We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
401
49
26
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
401
49
26
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blackfoot river chuckwagon dinner cattle drive horseback riding fly fishing kids camp ghost town chuck wagon master chef clay shooting aerial adventure white water rafting meal plan dining pavilion gourmet food spa treatments float trip
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The Resort at Paws up is probably the best place I have been to. They resort has all of the amenities any one could want. The activities list is huge. The view and the accommodations are amazing!! I have not received customer service or hospitality on the level that I receive here. Every single person is happy and they go out of their way to make sure you are too. I wish I could name all the people, but suffice it to say every single employee was amazing!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but if you go in the summer, you definitely want a tent and to be clamping!!!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Rich,

Thank you for this fantastic review! We are always pleased when we see that our guests had an amazing experience and that we could play a role in helping people enjoy Montana and the region we proudly call home. Reviews and experiences like yours are why we do what we do...thank you and I hope we see you again soon!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I booked this trip as a belated birthday gift/celebration for my husband’s 50th. I can’t say enough good thing things about the resort, people, event, food, and Montana in general.

From Lori, who picked us up at the airport, Drew who gave us apples & carrots to feed the horses, Morgan & Matthew who helped with the reservation and booking all the fun activities, all of the chefs, sous chef’s and wait staff making sure we were well fed and wanted for nothing. The fun activities. The great food.

Our cabin was A-MAZING! Beautiful, clean and not a bad view from any window. Our bed was comfortable - I slept better than I do in my own bed. Matthew had helped me pre arrange to have a red velvet birthday cake in the cabin upon our arrival (my husbands favorite).

We met so many other nice couples while we were there. We are already talking about our next visit and when that will be. All I know is it won’t be soon enough.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lisaQ1477NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for staying with us and for this wonderful review. I am so happy that you found our accommodations to be what you had hoped and more, but even more important to us is that you found our kind and thoughtful team! We love hosting people and showing a little of what Montana is all about. We can't wait to provide an even better experience next time!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

You have to go here, seriously if you are looking at TripAdvisor for reviews of the resort don't even waste your time and just book it.

This was our second time in 6 months to Paws up because we loved it so much, yes it's very very expensive but it's well worth it. The food is amazing, Chef Ben does a superb job with his kitchen and menu and be sure to come hungry.

The actual cabins are awesome with true attention to detail and excellent staff. The activities are all amazing. In the winter we did snowmobiling, dog sledding, shooting and the sleigh ride and we had an awesome time. We for sure will be back as this is the hotel we talk about at least once a month!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jcash1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear JCash,

Thank you for staying with us and your review! Clearly you found the full Paws Up Experience while you were here and fell in love with what made so many of our staff make this our home; we love Montana and sharing it with people from all over the world.

We look forward to your return stay, and while we may not be able to beat a six star experience, we certainly will try!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

The only thing missing from our time at Paws Up was extra hours in the day. My sisters and I attended the Cowgirl Roundup and were so happily engaged by the array of activity we regretted not having more time to enjoy the decadent accommodations. The woodland cabins provide sweeping verandah views, oversized seating arranged around stately stone fireplaces, private patio hot tubs and luxurious bedding that we were forced to neglect in order to indulge in personally tailored adventure, beautifully prepared and plentiful meal options and welcoming camaraderie. The resort itself is picturesque Montana and boast a very able and amiable staff who, if we had found a lack for some comfort, were happy to resolve it. Activities were expertly hosted with high quality facilities and well cared for animals. It was truly a decadent and free spirited step out of our normal lives. We left Paws Up determined to return with our extended family in the future, excited to share with them its high quality rustic beauty.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Elise B,

Please accept our sincerest of apologies for keeping you incredibly busy and influencing you to stay so busy while exploring our property and experiencing our Cowgirl Roundup event. Our efforts to entice you back for another stay by showing you how much you missed proved successful!

Thank you for this wonderful review and more importantly, for coming to stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again...trust me, one visit more may not be enough!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Paws up, by any measure, is huge and impressive. Spanning 37,000 acres, this property under Montana's big skies feels endless. The land is beautiful, and deer, squirrels, cattle and horses wander across the gorgeous vistas.

The buildings are solid western -- timber and stone artfully assembled, intermixed with working barns and farm buildings.We stayed in a large house with six friends. Each house comes with a car or two -- ubiquitous bilious metallic green Kia Souls. The property is big enough that these cars are necessary and welcome.

Paws Up is designed for people who want to touch the western wilderness but are concerned about taking any chances.Yes, the luxury is there. But it so insulates one from the actual territory that you might as well be in Disneyland. Glamping? the concept is a repulsive as the word. Better to stay at home and experience this through virtual reality. Then you won't have even the risk of getting wet if it rains while you're walking to you car.

Everything is beautiful here, from the "hands" who pop up to assist you whenever needed, to the picturesque living and bed rooms. However, much of it is built just for looks, like the bathroom sinks that are difficult to access and the poor lighting that must drive make-appliers mad. In the kitchen, the dual sinks included a garbage disposal -- in the sink that had the dish drainer in it. The stunning fireplace was just that -- the bride at the wedding we attended needed three stitches after doing what every single person minding the fire did -- banging her head while exiting the cavernous fire chamber's double-ledged "gotcha."

On the plus side: the food was pretty good. The staff is really attentive and genuinely friendly. There are a ton of activities available year-round. And there is an included airport shuttle.

Bottom line -- if you have plenty of money and want to impress your friends by spending LOTS of it on a vacation, and you want to pretend to be a cowboy, you can't beat Paws Up.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CyberEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear CyberEdge,

While I am thrilled that you found our property to be impressive and beautiful, I am admittedly disappointed that you felt we in any way prohibited you from enjoying the land as you would have liked. While our homes and tents are filled with creature comforts not often found in a setting like this, and our always available and eager staff may very well be overly present for those looking for some extra space, all you would have to do is ask and we would be happy and eager to adjust your experience to the level you would have felt more comfortable. Most of our very loyal guests come here not to boast of their vacation but rather to escape with those closest to them and experience Montana hospitality on a stunning, large and diverse property.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts. We hope if you have the chance to return, you will take it, and take us up on identifying the activities and accommodations that fit your hopes for a Montana experience!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews