We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious breakfast in a lovely house that is right on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goldsmith's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Missoula B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast in a lovely house that is right on the river”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My wife and I stopped here after 10 days camping and working on the east side of the Rocky Mountains. We were exhausted and needed to recharge. Goldsmith's was perfect. The rooms were immaculately clean and very comfortable. The proprietor could not have been more friendly and welcoming. And the breakfast was divine. We left fully recharged after a couple of nights there. We loved Missoula and when we go back, we are sure to stay here again. It is conveniently located right on the river and adjacent to the bike paths that you can take throughout the city. You can even rent a bike next door at Big Sky Bikes! I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when we go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    28
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
75
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Easy access to everything and in a charming old house. Hostess Meg makes you feel right at home with every attention to you comfort. Her breakfast is as beautiful as it is delicious! Nestled in neighborhood that includes a neat bicycle shop and a foot bridge to the University. Right on the Clark Fork River, you sleep to the sounds of the water.

Room Tip: Room #1 is best because of ground floor with private deck overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesrkurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Without a doubt, the biggest advantage of staying at Goldsmith's is its location. Situated directly on the banks of the Clark Fork River, which was raging while we were there due to recent rain and snow melt, the location is both scenic and close to everything. It was most enjoyable to sit on the porch of the B&B in the afternoon with one of the fine Montana craft brews in hand, watching the river flow by complete with rafters and tubers. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the river so we could enjoy the same view in the cool of the morning with coffee in hand. The site is also a short walk to the U. of MT campus and the downtown area. On other fronts, the rooms were clean and comfortable, each with its own TV and A/C unit. We did hear one complaint that the large room at the top level of the house was hard to cool down on the warm afternoons, even with the air on. Other small complaints: a nice upscale B&B ought to have indivdually wrapped soaps and shampoo bottles rather than a plastic dispenser strapped to the shower wall, such as found in the local excercise clubs. My better half was also somewhat distressed by the lack of curtains on the bathroom window, even though it was in an area difficult to see in. These were small complaints, however, and the overall experience was very enjoyable.....good breakfast, friendly staff, and then there's that location thing!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trickydnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I would recommend this to all - clean, charming, and the breakfasts are tops.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Clean and wonderful. We had a somewhat smaller room for 2 adults and a child and the staff set up an airbed for our daughter which worked out perfectly. Our stay was during a very hot time in Missoula but the window A/C worked like a charm. If the windows are open, expect to hear the trains but otherwise the B&B is very quiet (except for our daughter- sorry!). Location is fantastic especially if you want to get the the University. Can't think of a better place to stay for Football games which is why we have booked for Homecoming. Food was great and service was well above average. Just worked out well for us and we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mziglar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.2 km away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Best Western Plus Grant Creek Inn
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 39 in Missoula
274 reviews
4.5 km away
Gibson Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsmith's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsmith's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Goldsmith's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 809 E. Front Street, Missoula, MT 59802-4704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Missoula
Price range (per night): $143 - $254
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Goldsmith's Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldsmith's Bed & Breakfast is Missoula's closest lodging to the University of Montana. Located along the banks of the Clark Fork River it is within walking distance of unique shops, restaurants and entertainment venues in downtown Missoula. The river trail, right outside our front door, also leads to an abundance of biking and hiking trails throughout Missoula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Goldsmith's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldsmith`s Hotel Missoula
Goldsmith`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing