We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Quiet”
Review of Lupine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lupine Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I found this to be one of the true bargains of the trip. You could spend a lot in Red Lodge as it has become quite trendy in the past decade however this is one of those well run quiet and clean places that has benefited from good management.

Room Tip: Downstairs in the front was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bradford7050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

the rooms were not that clean, it was extremely cheap compared to other rooms available in town but the toilet would not stop running and the noise kept us up most the night. the hot tub was cold and the pool was warm and green....

Room Tip: ask for a clean room with a working toilet or stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I booked a room at the Lupine Inn through Expedia in 2016 for September 2017. When I called to check on the reservation (July 11, 2017) the front desk agent explained that there was a new owner and that I would need to ask Expedia for a refund of my room fee and make a new payment to the current owner. There seemed to be no change in room rate. The hotel had not notified me of the change. I called Expedia and they had no record of the ownership change. The story seemed unprofessional to me, because I'd already paid for the room. What if I hadn't checked on the reservation? I wouldn't have been able to get my original payment back - it would be too late to cancel! Expedia couldn't find any other rooms in Red Lodge for that date. I decided to cancel the reservation at the Lupine Inn because I just didn't have a good feeling about the discussion with the hotel agent. I was able to add another night to my reservation at Chico Hot Springs - a place we love! (The two added hours of driving time will be well worth it!) I know from experience that making lodging reservations in and around Yellowstone National Park a year in advance is really important. I also recommend checking on reservations ahead of time, so that you aren't surprised when checking in to your hotel!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Patty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Usually, I'm just fine with an average hotel, especially if it has decent rates and/ or a pool. This was the worst hotel I've stayed in in ten years. First of all the "pool" is actually an oversized tub that was too cold for my children to swim in--and they will swim in almost anything. The water in the pool was low and didn't reach the filters, so not sure how clean it was. The hot tub's water level was also low and uninviting. Had the pool actually been usable, I might have been satisfied with this hotel despite other smaller issues. As it was, I feel like it was false advertising to claim there was a pool, when it was actually unusable.

Other issues included: My confirmation email said check-in was at 1pm. When we showed up at 2:45 there was a sign at the desk saying check-in wouldn't be until 3pm and that someone would be attending the desk at 2:15. He arrived at 3.

Balcony rooms are only the rooms with one King sized bed. I was hoping to have a balcony so my hubby and I could chat after the children went to bed.

The toilet in the bathroom had a leak so it continued to run unless you jiggled the handle. The grout and shower curtain were dirty. The coffee pot spewed most of the water out onto the counter. The old bright carpets in the hall were fun, but then please update the wall color away from institutional yellow. It all just looked run-down. The rate I paid was about twice what I would have expected for this quality of hotel.

On the plus side, umm, we had internet, we slept well, waffles were good and we were happy to get an early start out of there in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLissG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I should've known on a Friday night when only 3 vehicles were in the parking lot. We stayed in room 109 with a nasty smelling shower curtain, and leaky faucet. I would compare this to a run down Motel 6.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
203 reviews
1 km away
Chateau Rouge
Chateau Rouge
#6 of 10 in Red Lodge
73 reviews
0.9 km away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
178 reviews
0.1 km away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
347 reviews
0.1 km away
Yodeler Motel
Yodeler Motel
#3 of 10 in Red Lodge
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupine Inn

Address: 702 S Hauser Ave, PO Box 30, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9295
Region: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range: $90 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lupine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lupine Inn in Red Lodge Montana does not allow pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lupine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lupine Hotel Red Lodge
Lupine Motel Red Lodge
Best Western Red Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing