-point no-frills conversation :).

The one thing I want to note... if you are tall (6' 5" or taller), then you may want to consider going somewhere else. The ceiling is very low. I am 6' 1" and I could touch the ceiling without fully extending my arm.

While I was pleased with the stay, next time, I would consider looking elsewhere for a place with Internet access. Other than for that, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socrates63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

We have been staying at the Westwood Motel since it was built in the mid 1900's. It is rustic but well kept and several of the housekeeping cabins have been recently remodeled. It has changed owners several times over the years. The present owner is meticulous with his housekeeping and the surrounding grounds. You won't find cleaner accommodations anywhere. We take our whole family on a 4 night stay every year which means renting 5 cabins and they all love staying there. It's an easy walk of two blocks to the main part of town which is very convenient. The owner is very friendly and takes great pride in keeping every thing clean and inviting.' There is also an open area where a boat or ATV can be parked.
W. R. Hinds, Mesquite, NV

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NvBINGO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 km away
Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone Lodge
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
290 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.7 km away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hadley's Motel
Hadley's Motel
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
69 reviews
0.5 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.6 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Motel

Address: 238 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $53 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westwood Motel, just 4 blocks from the West Entrance to Yellowstone National Park. We are a Family owned and operated 16 unit motel. We offer economically priced accommodations with 2 Queen Beds as well as some Kitchenette rooms and Suite's with 3 Queen beds. Room amenities include satellite, flat screen TV's, small coffee makers, wifi, and fans. No AC. Our kitchenette rooms are fully equipped and stocked with utensils. We are in walking distance to numerous Restaurants and Shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing