We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Resort at Paws Up
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn University(Missoula)(Great Value!)
USD 168
USD 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 93
USD 91
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 167
USD 150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bel Aire Motel(Missoula)
USD 93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 131
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
388
45
24
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
388
45
24
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackfoot riverhorseback ridingfly fishingchuck wagon dinnerkids campmaster chefclay shootingmeal planaerial adventurewhite water raftingbald eaglesdining paviliondog sleddingspa treatmentsgourmet foodfloat triphot tub
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I booked this trip as a belated birthday gift/celebration for my husband’s 50th. I can’t say enough good thing things about the resort, people, event, food, and Montana in general.

From Lori, who picked us up at the airport, Drew who gave us apples & carrots to feed the horses, Morgan & Matthew who helped with the reservation and booking all the fun activities, all of the chefs, sous chef’s and wait staff making sure we were well fed and wanted for nothing. The fun activities. The great food.

Our cabin was A-MAZING! Beautiful, clean and not a bad view from any window. Our bed was comfortable - I slept better than I do in my own bed. Matthew had helped me pre arrange to have a red velvet birthday cake in the cabin upon our arrival (my husbands favorite).

We met so many other nice couples while we were there. We are already talking about our next visit and when that will be. All I know is it won’t be soon enough.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lisaQ1477NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for staying with us and for this wonderful review. I am so happy that you found our accommodations to be what you had hoped and more, but even more important to us is that you found our kind and thoughtful team! We love hosting people and showing a little of what Montana is all about. We can't wait to provide an even better experience next time!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

You have to go here, seriously if you are looking at TripAdvisor for reviews of the resort don't even waste your time and just book it.

This was our second time in 6 months to Paws up because we loved it so much, yes it's very very expensive but it's well worth it. The food is amazing, Chef Ben does a superb job with his kitchen and menu and be sure to come hungry.

The actual cabins are awesome with true attention to detail and excellent staff. The activities are all amazing. In the winter we did snowmobiling, dog sledding, shooting and the sleigh ride and we had an awesome time. We for sure will be back as this is the hotel we talk about at least once a month!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jcash1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear JCash,

Thank you for staying with us and your review! Clearly you found the full Paws Up Experience while you were here and fell in love with what made so many of our staff make this our home; we love Montana and sharing it with people from all over the world.

We look forward to your return stay, and while we may not be able to beat a six star experience, we certainly will try!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

The only thing missing from our time at Paws Up was extra hours in the day. My sisters and I attended the Cowgirl Roundup and were so happily engaged by the array of activity we regretted not having more time to enjoy the decadent accommodations. The woodland cabins provide sweeping verandah views, oversized seating arranged around stately stone fireplaces, private patio hot tubs and luxurious bedding that we were forced to neglect in order to indulge in personally tailored adventure, beautifully prepared and plentiful meal options and welcoming camaraderie. The resort itself is picturesque Montana and boast a very able and amiable staff who, if we had found a lack for some comfort, were happy to resolve it. Activities were expertly hosted with high quality facilities and well cared for animals. It was truly a decadent and free spirited step out of our normal lives. We left Paws Up determined to return with our extended family in the future, excited to share with them its high quality rustic beauty.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Elise B,

Please accept our sincerest of apologies for keeping you incredibly busy and influencing you to stay so busy while exploring our property and experiencing our Cowgirl Roundup event. Our efforts to entice you back for another stay by showing you how much you missed proved successful!

Thank you for this wonderful review and more importantly, for coming to stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again...trust me, one visit more may not be enough!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Paws up, by any measure, is huge and impressive. Spanning 37,000 acres, this property under Montana's big skies feels endless. The land is beautiful, and deer, squirrels, cattle and horses wander across the gorgeous vistas.

The buildings are solid western -- timber and stone artfully assembled, intermixed with working barns and farm buildings.We stayed in a large house with six friends. Each house comes with a car or two -- ubiquitous bilious metallic green Kia Souls. The property is big enough that these cars are necessary and welcome.

Paws Up is designed for people who want to touch the western wilderness but are concerned about taking any chances.Yes, the luxury is there. But it so insulates one from the actual territory that you might as well be in Disneyland. Glamping? the concept is a repulsive as the word. Better to stay at home and experience this through virtual reality. Then you won't have even the risk of getting wet if it rains while you're walking to you car.

Everything is beautiful here, from the "hands" who pop up to assist you whenever needed, to the picturesque living and bed rooms. However, much of it is built just for looks, like the bathroom sinks that are difficult to access and the poor lighting that must drive make-appliers mad. In the kitchen, the dual sinks included a garbage disposal -- in the sink that had the dish drainer in it. The stunning fireplace was just that -- the bride at the wedding we attended needed three stitches after doing what every single person minding the fire did -- banging her head while exiting the cavernous fire chamber's double-ledged "gotcha."

On the plus side: the food was pretty good. The staff is really attentive and genuinely friendly. There are a ton of activities available year-round. And there is an included airport shuttle.

Bottom line -- if you have plenty of money and want to impress your friends by spending LOTS of it on a vacation, and you want to pretend to be a cowboy, you can't beat Paws Up.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CyberEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear CyberEdge,

While I am thrilled that you found our property to be impressive and beautiful, I am admittedly disappointed that you felt we in any way prohibited you from enjoying the land as you would have liked. While our homes and tents are filled with creature comforts not often found in a setting like this, and our always available and eager staff may very well be overly present for those looking for some extra space, all you would have to do is ask and we would be happy and eager to adjust your experience to the level you would have felt more comfortable. Most of our very loyal guests come here not to boast of their vacation but rather to escape with those closest to them and experience Montana hospitality on a stunning, large and diverse property.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts. We hope if you have the chance to return, you will take it, and take us up on identifying the activities and accommodations that fit your hopes for a Montana experience!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I loved this resort! It was really outdoorsy and there were too many choices of what to do. My favorite thing was the white water rafting. My least favourite thing was the chuck wagon dinner, I liked it but when we went to MT it was bee season so we couldn't even eat and there was one other family there so it wasn't like a big dinner or anything.

Room Tip: It's good to sleep in the tents for 3 nights and the homes for another 3 days (split it up)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank melinak07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at The Resort at Paws Up, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Melinak07,

I am so happy you loved our resort and all the endless activity choices, however not happy that the bees impacted your chuck wagon experience - those little guys love our chef's cooking as much as our other guests. We will seek ways to improve this experience for future guests (make sure the bees have some better options).

We look forward to a return trip and to welcome you back to our resort!

Steve Hurst
Managing Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews