We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful scenery

The views are beautiful! Sometimes you will see deer or big horn sheep. The guides are very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kramlic
,
Helena, Montana
Beautiful Boat Ride

What a great way to see the breathtaking views! We had a great time and the captain of the boat... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
mtd10883
,
Stamford, Connecticut
Read all 527 reviews
  
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
410
86
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
86
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mann gulch boat ride bald eagles lewis and clark missouri river beautiful scenery rock formations hour trip picnic area two hours great trip our tour guide both sides saw lots of wildlife open boat human history recommend this trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The views are beautiful! Sometimes you will see deer or big horn sheep. The guides are very informative and fun.

Thank kramlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great way to see the breathtaking views! We had a great time and the captain of the boat gave a fun and informative explanation of the area. I highly recommend this tour!

Thank mtd10883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

As they traveled on their epic journey across the Western Plains in 1805, Lewis & Clark and their Corps of Discovery happened upon what they described as the Gates Of the Rocky Mountains, which today is known as the Gates of the Mountains Wilderness. Lewis wrote: "This evening we entered much the most remarkable clifts that we have yet seen. These clifts rise from the waters edge on either side perpendicularly to the height of 1,200 feet. The river appears to have forced its way through this immense body of solid rock for the distance of 5 3/4 miles. I called it the Gates of the Rocky Mountains." Created by an act of Congress in 1964, the 28,562-acre wilderness is managed by Helena National Forest. Motorized or mechanized vehicles, including bicycles, are not permitted. Camping and fishing are allowed with proper permit but no roads or buildings are constructed and there is no logging or mining, in compliance with the 1964 Wilderness Act. It's just beautiful scenery, some of the finest landscapes this side of Glacier Lake National Park. The prominent gray cliffs along the Missouri River in the Gates of the Mountains are formed by Madison limestone.

Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

I found the Gates of Mountains Boat Tour online, while searching for a fun, scenic, and somewhat educational activity for our family of 4 to do in Montana. We were leaving the east side of Glacier NP and heading toward Salt Lake City - but taking 2 days and 2 nights to get there, on purpose. The location is easy to find, off of Interstate 15, there are signs. I had read in a review that there were picnic tables at the marina, so we stopped and bought sandwiches and fruit to eat before our 2 pm tour. We were happy to find not only picnic tables, but a very nice picnic pavilion with tables and visual displays about the history, geology, wildlife, etc. of the Gates of the Mountains Wilderness Area. It was a hot day, but the pavilion provided a nice cool place to eat, and the displays were all informative. It was a popular tour day, which required 2 boats to go out for the 2 pm tour, one had a roof and bathroom, the other was open air and would stop once during the trip for passengers to utilize a picnic area bathroom. We chose to ride on the larger boat with a roof, which we regretted. It was a very hot day, and we thought the cover would keep us cooler, but instead the air barely moved inside the boat, even with all of the windows open. It was much more comfortable in the back, open area of the boat. The terrain along the Missouri River is fascinating, huge walls of limestone jutting up out of the ground. Our tour guide provided us with a lot of information along the route, pointing out various land forms, trees, flowers, birds, and animals (big horn sheep). The boat turns around at the mouth of the canyon, which is where Meriwether Lewis described the "Gates of the Mountains" and we could clearly see exactly what he saw. This is a very nice river tour, and well worth the time. If you are going to be in the area, or driving through the area, I would recommend including this, however I'm not sure I would recommend going out of your way for it.

Thank Dina0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Gates of the Mountain Boat Ride
I didn't realize that there was a specific point on
the river that identified what Lewis wrote.
"these clifts rise from the waters edge on either side
perpendicularly to the height of 1200 feet." ...

... "I called it the gates of the rocky mountains"
Captain Lewis wrote on July 19, 1805
See my enclosed picture of Sat 18th Aug 2018.
Nearby is the Mann Gulch 1949 forest fire site, 12 smokejumpers died.
Really glad I finally did the boat tour. This place is the tour's end and return home.
Up river in 1979, I worked at the Coulter Campground site.
Go to YouTube.com for beautiful aerial videos by others.
Mike V. age 74 Helena,MT

Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Two friends and I stopped for this boat tour on our way to Yellowstone. What a treat! It was getting to the end of their season so everyone was a litle laid back and very friendly. The small snack bar served up a tasty lunch and the bags of popcorn we took on the boat were the perfect snack. The boat ride itself, on the beautiful Missouri River, was great. The commentary was very informative, giving us the history of the river and the area. Of course, we had a beautiful fall day so that helped. We all would highly recommned this to anyone if you're in the area.

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Brought out of state relatives here to show it off. Filthy bathrooms. Stink. Dirt. Not cleaned in weeks. Should be cleaned daily at a minimum. Guest used bathroom on boat to change. Said it was like the worse outhouse ever. Sat in back could not hear tour guide. He needs to speak up or fix the boat engine.

Thank VinoRossoNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

This is a very reasonably priced boat ride with excellent commentary. If you are fortunate enough to spot bald eagles, osprey, elk and other wildlife along the way,it is a bonus. We were pleased to be on the Sacagawea, where all seats are open air. The other boat is enclosed with many fewer seats outside. That said, it is the luck of the draw as to which boat you go out on, largely driven by weather and numbers of people on your tour. Recommend if you are visiting Helena and find yourself with a half day on your hands.

Thank nylizva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Even though it was a cool, gray day, Brian, the boat captain was an excellent tour guide. He was knowledgeable, funny and a great storyteller. Well worth the time and money!

1  Thank Uccelli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Best seen by boat. I had no intention of touring the gates by boat. I simply wanted to see them from shore. However ia boater had to tell me what and where to look. It was not obvious. There is a small marina and limited services.

Thank Joell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews